2019, Sat, Nov 02

De-Centering Narratives

International Solidarity and Liberation Movements at the Fringes of the Art Historical Canon

Cover of the catalogue of the 29th Salon of the Jeune Peinture, Paris, 1978 (detail) | Courtesy of Claude Lazar

Cover of the catalogue of the 29th Salon of the Jeune Peinture, Paris, 1978 (detail) | Courtesy of Claude Lazar

In the political spectrum of the Cold War, networks of solidarity linked the Cuban revolutionary regime, the Anti-Apartheid movement of South Africa, the Palestinian revolution and other anti-colonial liberation insurgencies. Artists and collectives were fundamental in mobilizing these international networks as they reappropriated public spaces, organized protest marches and occupied the city walls and community halls with visual idioms and practices. Does the historiography of art include their legacy? Which historical sources formed the basis for their narratives and memories? What is their connection with the solidarity struggles of the present time?

The research around the exhibition Past Disquiet uncovered some of these forgotten or rarely studied histories, spanning the 1960s to the 1980s. These sources, scattered across a geography that often transgressed the East–West binary configuration of the Cold War as well as the North–South divide, unsettled the canonical narratives of art: The International Art Exhibition for Palestine in Beirut of 1978 created a transnational web of exhibitions held in solidarity; these ranged from the networks that emerged in Cuba in 1966 linking South America, Africa, Asia and Europe, through the Museo de la Solidaridad Salvador Allende-MSSA founded in Santiago de Chile in 1972, to the militant exhibitions and interventions of the artists of the Jeune Peinture in France, the travelling exhibition Art Contre/Against Apartheid initiated in 1979 and the collection in solidarity with the people of Nicaragua initiated by the Sandinista leadership in 1980.

The art historical canon has rarely paid attention to this parallel universe of practice and theory, either in the archival traces that remain dormant in private and unconventional places or in narratives that persevere as first-person testimonies or oral history. On the occasion of the publication of Past Disquiet: Artists, International Solidarity and Museums-in-Exile, edited by Kristine Khouri and Rasha Salti, De-Centering Narratives brings together some of the contributors to the volume and collaborators on the project whose research proposes conceptualizations and approaches that redirect attention outside the confines of the prevailing art historical canon.

With Paula Barreiro López, Catherine Dossin, Anselm Franke, Paz Guevara, Kristine Khouri, André Odendaal, Rasha Salti

Part of Kanon-Fragen

Program

3pm: Introduction
Paz Guevara, Kristine Khouri, Rasha Salti

3.30pm: For a Geopolitical Analysis of the Art Worlds: the Jeune Peinture
Catherine Dossin
How does the geopolitics model redraw our approach to the art world and its power structures and conflicts? In foregrounding transnational exchange, Catherine Dossin’s historiography on post-World War II modern art argues adeptly for a de-centering of the prevailing national paradigms structured amid the center and the peripheries. In her talk, Dossin introduces her geopolitical conceptual framework and through this lens, revisits the insurrectional and anti-establishment positioning of the Jeune Peinture in Paris. This association of artists, which was involved in international solidarity as well as local struggles, attracted French artists from the radical left, and provided a haven for international artists who sought political asylum after fleeing the dictatorships in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Greece, Portugal and Spain.

4.15pm: Speculative Narratives: Essay Exhibitions
Anselm Franke
Are the current globalization and expansion of previously excluded art collections and histories likely to overcome Eurocentrism? For the colonial appropriations and exclusions of the past cannot be corrected without exposing the problems of the institution of art itself – its narratives and frameworks In his talk, Anselm Franke interrogates the paradigm of globalized art, arguing that the narrative of “inclusion” could be yet another appropriation allowed by transferring the Western framework to global art. In revisiting the Kanon-Fragen program at HKW since its start in 2016, Franke tackles the essay exhibition model and the institution-critical practice they pursue, thereby not only adding more chapters to the canon established in museums but also questioning its structures. Through the model of speculative narratives, essay exhibitions provide a reflexive framework to trace and confront the reproduction of boundaries that still inscribe the most ephemeral aspects of aesthetic perception in political and historical power relation

