2020, Fri, Mar 06

Refiguring Spaces #4: Brave New World?

How (Digital) Media Change Urban Building Plans and the View of Urban Spaces

© Aldrin/stock.adobe.com

© Aldrin/stock.adobe.com

Plans, maps, drawings and models: Media and visual representations of urban spaces have always played a central role in urban planning processes. This is especially true when stakeholders are involved or citizens participate. Today, digital visualizations such as 2D or 3D simulations have been incorporated in planning. Architects often use digital tools to develop highly aesthetic visions of urban futures. At the same time, these technologies also offer city dwellers new opportunities to visualize their ideas. How strongly does the type of visualization shape ideas of urban futures?

Workshop participants will discuss past and present examples of (digital) visualizations of planned urban spaces with experts for urban planning, media and visualizations. Participants are asked to bring (printed) pictures from the media or the Internet depicting visualizations of urban development projects. Previous knowledge is not necessary.

The workshop is being organized by the Leibniz Institute for Research on Society and Space (IRS), Erkner, and the Collaborative Research Centre Re-Figuration of Spaces. Gabriela Christmann, Jörg Stollmann, Christoph Bernhardt and Angela Million are responsible. Refiguring Spaces is a series of events by the Collaborative Research Centre Re-Figuration of Spaces of the TU Berlin at Haus der Kulturen der Welt.

Fr, 06. März 2020

Refiguring Spaces #4: Schöne neue Welt?

Wie (digitale) Medien die städtebauliche Planung und die Sicht auf städtische Räume verändern

© Aldrin/stock.adobe.com

© Aldrin/stock.adobe.com

Pläne, Karten, Zeichnungen oder Modelle: Mediale und visuelle Darstellungen von urbanen Räumen haben schon immer eine zentrale Rolle in städtebaulichen Planungsprozessen gespielt. Dies gilt vor allem, wenn Stakeholder*innen einbezogen werden oder Bürger*innen sich beteiligen. Mittlerweile haben digitale Visualisierungen wie 2D- oder 3D-Simulationen Einzug in die Planung erhalten. Mit digitalen Tools entwickeln Architekt*innen oft hochgradig ästhetisierende Visionen von urbanen Zukünften. Gleichzeitig bieten diese Technologien auch Stadtbewohner*innen neue Möglichkeiten, ihre Vorstellungen zu visualisieren. Wie stark prägt die Art der Visualisierung die Vorstellungen von städtischen Zukünften?

Mit Expert*innen für städtebauliche Planungen, Medien und Visualisierungen diskutieren die Workshopteilnehmer*innen Beispiele für (digitale) Visualisierungen geplanter Stadträume aus Vergangenheit und Gegenwart. Teilnehmer*innen sind gebeten, (ausgedruckte) Bilder aus den Medien oder dem Internet mitzubringen, die Visualisierungen von städtebaulichen Projekten zeigen. Vorkenntnisse sind nicht nötig.

Der Workshop wird organisiert vom Leibniz-Institut für Raumbezogene Sozialforschung (IRS), Erkner, und dem Sonderforschungsbereichs Re-Figuration von Räumen. Verantwortlich sind Gabriela Christmann, Jörg Stollmann, Christoph Bernhardt und Angela Million. Refiguring Spaces ist eine Veranstaltungsreihe des Sonderforschungsbereichs Re-Figuration von Räumen der TU Berlin im Haus der Kulturen der Welt.