2019, Sun, Sep 08

30 Years HKW

Congress Hall, today Haus der Kulturen der Welt, 1989 | Landesarchiv Berlin/Photo: Hans Scherhaufer

Congress Hall, today Haus der Kulturen der Welt, 1989 | Landesarchiv Berlin/Photo: Hans Scherhaufer

The history of HKW is marked by upheavals, both internal and external, conceptual and substantial. The building, opened in 1958 as Congress Hall, was supposed to communicate a manifesto for freedom of thought and expression in the context of the Cold War. Since 1989, the winged roof of Haus der Kulturen der Welt has inscribed itself into Berlin's cultural and urban landscape.

On the occasion of its 30th anniversary and as part of Tag des offenen Denkmals®, a multilingual program of guided tours allows visitors to experience the building’s iconic architecture. Experts and staff will offer guided tours of the “pregnant oyster,” as Berliners have nicknamed the building, in German, English, and Arabic for new arrivals, transients, long-time residents and families. In addition, a tactile tour will make the house accessible to visitors with and without visual impairment.

12 noon
من قاعة مؤتمرات إلى بيت الثقافات العالمية
Guided tour in Arabic with Lama El-Khatib
جولة ارشادية باللغة العربية

كانت قاعة المؤتمرات التي صممها هيو ستوبينز تشع في العالم "كمنارة للحرية". سنكتشف معاً خلال هذه الجولة الارشادية باللغة العربية كيف تحولت قاعة المؤتمرات إلى بيت الثقافات العالمية بعد إعادة اعمار المبنى في أواخر الثمانينات وسوف نناقش كيف تبقى رمزية هذا المبنى التاريخي ملموسة حتى يومنا هذا.

The Congress Hall designed by Hugh Stubbins was meant to radiate into the world as a “beacon of freedom.” In this guided tour in Arabic, it will be explored how the Congress Hall transformed into Haus der Kulturen der Welt after its reconstruction in the late 1980s and how the building’s symbolism continues to be felt today.

1.30 pm
Tactile tour for visitors with and without visual impairment
With Silja Korn and Ariane Pauls, in German

An inclusive tactile tour by two guides who complement each other in their expertise and experience will take guests through HKW. Information about the architecture of the building will be described by Ariane Pauls responded to by Silja Korn, a blind educator who points out tactile possibilities to explore the architecture. The guides’ collaboration creates a participative format on the architecture of the building that can be heard and felt. Anyone can participate.

2.30 pm
Return of the Modern Age
Guided tour in English with Andromachi Marinou-Strohm

Hugh Stubbins’s Congress Hall introduced a new lightness and transparency to West Berlin’s architecture. As a place of free exchange of knowledge and ideas, it aimed to contribute to the democratization of society. But does this concept translate into the architecture? This guided tour in English focuses on the formal idiom of the iconic architecture of the Congress Hall.

4 pm
The House That Lives
Guided family tour in German with Ariane Pauls

On a walk, the unconventional building and its eventful history will be explored. Participants will view the house as a living organism and see whether they can recognize certain body parts and their functions. How did HKW enter the world and how has its life changed since then? Suitable for children aged 8 and upwards.

4.30 pm
The Congress Hall in Tiergarten: Architecture as an Ideological Medium Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow
Guided tour in German with architectural collective c/o now

Architectures have always functioned as carriers of ideological messages. The Tiergarten’s Congress Hall joins a group of buildings that were part of the architectural arms race of the Cold War. This tour through today’s HKW will probe the coupling of ideology and architecture.

5.30 pm
Symbol, Tragedy, Farce – Happy End: The Moving Architecture of the West Berlin Congress Hall
Guided tour in German with Steffen de Rudder

The Berlin Congress Hall, today’s Haus der Kulturen der Welt, is an unserious building and therefore a genuine rarity in Berlin. It was built in serious times, at the peak of the Cold War, between the Berlin blockade and the construction of the Berlin Wall. On a pathway through the building and the grounds, the guide will explain how the political program of the American founders created architecture of general serenity, why the roof collapsed and why it was rebuilt.

6 pm
From Congress Hall to HKW
Guided tour in German with Alexandra Engel

The building erected by Hugh Stubbins as the West Berlin Congress Hall was designed as a US contribution to the International Building Exhibition in 1957. The tour provides an overview of the design and architecture as well as the programmatic development of the building – starting 1989, where it was founded as Haus der Kulturen der Welt as an eye-opener to the art and culture of the non-European world up to today’s HKW as a house for present-day research and a forum for contemporary arts.

So, 08. September 2019

30 Jahre HKW

Kongresshalle, heute Haus der Kulturen der Welt, 1989 | Landesarchiv Berlin/Foto: Hans Scherhaufer

Kongresshalle, heute Haus der Kulturen der Welt, 1989 | Landesarchiv Berlin/Foto: Hans Scherhaufer

Umbrüche, innere wie äußere, ideelle wie substanzielle, prägen die Geschichte des HKW. Das 1958 als Kongresshalle eröffnete Gebäude sollte ein Manifest für die Freiheit des Gedankens und des Ausdrucks im Kontext des Kalten Krieges formulieren. Seit 1989 hat sich das Haus der Kulturen der Welt mit seinem geflügelten Dach in die Berliner Kultur- und Stadtlandschaft eingeschrieben.

