2019, Thu, Jun 272019, Sat, Jun 29

Queering Memory. Archives – Arts – Audiences

Archives, Libraries, Museums and Special Collections: An International LGBTIQ* Conference

Illustration: Esra Paul Afken, 2019

Illustration: Esra Paul Afken, 2019

How can diversity be remembered? How can artistic approaches make historical collections and archival material on contemporary queer history tangible? How can queer art, culture, and history be archived and exhibited?

The Berlin ALMS Conference is dedicated to a dialogue about the art of remembering and collecting. On the centenary of the founding of Magnus Hirschfeld’s Institut für Sexualwissenschaft, which was located approximately where HKW stands today, archivists, activists, scientists, and artists remember the pioneer of the homosexual emancipation movement. Along with lectures and artistic contributions, they discuss the role played by digital media in visualizing queer history and how archives and museums can be used in the fight against homophobia and transphobia.

An event by the Magnus Hirschfeld Society in partnership with Forschungsstelle Kulturgeschichte der Sexualität at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Feministisches Archiv, Queer Nations Initiative, Lili-Elbe-Archiv, Schwules Museum, Spinnboden Lesbenarchiv, hosted by HKW

Do, 27. Juni 2019Sa, 29. Juni 2019

Queering Memory. Archives – Arts – Audiences

Archives, Libraries, Museums and Special Collections: An International LGBTIQ* Conference

Illustration: Esra Paul Afken, 2019

Illustration: Esra Paul Afken, 2019

Wie kann Vielfalt erinnert werden? Wie können künstlerische Zugänge historische Sammlungen und Archivmaterialien zur queeren Zeitgeschichte erfahrbar machen? Wie lässt sich queere Kunst, Kultur und Geschichte archivieren und ausstellen?

Die Berliner ALMS Konferenz widmet sich dem Erfahrungsaustausch über die Kunst des Erinnerns und Sammelns. Anlässlich des hundertsten Gründungsjubiläums des von Magnus Hirschfeld geleiteten Instituts für Sexualwissenschaft, das sich ungefähr dort befand, wo heute das HKW steht, erinnern Archivar*innen, Aktivist*innen, Wissenschaftler*innen und Künstler*innen an den Vorreiter der homosexuellen Emanzipationsbewegung. Mit Vorträgen und künstlerischen Beiträgen diskutieren sie, welche Rolle digitale Mittel bei der Sichtbarmachung queerer Geschichte spielen oder wie Archive und Museen im Kampf gegen Homo- und Transphobie genutzt werden können.

Eine Veranstaltung der Magnus-Hirschfeld-Gesellschaft, in Verbindung mit Forschungsstelle Kulturgeschichte der Sexualität der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Feministisches Archiv FFBIZ, Initiative Queer Nations, Lili-Elbe-Archiv, Schwules Museum, Spinnboden Lesbenarchiv zu Gast im HKW