2019, Fri, Apr 05 and 2019, Sat, Apr 06

Art After Culture: Navigation Beyond Vision

Harun Farocki | Parallel IV (still), 2014. | © Harun Farocki GbR, Berlin

Harun Farocki | Parallel IV (still), 2014. | © Harun Farocki GbR, Berlin

Navigation begins where the map becomes invisible or indecipherable. Navigation operates on a plane of immanence in constant motion. Instead of framing or representing the world, the art of navigation continuously updates and adjusts multiple frames from viewpoints within the world. Navigation is thus an operational practice synthesizing multiple layers, each with its own horizon. In the words of the late Harun Farocki, “A computer animation is less a reproduction and more a production ... or creation of a model world.” How do navigational paradigms in virtual and offline environments inform the politics of the image? If navigation puts ontological pressure on the static frame of a photographic or cinematic image, then how are our concepts of political action, visual literacy and collective intervention also pressured to surpass or perform model worlds?

With Ramon Amaro, Julieta Aranda, James Bridle, Maïté Chénière, Kaye Cain-Nielsen, Kodwo Eshun, Anselm Franke, Jennifer Gabrys, Charles Heller, Tom Holert, Inhabitants, Doreen Mende, Matteo Pasquinelli, Laura Lo Presti, Patricia Reed, Nikolay Smirnov, Hito Steyerl, Oraib Toukan and Brian Kuan Wood.

Friday, April 5

7 pm
Introduction
Doreen Mende, Brian Kuan Wood

7.15 pm
Keynote and screenings
James Bridle, Hito Steyerl

Saturday, April 6

11 am
Introduction
Kaye Cain-Nielsen, Tom Holert

11.15 am
Sensory Counter-Mappings
Anselm Franke, Jennifer Gabrys, Laura Lo Presti, Mariana Silva (Inhabitants), Nikolay Smirnov, moderated by Tom Holert

2.15 pm
The Tasks of Abstract Space
Ramon Amaro, Matteo Pasquinelli, Patricia Reed, moderated by Brian Kuan Wood

5 pm
Extra-Image Violence
Maîté Chénière, Charles Heller, Oraib Toukan, moderated by Doreen Mende

7.15 pm
Closing Response
Kodwo Eshun

Navigation Beyond Vision is the third chapter of the series of conferences Art after Culture? A second decade of e-flux journal in Rotterdam, Paris, Berlin and New York on the occasion of the 10th anniversary of the e-flux journal.

In cooperation with e-flux, Harun Farocki Institut, with additional support from the CCC Research-Based Master of Visual Arts at HEAD – Genève

Fr, 05. April 2019 und Sa, 06. April 2019

Art After Culture: Navigation Beyond Vision

Harun Farocki | Parallel IV (still), 2014. | © Harun Farocki GbR, Berlin

Harun Farocki | Parallel IV (still), 2014. | © Harun Farocki GbR, Berlin

Navigation beginnt dort, wo die Landkarte unsichtbar oder nicht zu entziffern ist. Sie arbeitet auf einem Immanenzplan, in ständiger Bewegung. Anstatt die Welt einzurahmen oder zu repräsentieren, erstellt Navigation ständig unterschiedliche Ausschnitte der Welt: Blickwinkel werden aktualisiert und angepasst, mehrere Ebenen mit jeweils eigenem Horizont werden zusammengefügt. Für Harun Farocki bedeutete dies: „Eine Computeranimation ist weniger eine Reproduktion als vielmehr eine Produktion ... oder die Schaffung einer Modellwelt.“ Wie beeinflussen navigatorische Paradigmen Bildpolitiken in virtuellen Räumen und Offline-Umgebungen? Wenn Navigation den statischen Rahmen des fotografischen oder filmischen Bildes ontologisch herausfordert, was bedeutetet das für unsere Begriffe von politischem Handeln, visueller Bildung und kollektiver Intervention? Geht es darum, in „Modellwelten“ zu handeln oder diese zu überwinden?

Mit Ramon Amaro, Julieta Aranda, James Bridle, Maïté Chénière, Kaye Cain-Nielsen, Kodwo Eshun, Anselm Franke, Jennifer Gabrys, Charles Heller, Tom Holert, Inhabitants, Doreen Mende, Matteo Pasquinelli, Laura Lo Presti, Patricia Reed, Nikolay Smirnov, Hito Steyerl, Oraib Toukan und Brian Kuan Wood.

Freitag, 5. April

19h
Einführung
Doreen Mende, Brian Kuan Wood

19.15h
Keynote, Screenings
James Bridle, Hito Steyerl

Samstag, 6. April

11h
Einführung
Kaye Cain-Nielsen, Tom Holert

11.15h
Sensory Counter-Mappings
Anselm Franke, Jennifer Gabrys, Laura Lo Presti, Mariana Silva (Inhabitants), Nikolay Smirnov, moderiert von Tom Holert

14.15h
The Tasks of Abstract Space
Ramon Amaro, Matteo Pasquinelli, Patricia Reed, moderiert von Brian Kuan Wood

17h
Extra-Image Violence
Maîté Chénière, Charles Heller, Oraib Toukan, moderiert von Doreen Mende

19.15h
Abschluss
Kodwo Eshun

Navigation Beyond Vision ist das dritte Kapitel der mehrteiligen Konferenz Art after Culture? A second decade of e-flux journal in Paris, Rotterdam, Berlin und New York anlässlich des 10-jährigen Jubiläums des e-flux journals.

In Zusammenarbeit mit e-flux, Harun Farocki Institut, mit Unterstützung des CCC Research-Based Master of Visual Arts von HEAD – Genève