Anlässlich des 30-jährigen Jubiläums und im Rahmen des Tags des offenen Denkmals® ermöglicht ein Vermittlungsprogramm die ikonische Architektur des HKW zu erleben. Expert*innen und Mitarbeiter*innen bieten Führungen durch die „schwangere Auster“ auf Deutsch, Englisch und Arabisch an für Neulinge, Durchreisende, Alteingesessene und Familien. Des Weiteren wird eine Tastführung das Haus für blinde wie auch sehende Besucher*innen gleichermaßen erfahrbar machen.

12h

من قاعة مؤتمرات إلى بيت الثقافات العالمية
Führung auf Arabisch mit Lama El-Khatib
جولة ارشادية باللغة العربية

كانت قاعة المؤتمرات التي صممها هيو ستوبينز تشع في العالم "كمنارة للحرية". سنكتشف معاً خلال هذه الجولة الارشادية باللغة العربية كيف تحولت قاعة المؤتمرات إلى بيت الثقافات العالمية بعد إعادة اعمار المبنى في أواخر الثمانينات وسوف نناقش كيف تبقى رمزية هذا المبنى التاريخي ملموسة حتى يومنا هذا.

Als „Leuchtfeuer der Freiheit“ sollte die von Hugh Stubbins entworfene Kongresshalle in die Welt ausstrahlen. Wie sich nach dem Wiederaufbau Ende der 1980er Jahre der Wandel von Kongresshalle zum Haus der Kulturen der Welt vollzogen hat und wie die Symbolik des Gebäudes bis heute nachwirkt, wird in dieser Führung in arabischer Sprache ergründet und erkundet.

13.30h
Tastführung für Blinde und Sehende
Mit Silja Korn und Ariane Pauls, auf Deutsch

Eine inklusive Tastführung wird im Tandem aus zwei Guides, die sich in ihren Expertisen und Erlebnissen ergänzen, durch das Haus führen. Inhalte zur Architektur des Gebäudes werden von Ariane Pauls dargelegt und von Silja Korn, einer blinden Kulturvermittlerin, durch Angebote zum Tasten sinnlich ergänzt. Anhand der Zusammenarbeit der Guides entsteht ein partizipatives Format zur Architektur des Hauses, welches erlauscht und ertastet werden kann. Teilnehmen kann jede*r.

14.30h
Return of the Modern Age
Führung auf Englisch mit Andromachi Marinou-Strohm

Mit Hugh Stubbins‘ Kongresshalle hielt eine neue Leichtigkeit und Transparenz Einzug in die West-Berliner Architektur. Als Ort des freien Wissens- und Meinungsaustauschs sollte sie zur Demokratisierung der Gesellschaft beitragen. Doch wie lässt sich dieses inhaltliche Programm architektonisch darstellen? In dieser Führung auf Englisch rückt die Formensprache der ikonischen Architektur der Kongresshalle in den Fokus.

16h
Das Haus, das lebt
Familienführung auf Deutsch mit Ariane Pauls

Auf einem Spaziergang wird das ungewöhnliche Gebäude und seine bewegte Geschichte erkundet. Teilnehmer*innen betrachten das Haus als einen lebenden Organismus und schauen, ob bestimmte Körperteile und ihre Funktionen zu erkennen sind. Wie kam das HKW überhaupt in die Welt und wie hat sich sein Leben seitdem verändert? Geeignet für Kinder ab 8 Jahren.

16.30h
Die Kongresshalle im Tiergarten: Architektur als ideologisches Trägermedium damals, heute und morgen
Führung auf Deutsch mit Architekturkollektiv c/o now

Architekturen fungieren seit jeher als Träger ideologischer Botschaften. Die Kongresshalle im Tiergarten reiht sich dabei in eine Gruppe von Bauten ein, die im Kontext des Kalten Krieges Teil des architektonischen Wettrüstens waren. Diese Tour durch das heutige HKW wird der Koppelung von Ideologie und Architektur auf den Grund gehen.

17.30h
Symbol, Tragödie, Farce – Happy End: Die bewegte Architektur der West-Berliner Kongresshalle
Führung auf Deutsch mit Steffen de Rudder

Die Berliner Kongresshalle, das heutige Haus der Kulturen der Welt, ist ein unernstes Gebäude und damit in Berlin eine echte Rarität. Gebaut wurde es in ernsten Zeiten, in einer Hochphase des Kalten Krieges, zwischen Berliner Blockade und Mauerbau. Wie aus der politischen Programmatik der amerikanischen Stifter*innen eine Architektur der allgemeinen Heiterkeit entstand, warum das Dach zusammenbrach und wieder aufgebaut wurde, wird auf einem Weg durch Gebäude und Gelände erklärt.

18h
Von der Kongresshalle zum HKW
Führung auf Deutsch mit Alexandra Engel

Das von Hugh Stubbins als West-Berliner Kongresshalle errichtete Gebäude entstand als Beitrag der USA zur Internationalen Bauausstellung 1957. Die Führung gibt sowohl einen Überblick zu Design und Architektur als auch zur programmatischen Entwicklung des Hauses – vom 1989 als Blicköffner für Kunst und Kultur der nichteuropäischen Welt gegründeten Haus der Kulturen der Welt bis zum heutigen HKW als Haus für Gegenwartsforschung und Forum für zeitgenössischen Künste.