2019, Thu, Mar 21

Opening: Find the File

with Bernadette La Hengst pres. Liverbirds revisited, Tellavision & Derya Yıldırım, Olith Ratego & Chor der Kulturen der Welt, Aérea Negrot, DJ Raph

Tellavision & Derya Yıldırım | © Promo

Tellavision & Derya Yıldırım | © Promo

8 pm Opening | Concerts, Auditorium
Aérea Negrot
Tellavision & Derya Yıldırım
Bernadette La Hengst pres. Liverbirds revisited
Olith Ratego & Chor der Kulturen der Welt
10 pm DJ Raph | Live set, Hirschfeld Bar

Opening

with Aérea Negrot, Tellavision & Derya Yıldırım, Bernadette La Hengst presents Liverbirds revisited, Olith Ratego & Chor der Kulturen der Welt

Open: File. On the opening night, Berlin musicians plunge into digital collections, band archives, documented and passed down in four contributions:

For Aérea Negrot, memory is not only the starting point but also the destination. With her expressive voice she conceptualizes and reinterprets downloads from the Free Music Archive. Negrot is used to building bridges; from the Berghain to the Sydney Opera House, the producer, singer, DJ and trained ballet dancer fascinates audiences with her amalgam of technoid grooves, classical vocals and abstract pop.

With Tellavision & Derya Yıldırım, flying synths and haptic drums meet the Turkish bağlama lute. The two musicians have rummaged through sound art on the web and the more than 5,000 digitized works of Turkish art and folk music in the online archive trtnotaarsivi.com. Using loops, samples, musical and lyrical quotes, they translate the material into new pieces between avant-garde post-pop and psychedelic jazz-folk.

The agitator chanteuse Bernadette La Hengst presents the living archive of her female role models, the legendary Liverbirds, the first girl band to play their own instruments. They traveled from Liverpool to Hamburg in 1963 to rock the Star Club. La Hengst has been friends with the band since the 1990s, is currently working on a film documentary with them and has brought band members Mary Dostal on bass and Sylvia Saunders on drums back together for a concert at HKW.

Under the direction of Barbara Morgenstern, the Chor der Kulturen der Welt and singer Olith Ratego revive the era of the Benga pioneers. The style evolved in the years before Kenya’s independence from the influence of Afro-Cuban rumba, Congolese finger-style guitar, South African kwela and the songs of the Luo from the southern Nile region. They use documentary material from the Nairobi organization Ketebel Music – one of the country’s few initiatives to research regionally specific music cultures.

DJ Raph

From the archive to the club: Many testimonies of pan-African oral history are stored in the German provinces – in an extensive collection of ethnographic Fieldrecordings at the Iwalewahaus. As part of the Mashup the Archive project, producer DJ Raph traveled from Nairobi to Bayreuth to listen his way through the multi-faceted archival footage and reactivate the preserved material. The result is his celebrated 2018 debut Sacred Groves. With a keen sense for the original material, he puts the songs and rhythms of pre-colonial times at the center of the tracks with long samples carried by subtle soundscapes, intertwined with feverish beats and supported by heavily grooving basses.

Vom 11. bis 16.6. bleibt das HKW geschlossen. Tickets für die Wassermusik sind online erhältlich. Mehr…

Do, 21. März 2019

Opening: Find the File

mit Bernadette La Hengst pres. Liverbirds revisited, Tellavision & Derya Yıldırım, Olith Ratego & Chor der Kulturen der Welt, Aérea Negrot, DJ Raph

Tellavision & Derya Yıldırım | © Promo

Tellavision & Derya Yıldırım | © Promo

20h Opening | Konzerte, Auditorium
Aérea Negrot
Tellavision & Derya Yıldırım
Bernadette La Hengst pres. Liverbirds revisited
Olith Ratego & Chor der Kulturen der Welt
22h DJ Raph | Live-Set, Hirschfeld Bar

Opening

mit Bernadette La Hengst, Tellavision & Derya Yıldırım, Olith Ratego & Chor der Kulturen der Welt, Aérea Negrot

Open: File. Am Eröffnungsabend stürzen sich Berliner Musiker*innen in vier Beiträgen auf digitale Sammlungen, Bandarchive, Dokumentiertes und Tradiertes:

Für Aérea Negrot ist die Erinnerung nicht nur Startpunkt, sondern auch Ziel. Downloads aus dem Free Music Archive konzeptualisiert und interpretiert sie mit ihrer ausdrucksstarken Stimme neu. Das Brückenschlagen ist Negrot gewohnt, vom Berghain bis zum Opernhaus Sidney fasziniert die Produzentin, Sängerin, DJ und ausgebildete Balletttänzerin mit ihrem Amalgam aus technoiden Grooves, klassischem Gesang und abstraktem Pop.

Bei Tellavision & Derya Yıldırım treffen fliegende Synths und haptische Drums auf die türkische Bağlama-Laute. Die beiden Musikerinnen haben sich durch Sound Art-Bestände im Netz und die im Online-Archiv trtnotaarsivi.com über 5.000 digitalisierten Werke türkischer Kunst- und Volksmusik gewühlt. Per Loops, Samples, musikalischen und textlichen Zitaten übersetzen sie das Material in neue Stücke zwischen Avantgarde-Post-Pop und psychedelischem Jazz-Folk.

Die Agitations-Chanteuse Bernadette La Hengst präsentiert das lebende Archiv ihrer weiblichen Role Models: Die legendären Liverbirds, die erste Girlband, die ihre Instrumente selber spielte und 1963 von Liverpool nach Hamburg zog, um dort den Star Club zu rocken. La Hengst ist seit den 1990ern mit der Band befreundet, arbeitet derzeit mit ihnen an einer Film-Doku und bringt die Bandmitglieder Mary Dostal am Bass und Sylvia Saunders am Schlagzeug zu einem Konzert im HKW wieder zusammen.

Der Chor der Kulturen der Welt unter Leitung von Barbara Morgenstern lässt mit dem Sänger Olith Ratego die Ära der Benga-Pionier*innen aufleben: Der Stil entwickelte sich in den Jahren vor Kenias Unabhängigkeit aus Einflüssen von afrokubanischem Rumba, kongolesischer Fingerstyle-Gitarre, südafrikanischem Kwela und den Liedern der Luo aus der südlichen Nilregion. Dazu nutzen sie Dokumentationsmaterial der Organisation Ketebel Music aus Nairobi – eine der wenigen Initiativen des Landes zur Erforschung regional spezifischer Musikkulturen.

DJ Raph

Vom Archiv in den Club: Viele Zeugnisse pan-afrikanischer oraler Geschichte lagern in der deutschen Provinz – in einer umfangreichen Sammlung ethnographischer Fieldredordings des Iwalewahauses. Im Rahmen des Projekts Mashup the Archive reiste der Produzent DJ Raph von Nairobi nach Bayreuth, um sich quer durch die facettenreichen Archiv-Aufnahmen zu hören und das konservierte Material zu reaktivieren. Das Ergebnis ist sein 2018 erschienenes, gefeiertes Debüt Sacred Groves: Mit feinem Gespür für das Originalmaterial stellt er die Gesänge und Rhythmen aus präkolonialer Zeit mit langen Sampels ins Zentrum der Tracks – getragen von subtilen Klangflächen, verflochten mit fiebrigen Beats und unterstützt von schwer groovenden Bässen.