2019, Sun, May 12

A New School

The conference A New School explores the question of whether approaches to a radical art education of the 20th century are gaining relevance today in view of current socio-political conditions and whether they necessitate a reform of art and design education. On the first day, panels examine pedagogical concepts as well as new places of learning and schools in Brazil, China, Germany, Great Britain, India, Nigeria, Rwanda and the USA, and discuss their relevance for contemporary education. On the second day, three workshops foreground the haptic, manual and practical processes, which are often overshadowed by a cognitive approach, though equally important. They will explore what forms of collective learning and self-organization are significant in an age of global networking and what new kinds of knowledge and actions are needed to meet contemporary challenges.

Day 1 | Day 2

2 pm–4 pm
Introduction
Marion von Osten and Grant Watson, curators bauhaus imaginista

Workshop 1: On Bodily Knowledge
Hosts: Yael Davids
Respondent: Regina Bittner, Head of Academy, Deputy Director Bauhaus Dessau

The workshop will reflect the writings of Bauhaus textile artist and designer Otti Berger, in particular her essay Stoffe im Raum (Material in Space) . Berger draws attention to the Haltbarkeit (hold-ability) of textiles, thus enunciating the sensual terms of engagement that textiles evoke. By combing a Feldenkrais lesson with a choreography of textile elements, the workshop will guide the session’s participants through a dialog between the body and materials.

Workshop 2: From the Educational Turn to the Institutional Analysis: Drafting an Art School Curriculum
Host: Janna Graham, Susan Kelly
Respondent: Benjamin Meyer-Krahmer

This workshop will critically engage with genealogies of radical education that have been called up in the recent years of the so-called Educational Turn in the art world: histories of emancipatory education; art and theory programs; arte útil, libertarian education and so on. Can the activation of these histories contend with the conditions of the neoliberal in art school today, where radical curricula are detached from radical institution making? The workshop draws on histories and practices of institutional analysis in radical psychiatry as well as case studies from campuses in the UK and elsewhere today, to see how new protagonisms might be possible, and together write a new institutional curriculum.

Workshop 3: In and In and In Institutional Lives
Hosts: Annette Krauss, Ferdiansyah Thajib
Respondent: Benjamin Foerster-Baldenius, raumlabor/ Floating University Berlin

How can one inhabit different institutional lives at the same time? This workshop is dedicated to the experiences of having one foot in an institutional context, and the other foot in another, e.g. self-organized collectives. When do these different workings intersect or support each other? How can they open up ways for sustaining, subverting and transforming these very institutions? How could the boundaries between admin-orga-institutional practices and learning practices in art schools be traversed and reconfigured?

4.30 pm
Wrap up
with hosts, respondents and workshop participants
Moderation: David Dibosa

Day 1 | Day 2

So, 12. Mai 2019

A New School

Die Konferenz A New School geht der Frage nach, ob Ansätze einer radikalen Kunstpädagogik des 20. Jahrhunderts wieder an Relevanz gewinnen und gegenwärtige gesellschaftspolitische Bedingungen eine radikale Reform der Kunst- und Gestaltungsausbildung erforderlich machen. Am ersten Tag untersuchen Panels pädagogische Konzepte sowie neue Lernorte und Schulen in Brasilien, China, Deutschland, Großbritannien, Indien, Nigeria, Ruanda und in den USA und fragen nach ihrer Bedeutung für die zeitgenössische Bildung. Am zweiten Tag nehmen drei Workshops die Ausbildung in zeitgenössischer Kunst und Design in den Blick, und stellen haptische, manuelle und praktische Prozesse in den Vordergrund, die - obwohl ebenso wichtig - oft von einem kognitiven Ansatz überschattet werden. Die Workshops untersuchen, welche Wege kollektiven Lernens und der Selbstorganisation im Zeitalter globaler Vernetzung bedeutsam sind und welche neuen Wissensformen und Handlungsweisen es braucht, um gegenwärtigen Herausforderungen zu begegnen.

Tag 1 | Tag 2

14-16h
Einführung
Marion von Osten und Grant Watson, Kurator*innen bauhaus imaginista

Workshop 1: Über das Körperwissen
Hosts: Yael Davids
Respondent: Regina Bittner, Leiterin Akademie, Stellvertretende Direktorin Bauhaus Dessau

Der Workshop diskutiert die Schriften der Bauhaus-Textilkünstlerin und Designerin Otti Berger, mit besonderem Fokus auf ihren Essay Stoffe im Raum. Berger thematisiert die Haltbarkeit von Textilien und reflektiert damit die Sinnlichkeit der Bindung, die Stoffe evozieren. Eine Kombination von Feldenkrais-Lektion mit einer Choreographie aus textilen Elementen leitet die Teilnehmer*innen des Workshops durch den Dialog zwischen Körper und Stoff.

Workshop 2: Vom Educational Turn zur institutionellen Analyse: Gestaltung eines Lehrplans für Kunstschulen
Host: Janna Graham, Susan Kelly
Respondent: Benjamin Meyer-Krahmer

Dieser Workshop setzt sich kritisch mit den Genealogien der radikalen Bildung auseinander, die in der jüngeren Vergangenheit mit dem sogenannten Educational Turn - seine Geschichten der emanzipatorischen Bildung; Kunst- und Theorieprogramme; arte útil, libertäre Bildung etc. - in der Kunstwelt aufgerufen wurden. Kann die Aktivierung dieser Narrative mit den neoliberalen Bedingungen in der Kunstschule der Gegenwart mithalten, in der radikale Lehrpläne vom radikalen Institutionenbau abgekoppelt wurden? Der Workshop stützt sich auf Geschichten und Praktiken der institutionellen Analyse in der radikalen Psychiatrie sowie auf aktuelle Fallstudien aus Universitäten in Großbritannien und andernorts, prüft die Möglichkeit neuer Protagonismen und entwickelt in einem gemeinschaftlichen Prozess einen neuen institutionellen Lehrplan.

Workshop 3: In institutionellen Leben
Hosts: Annette Krauss, Ferdiansyah Thajib
Respondent: Benjamin Foerster-Baldenius, raumlabor/ Floating University Berlin

Wie kann man gleichzeitig verschiedene institutionelle Leben führen? Dieser Workshop widmet sich der Erfahrung des Sich-Verortens in einem institutionellen Kontext, während man sich gleichzeitig in einem anderen, beispielsweise selbstorganisierten Kollektiv positioniert. Wo überschneiden sich diese verschiedenen Funktionen, wo befördern sie sich gegenseitig? Wie können sie Wege zur Wahrung, Subversion und Transformation eben dieser Institutionen eröffnen? Wie lassen sich die Grenzen zwischen der administrativen, strukturellen und institutionellen Praxis und den Praktiken des Lernens an Kunsthochschulen überwinden und neu gestalten?

16.30h
Wrap up
mit den Hosts, Respondents und Workshopteilnehmer*innen
Moderation: David Dibosa

Tag 1 | Tag 2