2020, Fri, Jun 12

#4 Caring

Wattenmeer (2019) | © Maternal Fantasies

Wattenmeer (2019) | © Maternal Fantasies

To care is to recognize all bonds, between both humans and non-humans; between humans and their systems, their infrastructures and institutions, and to attend to their fragility. Ethics of care challenge us to construct social relations and systems based on situational and contextual morality, beyond abstract or universal notions of justice, to allow us to turn to processes of care, re-pair, maintenance and healing. More information...

Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3

Friday, Jun 12
Live stream on hkw.de

The opening day explores, maps, complicates and challenges notions of caring, considered as both, a range of practices and an ethics of being together otherwise. The first day introduces the audience to the history of the concept of care but also to the contemporary discourse around caring and thereby sets the ground for the upcoming contributions of the following days.

6pm
Introduction
With Sascia Bailer, Gilly Karjesvky, Rosario Talevi, Olga von Schubert

6.15pm
Opening Ritual: N E P O <
Audio by Polyphrenic Creatures
In German and English

In Hohenlockstedt, a small community in Schleswig-Holstein, neighbours have been coming together since the beginning of 2020 in the narrative café series Holo Miteinander im M.1. of the Arthur Boskamp Foundation. The central question is how do we want to live together? At the moment when vulnerability is admitted to everyone, a sense of social power of trust is created. The artist duo Polyphrenic Creatures accompanies these talks. In the performative gesture N E P O < they transform, in the way of a carpet of language, the respective subjective experience in a rhythmic reconnection to a collective narrative. N E P O < invites us to engage in new directions of reading in order to release internalized ways of thinking and acting from their rigidity and to learn from each other and to (re-)learn forms of interaction. With N E P O <, Polyphrenic Creatures create a performative gesture of opening through their bodies and voices - and thus initiate the program of #4 Caring with local-situated questions and communal knowledge production.

6.30pm
On Caring
Conversation by Helena Reckitt and Elke Krasny followed by a Q&A

Caring has recently received increased attention in critical cultural discourses, allowing for new research projects, exhibitions, and publications to emerge. Yet, why now? Why does society seem to be more receptive than ever to a subject as old as humanity? This opening conversation between the two curators and authors Elke Krasny and Helena Reckitt traces the history of care and social reproduction from a feminist and critical cultural perspective and situates it in today’s discourse on caring. By highlighting relevant practices on caring they will question, complicate and reflect on caring as a radical practice towards social transformation.

8pm
Atmospheric Escape: Fabulating Care
Audio by Johanna Bruckner

Gaseous substances of the Earth escape into space and form extracorporeal bodies. These structures come into being as their molecular particles mutually support, align with and ripple against each other and the electromagnetic field. Johanna Bruckner calls this state polymorphous care or desire. How can these non-human bodies and their poetics of care be imagined? How can these crystallizations be aesthetically narrated, accessed and diffracted? How can they help us fabulate and perform possible future worlds, languages and practices of care beyond the tangible? The audio offers scores for the listener to approach these questions in aesthetic, sonic and collective ways.

Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3

Fr, 12. Juni 2020

#4 Caring

Wattenmeer (2019) | © Maternal Fantasies

Wattenmeer (2019) | © Maternal Fantasies

Fürsorge – hier mit dem mehrschichtigen englischen Begriff „Care“betitelt – bedeutet, die Fragilität von Beziehungsgeflechten anzuerkennen, die zwischen Menschen und Nicht-Menschen bestehen, zwischen Menschen und ihren Systemen, Infrastrukturen und Institutionen. Care als ethisches Konzept regt dazu an, soziale Bindungen und Systeme zu erschaffen, die auf einer kontext-spezifischen Moral beruhen, jenseits abstrakter oder universeller Vorstellungen von Gerechtigkeit – um Prozesse der Fürsorge, Reparatur, Pflege und Heilung in den Blick zu nehmen. Mehr Informationen...

Tag 1 | Tag 2 | Tag 3

Freitag 12.06.

Livestream ab 18h auf hkw.de

18h
Einführung
Mit Sascia Bailer, Gilly Karjesvky, Rosario Talevi, Olga von Schubert

18.15h
Opening Ritual: N E P O <
Audio-Beitrag von Polyphrenic Creatures
Auf Deutsch und Englisch

In Hohenlockstedt, einer kleinen Gemeinde in Schleswig-Holstein, kommen seit Anfang 2020 Nachbar*innen in der Erzählcafé-Reihe Holo Miteinander im M.1. der Arthur Boskamp-Stiftung zusammen. Im Zentrum steht die Frage, wie wollen wir miteinander leben? In dem Moment, in dem Verwundbarkeit jeder*m zugestanden wird, bildet sich daraus eine soziale Kraft des Vertrauens. Das Künstlerinnenduo Polyphrenic Creatures begleitet diese Gespräche. In der performativen Geste N E P O < transformieren sie, in Form eines Sprachteppichs, das jeweilige, subjektive Erleben in einer rhythmischen Neuverknüpfung zu einer kollektiven Erzählung. N E P O < lädt dazu ein, sich auf neue Leserichtungen einzulassen, um so verinnerlichte Denk- und Handlungsweisen aus ihrer Starre zu lösen und voneinander lernend Formen des Miteinanders zu (ver)lernen. Mit N E P O < erzeugen Polyphrenic Creatures durch ihre Körper und Stimmen eine performative Geste der Öffnung – und leiten dadurch das Programm zu #4 Caring mit lokal-situierten Fragestellungen und kommunaler Wissensproduktion ein.

18.30h
On Caring
Gespräch von Helena Reckitt und Elke Krasny mit anschließendem Q&A

Kritische kulturelle Diskurse haben ihre Aufmerksamkeit zuletzt zunehmend der Fürsorgearbeit zugewandt: Das führte zu neuen Forschungsprojekten, Ausstellungen und Publikationen. Aber warum gerade jetzt? Warum scheint die Gesellschaft heute offener denn je für ein Thema, das so alt ist wie die Menschheit? Das Eröffnungsgespräch zwischen den beiden Kuratorinnen und Autorinnen Elke Krasny und Helena Reckitt zeichnet von einer feministischen und kritischen Perspektive aus die Geschichte der Fürsorge- und Reproduktionsarbeit nach und verortet sie im heutigen Diskurs über Caring. Indem sie auf relevante Fürsorgepraktiken eingehen, hinterfragen und reflektieren sie Caring als eine radikale Praxis gesellschaftlichen Wandels.

19.30h
Atmospheric Escape: Erzählformen der Fürsorge
Audio-Beitrag von Johanna Bruckner

Auf der Erde vorkommende Gase treten ins Weltall aus und bilden extrakorporale Körper. Diese Strukturen entstehen, wenn sich Moleküle oder Teilchen zusammenfinden, sich gegenseitig verstärken und sowohl miteinander als auch mit dem elektromagnetischen Feld in Wechselwirkung treten. Johanna Bruckner nennt diesen Zustand polymorphe Fürsorge oder polymorphes Begehren. Wie lassen sich diese nicht-menschlichen Körper und ihre Poetik der Fürsorge imaginieren? Welche ästhetischen Erzählformen, Zugänge und Diffraktionen lassen sich für diese Auskristallisierungen finden? Und wie können sie dabei helfen, mögliche zukünftige Welten, Sprachen und Praktiken der Fürsorge zu erfinden und darzustellen, die jenseits des Berührbaren liegen? Das Hörstück bietet seinen Hörer*innen Partituren, anhand derer sie sich diesen Fragen ästhetisch, klanglich und kollektiv nähern können.

Tag 1 | Tag 2 | Tag 3