5pm: Round table Q&A
Moderated by Rasha Salti

5.30pm: Break

6pm: “Let it return” – Setting up an Archive and turning a Maximum Security Prison into a National Museum in South Africa
André Odendaal
Which museological or archival approach best tells of South Africa’s historical struggle against Apartheid from the perspective of cultural history? What were the approaches in the 1990s and what ideas are being raised today, twenty-five years after democracy? Historian André Odendaal was commissioned by President Nelson Mandela’s first cabinet to transform the Robben Island Prison into a museum. He was also the founder of the Mayibuye Centre for History and Culture (mayibuye meaning “let it return”), which holds archives and art collections, in addition to posters, pamphlets, photographs and films, opening a space for previously banned material and threatened perspectives. The Centre is the repository for the Art Contre/Against Apartheid collection initiated in 1983 to mobilize the world against apartheid in South Africa. Odendaal’s talk reflects on debates about how the liberation struggle and the legacy of activism have been memorialized in a museum (in the case of the Robben Island Museum) and in an archive (in the case of the Mayibuye Center).

6.45pm: Cultural Guerillas: Networks of Solidarity from Nicaragua to Cuba
Kristine Khouri, Paula Barreiro López
How do the networks of solidarity become conduits for collaboration that interlace the fields of political history and art history? Since the 1960s, the term “cultural guerrilla” related directly to anti-colonialist and anti-imperialist revolutionary struggles. Augusto César Sandino’s guerrilla tactics against US intervention in Nicaragua at the end of the 1920s became a model for future revolutionary movements and cultural networks of solidarity across different countries in the region. In her talk, Kristine Khouri traces the international mobilization of artists in solidarity with the people of Nicaragua that was sparked by the Sandinista revolution in 1979. In turn, by linking Cuba’s revolutionary program and its support for the movements of decolonization, Paula Barreiro López will address the cases of “cultural guerrilla” warfare that emerged from Cuba, a country seen as a transnational center for the production of art in the 1960s, ’70s and ’80s.

7.45pm: Round table Q&A
Moderated by Paz Guevara

8.15pm: Closing remarks
Moderated by Paz Guevara, Rasha Salti

Sa, 02. November 2019

De-Centering Narratives

Internationale Solidaritäts- und Befreiungsbewegungen am Rande des kunsthistorischen Kanons

Cover des Katalogs zum 29. Salon für Jeune Peinture, Paris, 1978 (Detail) | Courtesy of Claude Lazar

Cover des Katalogs zum 29. Salon für Jeune Peinture, Paris, 1978 (Detail) | Courtesy of Claude Lazar

Während des Kalten Krieges verbanden Solidaritätsnetze die kubanische Revolutionsregierung, die Anti-Apartheid-Bewegung Südafrikas, die palästinensische Revolution und andere antikoloniale Befreiungsaufstände miteinander. Künstler*innen und Kollektive spielten für die Mobilisierung dieser internationalen Netzwerke eine wesentliche Rolle: Mit ihren visuellen Sprachen und Praktiken eigneten sie sich öffentliche Räume an, prägten Protestmärsche, städtische Mauern und Gemeindezentren. Wird dieses Vermächtnis in der Kunstgeschichtsschreibung angemessen berücksichtigt? Auf welchen historischen Quellen basieren ihre Erzählungen und Erinnerungen? In welchem Zusammenhang stehen sie mit gegenwärtigen Solidaritätskämpfen?

Die Forschungsarbeiten rund um die Ausstellung Zeit der Unruhe haben diese vergessenen oder kaum erforschten Geschichten aus den 1960er und 1980er Jahren zu Tage gefördert. Geografisch überschritten sie häufig sowohl die binäre Ost-West-Konfiguration des Kalten Krieges wie auch die Trennung zwischen Norden und Süden und brachten so die kanonischen Narrative der Kunstwelt durcheinander: Ausgehend von der Internationalen Kunstausstellung für Palästina 1978 in Beirut führten Verbindungslinien einer Reihe transnationaler Solidaritätsausstellungen zu Netzwerken, die in Kuba 1966 geknüpft wurden und Südamerika, Afrika und Asien in einem gemeinsamen Austausch verbanden. Sie reichten vom 1972 in Santiago de Chile gegründeten Museo de la Solidaridad Salvador Allende über die militanten Ausstellungen und Interventionen der Künstler*innen der Jeune Peinture in Frankreich und die von der sandinistischen Führung 1980 initiierte Sammlung in Solidarität mit der Bevölkerung Nicaraguas bis zur im Jahr 1979 ins Leben gerufenen Wanderausstellung Art Contre/Against Apartheid.

Der kunsthistorische Kanon hat sich kaum mit diesem Paralleluniversum von Praxis und Theorie beschäftigt. Seine Archivspuren schlummern an privaten und unkonventionellen Orten, seine Erzählungen überleben vorwiegend in Form von Zeugnissen in Ich-Form oder der Oral History. Anlässlich der Publikation Past Disquiet. Artists, International Solidarity, and Museums-in-Exile, herausgegeben von Kristine Khouri und Rasha Salti, bringt die Konferenz De-Centering Narratives einige Autor*innen des Bandes sowie Projektbeteiligte zusammen. Ihre Forschungen haben Konzepte und Ansätze hervorgebracht, die die Aufmerksamkeit auf Phänomene jenseits der engen Grenzen des vorherrschenden kunsthistorischen Kanons lenken.

Mit Paula Barreiro López, Catherine Dossin, Anselm Franke, Paz Guevara, Kristine Khouri, André Odendaal, Rasha Salti

Teil von Kanon-Fragen

Programm

15h: Einführung
Paz Guevara, Kristine Khouri, Rasha Salti

15.30h: Für eine geopolitische Analyse der Kunstwelt: Die Jeune Peinture
Catherine Dossin
Inwiefern erhellt der geopolitische Ansatz das Verständnis der Kunstwelt, ihrer Machtstrukturen und Konflikte? Catherine Dossin stellt in ihrer Geschichtsschreibung der modernen Kunst nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg die transnationalen Austauschbeziehungen in den Vordergrund. Mit diesem Perpektivwechsel plädiert sie für eine De-Zentrierung der vorherrschenden nationalen Paradigmen, die noch immer auf der Struktur Zentrum – Peripherie basieren. In ihrem Vortrag stellt Dossin ihren geopolitischen Begriffsrahmen vor und betrachtet durch diesen die Pariser Jeune Peinture und ihrer Positionierung als aufständische und gegen das Establishment gerichtete Bewegung. Die Künstler*innenvereinigung engagierte sich für die internationale Solidarität ebenso wie für lokale Kämpfe. Sie zog französische Künstler*innen der radikalen Linken an und bot einen Zufluchtsort für internationale Künstler*innen, die nach ihrer Flucht vor den in Argentinien, Brasilien, Chile, Griechenland, Portugal und Spanien herrschenden Diktaturen politisches Asyl suchten.

16.15h: Spekulative Narrative: Essay-Ausstellungen
Anselm Franke
Haben die gegenwärtigen Tendenzen der Globalisierung und Ausweitung von zuvor ausgeschlossenen Kunstsammlungen und Kunstgeschichten eine Chance, den Eurozentrismus zu überwinden? Schließlich können die kolonialen Aneignungen und Ausschlüsse der Vergangenheit nicht korrigiert werden, solange man nicht die Probleme der Institution Kunst selbst – ihre Narrative und Rahmenbedingungen – schonungslos offenlegt. In seinem Vortrag unterzieht Anselm Franke das Paradigma der globalisierten Kunst einer kritischen Befragung. Er argumentiert, dass das Narrativ der „Inklusion“ sich bloß als eine weitere Aneignung entpuppen könnte; als eine Übertragung des westlichen Denkmodells auf die globale Kunst. Mit Rückblick auf das 2016 am HKW gestartete Programm Kanon-Fragen geht Franke auf das Prinzip der Essay-Ausstellung ein und auf die institutionenkritische Praxis, die er damit verfolgt. Solche Ausstellungen fügen dem museal etablierten Kanon nicht einfach neue Kapitel hinzu, sondern sie stellen seine Strukturen in Frage. Essay-Ausstellungen funktionieren nach dem Vorbild spekulativer Erzählungen: Sie bieten einen reflexiven Rahmen, der es ermöglicht, die Reproduktion von Grenzziehungen aufzuspüren und ihnen etwas entgegenzusetzen. Denn durch solche Grenzen werden bis heute noch die ephemersten Aspekte der ästhetischen Wahrnehmung in politische und historische Machtverhältnisse eingeschrieben.

17h: Diskussionsrunde und Q&A
Moderiert von Rasha Salti

18h: “Let it return” – Von einer Archivgründung und der Transformation eines Hochsicherheitsgefängnisses zum Nationalmuseum in Südafrika
André Odendaal
Wie wird die Geschichte des Kampfes gegen die Apartheid aus kulturgeschichtlicher Sicht in Museen und Archiven betrachtet? Was waren die Ansätze in den 1990er Jahren und welche Ideen werden heute aufgegriffen, 25 Jahre nach Einführung der Demokratie? Der Historiker André Odendaal wurde von Nelson Mandelas erstem Kabinett damit beauftragt, die Gefängnisinsel Robben Island in ein Museum zu verwandeln. Außerdem hat er das Mayibuye-Zentrum für Geschichte und Kultur (mayibuye bedeutet „Lasst es zurückkehren“) gegründet, in dem Archive und Kunstsammlungen sowie Poster, Broschüren, Fotografien und Filme gehütet werden. Es gibt so einstmals verbotenen Materialien und bedrohten Perspektiven einen Raum. Das Zentrum beherbergt auch die Sammlung Art Contre/Against Apartheid, die 1983 mit dem Ziel ins Leben gerufen wurde, die Welt gegen die Apartheid in Südafrika zu mobilisieren. Odendaal beleuchtet in seinem Vortrag die Debatten darüber, wie Erinnerung gestaltet sein kann: das Gedenken an den Befreiungskampf und das Erbe des Aktivismus in Form eines Museums – im Falle des Robben Island Museum – und das Gedenken in Form eines Archivs – im Falle des Mayibuye Center.

18.45h: Kultur-Guerillas: Solidaritätsnetzwerke von Nicaragua bis Kuba
Kristine Khouri, Paula Barreiro López
Wie werden Solidaritätsnetzwerke zu Formen der Zusammenarbeit, bei denen sich politischen Geschichte und Kunstgeschichte miteinander verschränken? Seit den 1960er Jahren wird der Begriff der „Kultur-Guerilla“ direkt auf die antikolonialen und antiimperialistischen revolutionären Kämpfe bezogen. Die von Augusto César Sandino am Ende der 1920er Jahre gegen die US-Militärintervention in Nicaragua in Anschlag gebrachten Guerillataktiken erlangten Modellfunktion für künftige revolutionäre Bewegungen und kulturelle Solidaritätsnetzwerke in verschiedenen Ländern der Region. In ihrem Vortrag verfolgt Kristine Khouri die internationale Mobilisierung von Künstler*innen in Solidarität mit der Bevölkerung Nicaraguas, die von der sandinistischen Revolution 1979 ausgelöst wurde. Im Gegenzug verknüpft Paula Barreiro Lopéz das revolutionäre Programm Kubas mit der kubanischen Unterstützung von Dekolonisierungsbewegungen. Sie thematisiert den „Kultur-Guerilla“-Kampf, der von Kuba ausging, einem Land, das als ein transnationales Zentrum der Kunstproduktion in den 1960er, 70er und 80er Jahren gelten kann.

19h: Diskussionsrunde und Q&A
Moderiert von Paz Guevara

20.15h: Abschluss-Statements
Moderiert von Paz Guevara, Rasha Salti