2019, Sun, Oct 06

Here’s to Art!

Bar talk with Ulrike Ottinger and other artists

After a bank apprenticeship and several years as a guest student at the Academy of Arts in Munich, Ulrike Ottinger moved to Paris at the age of 20. Driven by the desire to become an artist, she sought out her role models among the writers, artists and intellectuals for whom Paris grew from being a place of exile to one of creative work.

The lively cafés and cinemas, the nightlife and the artists from all over the world, as well as the visible effects of the Algerian War and political movements of the 1960s on the streets influenced Ulrike Ottinger and her work. Paris Calligrammes is her attempt to trace these early impressions. Ottinger’s multifaceted creative phases are distinguished by an almost anthropological urge to research but also to deliberately let herself drift. If she hadn’t spent those years in Paris, would her work be completely different?

In a candid, anarchic bar talk, Ulrike Ottinger will exchange ideas with artists of different generations about becoming an artist, the cosmopolitan spirit and the embodiment of places and times, about looking back at or observing the making of a life’s work. Over drinks and snacks, the evening’s end will be dictated only by the course of the conversation.

So, 06. Oktober 2019

Ein Hoch auf die Kunst!

Bargespräch mit Ulrike Ottinger und anderen Künstler*innen

Nach einer Banklehre und einigen Jahren als Gasthörerin an der Akademie der Künste in München zieht es Ulrike Ottinger im Alter von 20 Jahren nach Paris. Getrieben von dem Wunsch, Künstlerin zu werden, sucht sie sich ihre Vorbilder unter den Schriftsteller*innen, Künstler*innen und Intellektuellen, für die Paris vom Exil zum Schaffensort wurde.

Die belebten Cafés und Kinos, das Nachtleben und die Kulturschaffenden aus aller Welt, aber auch die auf den Straßen sichtbaren Auswirkungen des Algerienkrieges und politische Bewegungen der 1960er beeinflussen Ulrike Ottinger und ihr Werk. Paris Calligrammes ist ihr Versuch, diesen frühen Prägungen nachzuspüren. Durch Ottingers vielfältige Schaffensphasen zieht sich ein nahezu anthropologischer Forschungsdrang, als auch ein bewusstes Sich-Treibenlassen. Wäre ihr Werk ohne ihre Jahre in Paris womöglich ein völlig anderes?

Bei einem offenen Bargespräch mit anarchischem Charakter tauscht sich Ulrike Ottinger mit Künstler*innen verschiedener Generationen aus über Künstler*innenwerdung, den kosmopolitischen Geist und die Verkörperung von Orten und Zeiten, über Lebenswerke im Rückblick oder im Entstehen. Bei Drinks und Snacks wird das Ende des Abends nur vom Gespräch diktiert.