2019, Thu, Apr 252019, Sat, Apr 27

Choreography and Research Conversation

Choreography

The shape of the planet is a constant negotiation between earth processes, human culture and the technologies that they produce. In the tensions they create with one another, transformations abound, recombinant and irreversible. During Life Forms, choreographers Xavier Le Roy, Scarlet Yu, and a team of performers from their previous work Temporary Title, 2015 will transform the space of the event through shaping physical relations and collaborations between each other and their surroundings. This way, the work questions the dividing lines between human / inhuman, object / subject, transformation / transition / modification. While at first sight it can appear as something external to contemplate, its durational quality transforms it into a landscape in which the audience and participants find themselves, a situation to live, a space where our perception can be faster than the actions; a situation where maybe time can wait.

Within this landscape of constantly forming and deforming assemblies of speakers, performers and audience, a situation can be generated where oscillations between recognizable and unrecognizable forms frame research conversations on different approaches to the notion of “lifeforms”.

Concept: Xavier Le Roy Artistic Collaborator: Scarlet Yu

With Alexandre Achour, Jorge Alencar, Saša Asentić, Christian Bourigault, Sherwood Chen, Christine De Smedt, João Dos Santos Martins, Benjamain Evans, Zeina Hannah, Alice Heyward, Becky Hilton, Hélène Iratchet, Xavier Le Roy, Mário Machado Neto, Sabine Macher, Julia Rodriguez, Salka Ardal Rosengren, Scarlet Yu

Research Conversation

Life takes many different forms depending on how it is understood. The constant recombination of the earth situates humans in a permanent negotiation of the many shapes and meanings of life. What qualities define it might seem obvious in one case, and become entirely elusive in another. Even the life sciences have seen paradigm after paradigm upended by new frameworks defining what life could or may be, all generated out of discoveries and missteps that have entirely reoriented how life is studied in the first place. The conversations with anthropologist Elizabeth A. Povinelli, literature scholar Melody Jue, philosopher Maria Chehonadskih, science historian Luis Campos, and writer Hu Fang, led by science historian Sophia Roosth, attest to this ongoing problematic by demonstrating how the approach one takes toward understanding life has enormous ramifications on what it could be and in what forms it can manifest.

Idealized Forms, In Formation, Landscape, Making

The four iterations of the conversation present different angles on or approaches to the Life Forms concept. They ask how Idealized Forms have come to shape our understanding of life and discuss the Formation life creates within each environment. They explore how modeled Landscape of conditions for life as well as practices of Making forms of life could situate our understanding of life.

With Sophia Roosth and Luis Campos, Maria Chehonadskih, Hu Fang, Melody Jue, Elizabeth A. Povinelli

Do, 25. April 2019Sa, 27. April 2019

Forschungsgespräche und Choreografie

Choreografie

Die Gestalt der Welt wird im Zusammenspiel von Erdprozessen, menschlicher Kultur und den daraus hervorgehenden Technologien ausgehandelt: ein Spannungsverhältnis, aus dem verschiedenste, oft unwiderrufliche Veränderungen erwachsen. Während Lebensformen organisieren die Choreograf*innen Xavier Le Roy und Scarlet Yu gemeinsam mit Performer*innen aus ihrer früheren Arbeit Temporary Title, 2015 den Raum und das Geschehen und machen ihre Beziehungen zueinander sowie ihr Verhältnis zur Umgebung und den Besucher*innen sichtbar. So hinterfragt die Arbeit Trennlinien zwischen menschlich/nicht-menschlich, Objekt/Subjekt, Transformation/Übergang/Modifikation. Während sie auf den ersten Blick als etwas von außen zu Betrachtendes wirkt, verwandelt sich die Choreografie über ihre 3-tägige Dauer in eine Landschaft, in der sich die Besucher*innen und Beitragenden befinden: eine Lebenssituation, ein Raum, in dem Wahrnehmung schneller als Handlungen sein kann, eine Situation, in der die Zeit vielleicht warten kann.

Inmitten dieser Landschaft aus sich ständig formenden und auflösenden Konstellationen aus Beitragenden, Performer*innen und Publikum, aus klar erkennbaren und kaum auszumachenden Formen, finden Forschungsgespräche statt, die das Bedeutungsspektrum des Begriffs „Lebensformen“ erkunden.

Konzeption: Xavier Le Roy Künstlerische Mitarbeit: Scarlet Yu

Mit Alexandre Achour, Jorge Alencar, Saša Asentić, Christian Bourigault, Sherwood Chen, Christine De Smedt, João Dos Santos Martins, Benjamain Evans, Zeina Hannah, Alice Heyward, Becky Hilton, Hélène Iratchet, Xavier Le Roy, Mário Machado Neto, Sabine Macher, Julia Rodriguez, Salka Ardal Rosengren, Scarlet Yu

Forschungsgespräch

Leben nimmt die unterschiedlichsten Formen an, je nachdem, welche Definition ihm zugrunde liegt. Durch die ständige Veränderung der Erde befindet sich der Mensch in einem andauernden Aushandlungsprozess über die vielen Bedeutungen und Formen von Leben. Welche Qualitäten es ausmachen, mag in einem Fall offensichtlich, in einem anderen kaum nachvollziehbar sein. Selbst für die Lebenswissenschaften hat in den immer neuen Interpretationen davon, was Leben sein könnte, ein Paradigma das andere abgelöst. Allein die Frage, wie überhaupt über das Leben geforscht werden kann, hat sich entlang von Entdeckungen und Irrwegen immer wieder neu ausgerichtet. Die Wissenschaftshistorikerin Sophia Roosth zeigt in Gesprächen mit der Anthropologin Elizabeth A. Povinelli, der Literaturwissenschaftlerin Melody Jue, der Philosophin Maria Chehonadskih, dem Wissenschaftshistoriker Luis Campos und dem Schriftsteller Hu Fang auf, wie sich unterschiedliche Ansätze, Leben zu verstehen, darauf auswirken, wie und in welchen Formen es sich manifestieren kann.

Idealized Forms, In Formation, Landscape, Making

Die Gespräche öffnen unterschiedliche Blickwinkel auf das Konzept von Lebensformen. Sie fragen danach, inwiefern idealisierte Formen (Idealized Forms) bestimmte Auffassungen von Leben hervorbringen und und wie dieses in verschiedenen Umgebungen transformiert (In Formation). Außerdem diskutieren die Teilnehmenden, wie Modellierungen (Landscape) und Praktiken (Making) der Lebensgestaltung Vorstellungen von Leben beeinflussen können.

Mit Sophia Roosth und Luis Campos, Maria Chehonadskih, Hu Fang, Melody Jue, Elizabeth A. Povinelli