2019, Sat, Sep 072019, Sun, Sep 22

Berlin Calligrams

Ulrike Ottinger used the calligram, the figural poem, as the model for her film Paris Calligrammes. She linked historical archival footage to photographs from her own work and pieced the visual impressions together with audio commentaries on her personal narrative of 1960s Paris. In this way, places, events, moods and people gain impressive plasticity beyond the distances of time and space.

The film workshop is for adults with an interest in artistically exploring their environment in film. Markus Bauer and Aline Reinsbach from filmArche, Europe’s largest self-organized film school, offer support for concept development and, on two weekends, teach film and editing techniques, which can also be employed after the workshop for your own practice. Participants will have the opportunity to develop portraits of their own living environment or interesting places in Berlin. Existing, also non-digitized films and photos can be used after consultation with the workshop leaders.

Previous knowledge and professional equipment are not required.

Markus Bauer is a documentary filmmaker, editor, workshop lecturer and film curator. He studied Media Arts with a focus on precarization and new forms of work in Zurich and film montage at the filmArche with a specialization in experimental and essay film. He is working on a cartography project investigating homo- and transphobia as well as racist structures in public space and on a personal photo essay on memory, loss and mourning.

Aline Reinsbach is a freelance filmmaker, cinematographer and photographer. After studying literature, theater and film studies at the Free University of Berlin and Université Paris 8, she trained as a cinematographer at the filmArche. In addition to her work as a filmmaker, she regularly works as a lecturer.

Sa, 07. September 2019So, 22. September 2019

Berliner Kalligramme

Für ihren Film Paris Calligrammes nahm sich Ulrike Ottinger die Ausdrucksform des Kalligramms, des Figurengedichts, zum Vorbild. Dafür setzte sie historisches Archivmaterial in Bezug zu Aufnahmen aus ihrem eigenen Werk und fügte die visuellen Eindrücke mit eingesprochenen Kommentaren zu ihrer persönlichen Erzählung des Paris der 1960er Jahre zusammen. Orte, Ereignisse, Stimmungen und Persönlichkeiten gewinnen auf diese Weise über den zeitlich-räumlichen Abstand hinweg eine eindrückliche Plastizität.

Der Filmworkshop richtet sich an erwachsene Menschen mit Interesse an einer filmisch-künstlerischen Auseinandersetzung mit ihrer Umwelt. Markus Bauer und Aline Reinsbach von der filmArche, der größten selbstorganisierten Filmschule Europas, unterstützen bei der Konzeptentwicklung und vermitteln an zwei Wochenenden Film- und Schnitttechniken, die sich auch nach dem Workshop für die eigene Praxis anwenden lassen. Die Teilnehmer*innen haben die Möglichkeit, Porträts ihres eigenen Lebensumfelds oder interessanter Orte in Berlin zu entwickeln. Bereits vorhandene, auch nicht digitalisierte Film- und Fotoaufnahmen können nach Absprache mit den Workshop-Leiter*innen Verwendung finden.

Vorkenntnisse und professionelles Equipment sind nicht erforderlich.

Markus Bauer ist Dokumentarfilmemacher, Editor, Workshop-Dozent und Filmkurator. Er studierte Mediale Künste mit dem Schwerpunkt Prekarisierung und neue Arbeitsformen in Zürich und Filmmontage bei der filmArche mit Spezialisierung auf Experimental- und Essayfilm. Er arbeitet an einem Kartografieprojekt, das Homo- und Transphobie sowie rassistische Strukturen im öffentlichen Raum untersucht und an einem persönlichen Fotoessay zu Erinnerung, Verlust und Trauer.

Aline Reinsbach ist freischaffende Filmemacherin, Kamerafrau und Fotografin. Nach ihrem Studium der Literatur- Theater- und Filmwissenschaft an der Freien Universität Berlin und der Université Paris 8 folgte die Ausbildung zur Kamerafrau bei der filmArche. Neben ihrer Arbeit als Filmemacherin ist sie regelmäßig als Dozentin tätig.