Wed, Jun 26–Mon, Jul 1: Road closures and traffic obstructions around HKW. More…

2019, Wed, Jul 10

Echoes of the South Atlantic

With Paul Gilroy, Gabi Ngcobo, Thiago de Paula Souza, Nanette Snoep and many others

Echoes of the South Atlantic, Goethe-Institut

Echoes of the South Atlantic, Goethe-Institut

Until the 15th century, the Atlantic was the clear border between Africa and Europe on the one side and the Americas on the other. The history of crossing the Atlantic followed the well-known narrative of “discoveries”: colonisation, slavery, exploitation, migration – and European prosperity. The exchange between the three continents created a cultural dynamic that fundamentally changed all three continents. The conference, organized by the Goethe-Institut, focuses on today’s Atlantic relations between Africa, South America, the Caribbean and Europe. International contributors from the arts and research will explore these relations in talks, panels and performances focusing on growing nationalism, the construction of new borders and questions of restitution and cultural heritage.

The conference is part of the Goethe-Institut’s project Echoes of the South Atlantic, which is organizing events on the future of the South Atlantic on all three continents between 2018 and 2020. During this time frame, the participating artists and intellectuals are working on their own projects; a final presentation of which is planned for 2020.

With contributions by Jean-Pierre Bekolo, Samy Ben Redjeb, Ndidi Dike, Elvira Dyangani Ose, Anita Ekman, Paul Gilroy, Paul Goodwin, Isaac Julien, Michelle (Musa) Mattiuzzi, Achille Mbembe, Jota Mombaça, Mark Nash, Kris Nelson, Gabi Ngcobo, António Ole, The Otolith Group (Anjalika Salgar & Kodwo Eshun), Amilcar Packer, Thiago de Paula Souza, Felwine Sarr, Nadine Siegert, Nanette Snoep, Selene Wendt

Day 1 | Day 2

2 pm–3.30 pm, Lecture Hall
Collecting and Creating

4 pm–5.30 pm, Lecture Hall
Explore and Encounter

Talks and panels with Nanette Snoep, Gabi Ngcobo, Thiago de Paula Souza and others
chaired by Ananya Kabir
For detailed program go to goethe.de

6.30 pm, Roof terrace, in the Foyer if it rains
Conference Opening
Bernd Scherer, HKW director; Johannes Ebert, Secretary General Goethe-Instituts

7 pm, Roof terrace, in the Foyer if it rains
The End of the Black Atlantic?
Paul Gilroy, historian, cultural theorist
Keynote

What is the historical arc of the Black Atlantic? Is it still relevant? Racial hierarchies influence modern-day cultural diplomacy and international relations. The transformation of technologies and communications seems directly related to the resurgence of ultranationalism and fascism. What role does the notion of “civilization” play in this? Can the residues of the Black Atlantic archive yield resources for managing this crisis?

Day 1 | Day 2

Mi, 10. Juli 2019

Echoes of the South Atlantic

Mit Paul Gilroy, Gabi Ngcobo, Thiago de Paula Souza, Nanette Snoep u.v.a.

Echoes of the South Atlantic, Goethe-Institut

Echoes of the South Atlantic, Goethe-Institut

Bis ins 15. Jahrhundert war der Atlantik eine wahrnehmbare Grenze zwischen Afrika und Europa auf der einen Seite und den Amerikas auf der anderen Seite. Der Überwindung dieser Grenze folgte die bekannte Geschichte der „Entdeckungen“: Kolonisierung, Versklavung, Migration – und Wohlstand in Europa. Die Dynamik des Austauschs zwischen den drei Kontinenten mündete in einer kulturellen Verbindung, die alle drei Kontinente fundamental veränderte. Die vom Goethe-Institut organisierte Konferenz Echoes of the South Atlantic nimmt die heutige Situation der atlantischen Beziehungen zwischen Afrika, Südamerika, der Karibik und Europa in den Blick. Internationale Gäste aus Kunst und Wissenschaft beleuchten in Vorträgen, Diskussionsrunden und Performances das Ausmaß dieser Beziehungen: in Beiträgen über wachsenden Nationalismus, das Errichten neuer Grenzen und Fragen nach Restitution und kulturellem Erbe.

Die Konferenz ist Teil des Projekts Echos des Südatlantiks des Goethe-Instituts, das zwischen 2018 und 2020 auf allen drei Kontinenten Veranstaltungen zur Zukunft des Südatlantiks ausrichtet. Die teilnehmenden Künstler*innen und Intellektuellen erarbeiten in diesem Zeitraum eigene Projekte, 2020 ist eine Abschlusspräsentation geplant.

Mit Beiträgen von Jean-Pierre Bekolo, Samy Ben Redjeb, Ndidi Dike, Elvira Dyangani Ose, Anita Ekman, Paul Gilroy, Paul Goodwin, Isaac Julien, Michelle (Musa) Mattiuzzi, Jota Mombaça, Mark Nash, Kris Nelson, Gabi Ngcobo, António Ole, Amilcar Packer, Thiago de Paula Souza, Felwine Sarr, Nadine Siegert, Nanette Snoep, Selene Wendt

Tag 1 | Tag 2

14–15.30h, Vortragssaal
Collecting and Creating

16–17.30h, Vortragssaal
Explore and Encounter

Vorträge und Gespräche mit Nanette Snoep, Gabi Ngcobo, Thiago de Paula Souza u. a.
Moderation: Ananya Kabir
Detailliertes Programm auf goethe.de

18.30h, Dachterrasse
Konferenzeröffnung
Bernd Scherer, Intendant HKW; Johannes Ebert, Generalsekretär des Goethe-Instituts

19h, Dachterrasse
The End of the Black Atlantic?
Paul Gilroy, Historiker, Kulturtheoretiker
Keynote

Wie ist der Black Atlantic entstanden und ist er heute noch relevant? Rassistische Hierarchien beeinflussen heutige Kulturdiplomatie und internationale Beziehungen. Der Wandel in Technologie und Kommunikation scheint in direktem Zusammenhang zum Wiederaufleben von ultranationalistischem und faschistischem Gedankengut zu stehen. Welche Rolle hat hier der Begriff „Zivilisation“? Und welche Ressourcen kann das kulturelle Archiv des Black Atlantic dem entgegensetzen?

Tag 1 | Tag 2