2019, Thu, Dec 12

Designing Present World(s)

Architecture after universalism and postcolonial criticism

Xylem by Kéré Architecture | © Erik Petersen, Courtesy of Tippet Rise Art Center

Xylem by Kéré Architecture | © Erik Petersen, Courtesy of Tippet Rise Art Center

How does architecture transform life’s reality and society? What does it mean to live in the world? Against the backdrop of the Bauhaus legacy, the conference will explore the concepts and practices of contemporary world design: architects, artists, authors, architectural and cultural scientists will address the problems of European modernity’s transformations. In lectures, talks and artistic presentations, they will explore the possibilities of a new universality for today’s outdated claims of universalism and post-colonial criticism. What is the relationship between presence and social progress? What role does storytelling play in the latest spatial designs? What is relational architecture? Can (bi-)national representation institutions become tools of transnational culture?

With the authors and artists Priya Basil, Onyeka Nwelue, Zvi Efrat, the architectural and cultural theorists Donatella Fioretti, Jan Friedrich, Franck Hofmann, Andres Lepik, Markus Messling, Ita Heinze-Greenberg and the globalization sociologist Teresa Koloma Beck, conceived by Franck Hofmann

The conference will open on December 12 at 9.30am with the panel On Philosophy and Politics of Architecture at the Centre Marc Bloch (Friedrichstraße 191, 10117 Berlin). This will be followed by the panels To Know about World. Transfer and Transformations of Modernity at 2pm and To Build, A Story. Architectures for Relationality at 7pm with the lecture by Andres Lepik at HKW). The program will continue on December 13 at the Centre Marc Bloch with the panel Unrecognized Heritage. Contemporaneity and Social Progress at 9.30am and will conclude with the discussion One Year 100 Years Bauhaus. From National Representation to Transcultural Institutions?

In cooperation with the Centre Marc Bloch (An-Institut of the HU Berlin) and the Martin Buber Society of Fellows (Jerusalem). Funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research

Do, 12. Dezember 2019

Gegenwärtige WeltGestaltung

Architektur nach Universalismus und postkolonialer Kritik

Xylem by Kéré Architecture | © Erik Petersen, Courtesy of Tippet Rise Art Center

Xylem by Kéré Architecture | © Erik Petersen, Courtesy of Tippet Rise Art Center

Wie transformieren Architekturen Lebenswirklichkeit und Gesellschaft? Was heißt es, in der Welt zu wohnen? Vor dem Hintergrund des Bauhaus-Erbes fragt die Konferenz nach Entwürfen und Praktiken gegenwärtiger Weltgestaltung: Architekt*innen, Künstler*innen und Autor*innen, Architektur- und Kulturwissenschaftler*innen problematisieren Transformationen der europäischen Moderne. In Vorträgen, Gesprächen und künstlerischen Präsentationen erkunden sie Möglichkeiten einer neuen Universalität nach heute überkommenen Ansprüchen von Universalismus und postkolonialer Kritik. In welchem Verhältnis stehen Gegenwärtigkeit und sozialer Fortschritt? Welche Rolle spielt Erzählen in aktuellen Raumentwürfen? Was ist relationale Architektur? Können Institutionen (bi-)nationaler Repräsentation zu Werkzeugen transnationaler Kultur werden?

Mit den Autor*innen und Künstler*innen Priya Basil, Onyeka Nwelue, Zvi Efrat, den Architektur- und Kulturtheoretiker*innen Donatella Fioretti, Jan Friedrich, Franck Hofmann, Andres Lepik, Markus Messling, Ita Heinze-Greenberg und der Globalisierungs-Soziologin Teresa Koloma Beck, konzipiert von Franck Hofmann

Die Konferenz eröffnet am 12. Dezember um 9.30h mit dem Panel Philosophie und Politik der Architektur im Centre Marc Bloch (Friedrichstraße 191, 10117 Berlin). Anschließend finden die Panels Weltwissen. Transfer und Transformationen der Moderne um 14h und Bauen und Erzählen. Relationale Architekturen um 19h mit dem Vortrag von Andres Lepik im HKW statt). Fortgesetzt wird das Programm am 13. Dezember im Centre Marc Bloch mit dem Panel Verkanntes Erbe. Gegenwärtigkeit und sozialer Fortschritt um 9.30h und schließt mit der Podiumsdiskussion Ein Jahr 100 Jahre Bauhaus. Von nationaler Repräsentation zu transkulturellen Institutionen?

Mehr zum Programm: cmb.hu-berlin.de

In Kooperation mit dem Centre Marc Bloch(An-Institut der HU Berlin) und der Martin Buber Society of Fellows (Jerusalem). Konzeption: Franck Hofmann (Universität des Saarlandes, Saarbrücken) Gefördert vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung