2019, Sat, Sep 07

Workshops: It’s not over

The joint plaintiffs speak out one year after the NSU trial

From the verdict at the NSU trial and its significance to current developments such as NSU 2.0 and the murder of Kassel district president Walter Lübcke to racist attacks in the public space and everyday racism: Four workshops for activists, specialists in school and extracurricular education, experts from political and artistic education and young people go deeper into the content of the conversations with the NSU co-plaintiffs and ask what still needs to be done in the face of racism and the unanswered questions from the NSU complex. After a mutual launch with a performative reading of excerpts from the documentary play Die NSU-Monologe by Bühne für Menschenrechte, in small groups the workshop participants will work out possible and needed strategies to overcome racist divisions in society.

Workshop 1
With İbrahim Arslan (co-organizer of the Tribunal Unraveling the NSU Complex! and survivor of the 1992 arson attack in Mölln)

Using documentary film excerpts and interviews, the workshop examines the continualness of right wing and racist violence in Germany. The focus is on the perspective of those affected, which helps understand the affects of racism and how important listening is for solidary connections.

Workshop 2
With Fritz Laszlo Weber (member of the initiative April 6 in memory of Halit Yozga and the Tribunal Unraveling the NSU Complex)

Compression and localization: Using the example of Kassel, the workshop participants unfold the NSU complex. The mourning demonstration No 10th Victim, organized by relatives of the murder victim Halit Yozgat on April 6, 2006, and the resistant practices of those directly affected are central to this. On the basis of this case, structural, institutional racism and the continuities of the NSU to NSU 2.0 will be illuminated.

Workshop 3
With Katharina König (politician, member of the NSU inquiry committee of the Landtag of Thuringia)

In addition to the NSU trial at the Higher Regional Court in Munich, there were so-called parliamentary NSU committees of inquiry meant to identify possible errors in state institutions. Using the example of the Thuringian committee, the workshop participants examine the question of what knowledge and what lessons were learned from the trial. What consequences did it have for the investigating authorities and for the intelligence services? What civic engagement is necessary after NSU 2.0? How can such commitment be shaped going forward?

Workshop 4
With Mouctar Bah (member of the Initiative in Remembrance of Oury Jalloh)

On January 7, 2005, Oury Jalloh died in a detention cell at the Dessau-Roßlau police station. The police, accused of bodily harm resulting in death and negligent homicide, were acquitted. The initiative in memory of Oury Jalloh is fighting for clarification of this case and for justice. Together with the workshop participants, they investigate racist police violence and racial profiling.

Sa, 07. September 2019

Workshops: Das bleibt!

Ein Jahr nach dem NSU-Prozess sprechen die Nebenklägerinnen

Vom Urteil des NSU-Prozesses und dessen Bedeutung über aktuelle Entwicklungen wie NSU 2.0 und dem Mord am Kasseler Regierungspräsidenten Walter Lübcke bis zu rassistischen Übergriffen im öffentlichen Raum und Alltagsrassismen: Vier Workshops für Aktivist*innen, Fachkräfte der schulischen und außerschulischen Bildung, Expert*innen aus der politischen und künstlerischen Vermittlung und Jugendliche vertiefen die Inhalte der Gesprächsrunde mit den NSU-Nebenklägerinnen und fragen, was angesichts von Rassismus und den noch immer offenen Fragen aus dem NSU-Komplex zu tun ist. Nach einem gemeinsamen Auftakt mit einer performativen Lesung von Auszügen aus dem dokumentarischen Theaterstück Die NSU-Monologe der Bühne für Menschenrechte, erarbeiten die Workshop-Teilnehmer*innen in Kleingruppen mögliche und notwendige Strategien gegen die rassistische Spaltung der Gesellschaft.

Workshop 1
Mit İbrahim Arslan (Mitorganisator des Tribunals NSU-Komplex auflösen! und Überlebender des Brandanschlages in Mölln 1992)

Anhand von dokumentarischen Filmausschnitten und Interviews untersucht der Workshop die Kontinuität rechter und rassistisch motivierter Gewalt in Deutschland. Im Fokus steht die Perspektive von Betroffenen, anhand der sich nachvollziehen lässt, wie Rassismus wirkt und wie wichtig das Zuhören für solidarische Verbindungen ist.

Workshop 2
Mit Fritz Laszlo Weber (Mitglied der Initiative 6. April zur Erinnerung an Halit Yozgat und des Tribunals NSU- Komplex auflösen!)

Verdichtung und Verortungen: Am Beispiel Kassel fächern die Workshop-Teilnehmer*innen den NSU-Komplex auf. Zentral ist dabei die Trauerdemonstration Kein 10. Opfer, die Angehörige des Mordopfers Halit Yozgat am 6. April 2006 organisierten, und die widerständigen Praktiken der direkt Betroffenen. Anhand des konkreten Falles wird strukturell-institutioneller Rassismus sowie die Kontinuitäten vom NSU zum NSU 2.0 beleuchtet.

Workshop 3
Mit Katharina König (Politikerin, Mitglied des NSU-Untersuchungsausschuss des Thüringer Landtags)

Neben dem NSU-Prozess am Oberlandesgericht München gab es sogenannte parlamentarische NSU-Untersuchungsausschüsse, die mögliche Fehler in eigenen staatlichen Institutionen ermitteln sollten. Am Beispiel des Thüringer Ausschusses gehen die Workshop-Teilnehmer*innen der Frage nach, welches Wissen und welche Erkenntnisse aus dem Prozess gezogen wurden. Welche Folgen hatte er für Ermittlungsbehörden und den Verfassungsschutz? Welches zivilgesellschaftliche Engagement ist nach dem NSU 2.0 notwendig? Wie lässt sich solches Engagement auch zukünftig gestalten?

Workshop 4
Mit Mouctar Bah (Mitglied der Initiative in Gedenken an Oury Jalloh)

Oury Jalloh verstarb am 7. Januar 2005 in einer Gewahrsamszelle des Polizeireviers Dessau-Roßlau. Die wegen Körperverletzung mit Todesfolge und fahrlässiger Tötung angeklagten Polizisten wurden freigesprochen. Die Initiative in Gedenken an Oury Jalloh kämpft für die Aufklärung dieses Falles und Gerechtigkeit. Gemeinsam mit den Workshop-Teilnehmer*innen gehen sie rassistischer Polizeigewalt und Racial Profiling nach.