2019, Fri, Nov 22

Dan Bodan & Scott Carver, John Oswald, Algorave

Dan Bodan | Photo: Julia Burlingham

Dan Bodan | Photo: Julia Burlingham

8pm John Oswald: Plunderphonics | Lecture-performance, Hirschfeld Bar
9pm Dan Bodan & Scott Carver: A Flow of Serosities (played by KNM), premiere performance by the Kammerensemble Neue Musik | Concert, Lobby
10pm Algorave with Alexandra Cárdenas and Antonio Roberts | Live set, Hirschfeld Bar

Dan Bodan & Scott Carver: A Flow of Serosities
Premiere performance by the Kammerensemble Neue Musik
Automation has also entered the creative world. Companies are striving for more profits thus increasing the use of artificial intelligence for the production of content because – supposedly – works created by algorithms don’t have authors. Yet behind every computer output is human input. Musician Dan Bodan has teamed up with programmer and sound artist Scott Carver for Right the Right to demonstrate this process in practice. Bodan was inspired by his work as a composer for Google’s royalty-free audio library. Now, Carver has developed a series of algorithms that process Bodan’s original scores and produce “new” versions, variations and approaches to the original works. Both the composed and the algorithmically processed scores will be premiered at HKW by the Kammerensemble Neue Musik on piano, bassoon, clarinet and recorder. The presentation raises questions: What is the actual moment of artistic creation? How are these variants of authorship – that of the composer, that of the algorithm and that of the developer – valued and assessed both artistically and economically? What does authorship mean in the age of big data?

John Oswald, Plunderphonic, 1989

John Oswald, Plunderphonic, 1989

John Oswald: Plunderphonics
In the late 1960s, composer John Oswald developed the technique of micro-sampling and invented the genre of Plunderphonics: music made from sequences of “plundered” music recordings that are alienated and reassembled into elaborate sound collages – inspired by William S. Burroughs’ cut-up technique. In 1985, Oswald presented his compositional concept entitled Plunderphonics, or Audio Piracy as a Compositional Prerogative at a conference in Toronto. This was followed by an EP and a CD containing recombined material by Dolly Parton, Elvis Presley and The Rite of Spring, songs by the Beatles, Anton Webern and Michael Jackson. Part of the offensive principle is that the source of the sound quote must be clearly recognizable. Reactions varied: The Canadian Music Industry Association sued Oswald, while a big label invited him to freely use works from its catalog. Deliberate questioning of originality and identity still characterizes Oswald’s work. Although sampling and mashup techniques have long since become common practices in music production, copyright has yet to adequately address the challenge of “Plunderphonic” compositions and other forms of appropriation art.

© Antonio Roberts

© Antonio Roberts

Algorave with Alexandra Cárdenas and Antonio Roberts
Algorave – a combination of “algorithm” and “rave” – is a new model for club nights: Sounds and visuals are programmed live and algorithmic music production made visible on the screen. In addition to experimentation and enthusiasm for the overall audiovisual experiences, the algorave scene also embraces community, diversity and the absence of advertising. The first Algoraves held in Sheffield in 2012 led to a movement; the parties are now held all over the world. Alexandra Cárdenas and Antonio Roberts are among Algorave’s pioneers. Cárdenas, a composer, musician and programmer, uses open source software to examine the musicality of code and the algorithmic behavior of music. Following her classical music training in Bogotá she switched to experimental electronics and live coding – first in Mexico City and currently in Berlin. Antonio Roberts deals with intellectual property in the context of digital technologies. Works by the Birmingham based artist and curator have been exhibited at the Victoria & Albert Museum, the Barbican Centre and the Whitney Museum of American Art. His work on authorship and open source software resonates in the Algoraves where Roberts allows the dancers to watch as he creates and edits visuals in real time.

Fr, 22. November 2019

Dan Bodan & Scott Carver, John Oswald, Algorave

Dan Bodan | Foto: Julia Burlingham

Dan Bodan | Foto: Julia Burlingham

20h John Oswald: Plunderphonics | Lecture-Performance, Hirschfeld Bar
21h Dan Bodan & Scott Carver: A Flow of Serosities, uraufgeführt vom Kammerensemble Neue Musik | Konzert, Foyer
22h Algorave mit Alexandra Cárdenas & Antonio Roberts | Live-Set, Hirschfeld Bar

Dan Bodan & Scott Carver: A Flow of Serosities
uraufgeführt vom Kammerensemble Neue Musik

Die Automatisierung hat auch in der kreativen Welt Einzug gehalten. Unternehmen streben nach mehr Profit, deshalb wird der Einsatz von künstlicher Intelligenz zur Produktion von Inhalten zunehmen: Denn algorithmisch kreierte Werke kommen – vermeintlich – ohne Urheber*in aus. Doch hinter jedem Computer-Output steckt menschlicher Input. Der Musiker Dan Bodan hat sich für Right the Right mit dem Programmierer und Soundkünstler Scott Carver zusammengetan, um diesen Prozess praktisch vorzuführen. Inspiriert dazu wurde Bodan durch seine Arbeit als Komponist für Googles lizenzfreie Audio-Bibliothek. Nun hat Carver eine Serie von Algorithmen entwickelt, die Originalpartituren von Bodan verarbeiten und „neue“ Versionen, Variationen und Annäherungen an die ursprünglichen Werke produzieren. Beide – die komponierten und die algorithmisch verarbeiten Partituren – werden im HKW uraufgeführt vom Kammerensemble Neue Musik in der Besetzung Piano, Fagott, Klarinette und Flöte. So wirft die Präsentation Fragen auf: Wo liegt eigentlich der Moment der kreativen Schöpfung? Wie werden diese Varianten von Urheberschaft – die des Komponisten, die des Algorithmus und die des Entwicklers – bewertet und geschätzt, sowohl künstlerisch als auch wirtschaftlich? Was bedeutet Urheberschaft im Zeitalter von Big Data?

John Oswald, Plunderphonic, 1989

John Oswald, Plunderphonic, 1989

John Oswald: Plunderphonics
Ende der 1960er Jahre entwickelt der Komponist John Oswald die Technik des „Microsamplings“ und erfindet das Genre Plunderphonics: Musik, die aus Sequenzen „geplünderter“ Musikaufnahmen besteht, die verfremdet und zu aufwändigen Sound-Collagen neu montiert werden – inspiriert von William S. Burroughs Cut-Up-Technik. Sein Kompositionskonzept stellt Oswald 1985 unter dem Titel Plunderphonics, or Audio Piracy as a Compositional Prerogative (Plunderphonics, oder Audiopiraterie als kompositorisches Vorrecht) auf einer Konferenz in Toronto vor. Es folgen eine EP und eine CD, die rekombiniertes Material von Dolly Parton, Elvis Presley und Le sacre du printemps, Stücke der Beatles, Anton Webern und Michael Jackson enthalten. Zum offensiven Prinzip gehört, dass die Quelle des Klangzitats klar wiederzuerkennen ist. Die Reaktionen sind unterschiedlich: Der kanadische Musikwirtschaftsverband verklagt Oswald, ein großes Label beauftragt ihn, sich frei aus dessen Katalog zu bedienen. Das bewusste Infragestellen von Originalität und Identität prägt bis heute Oswalds Arbeit. Obwohl Sampling- und Mashup-Techniken längst gängige Praxis in der Musikproduktion geworden sind – auf die Herausforderung durch „Plunderphonic“-Kompositionen und andere Formen der Appropriation Art hat Copyright bis heute noch keine angemessene Antwort.

© Antonio Roberts

© Antonio Roberts

Algorave mit Alexandra Cárdenas & Antonio Roberts
Algorave – eine Kombination aus „Algorithmus“ und „Rave“ – ist ein neues Modell einer Clubnacht: Sounds und Visuals werden live programmiert und algorithmische Musikerzeugung auf der Leinwand sichtbar gemacht. Zum Selbstverständnis der Szene gehören neben Experimentierfreude und der Begeisterung für audiovisuelle Gesamterlebnisse auch Gemeinschaftlichkeit, Diversität und die Abwesenheit von Werbung. Seit den ersten Algoraves in Sheffield 2012 ist eine Bewegung entstanden; die Partys finden längst auf der ganzen Welt statt. Alexandra Cárdenas und Antonio Roberts gehören zu den Algorave-Pionier*innen. Die Komponistin, Musikerin und Programmiererin Cárdenas verwendet Open Source-Software um die Musikalität von Code und das algorithmische Verhalten von Musik zu untersuchen. Nach ihrer klassischen Musikausbildung in Bogotá wechselte sie zur experimentalen Elektronik und zum Live-Coding – erst in Mexico City und aktuell in Berlin. Antonio Roberts beschäftigt sich mit geistigem Eigentum im Kontext digitaler Technologien. Die Arbeiten des in Birmingham lebenden Künstlers und Kurators wurden u. a. im Victoria & Albert Museum, im Barbican Centre und im Whitney Museum of American Art ausgestellt. Seine Arbeit zu Autorschaft und Open Source findet auch in den Algoraves Widerhall, wenn Roberts sich von allen Tanzenden dabei auf die Finger schauen lässt, wie er Visuals in Echtzeit kreiert und editiert.