2019, Sat, Jan 12

Countering Virtual Dispossession

Kader Attia | Countering Virtual Dispossession, 2018 | © Kader Attia

Kader Attia | Countering Virtual Dispossession, 2018 | © Kader Attia

Virtual worlds have always existed: shamans and spiritual healers all over the world say that the spirits were familiar with virtual realities long before they became part of everyday life for humanity through digital media. Is that network still accessible in a world determined by digital capitalism? The subject has become the object of a virtual capitalist order of things and thoughts that accelerates itself. In an endless loop, capitalism and science, complementing one another, espouse each individual’s desire for possessions. How can a counter-narrative be created that is based on cohesion? An evening on the relationship between mythologies, language, and code and the ways colonially coded systems can be hacked or repaired.

Curated and moderated by Kader Attia

Program

from 8 pm
Genealogies of the Virtual: From Desert Ghouls to Online Trolls
Tarek El-Ariss (cultural studies scholar)
Lecture

At the heart of current technological transformations lie myth, iconography, and new modes of writing. Cyberspace has opened a portal into rare and ancient texts and searchable medieval lexicons (digital humanities); but it has also unleashed mythical creatures from pre-Islamic Arabia to battle against or alongside online trolls. In all these cases, modes of interpellation and acts of reading and viewing have generated unparalleled anxieties and fears of losing oneself in the text or the screen, and of losing one’s life or freedom. In this light, this talk examines the virtual as a space of information proliferation and of portals that collapse both modern episteme and space/time binaries, forcing new configurations of the past and the future on the one hand, and of the real and the fictional on the other. Tarek El-Ariss considers mythical creatures such as demons and ghouls, exploring them as processes of perverse fascination that characterize contemporary viewing and reading practices online, and as new functions of writing.

Reality Hacking
Yucef Merhi (artist and poet)
Lecture

Yucef Merhi contextualizes hacking as an instrument of cultural production and philosophical quest. Who is a hacker? Where does the word come from? How can hacking be employed as a dialectical tool to defeat the establishment? Is hacking just about computers or can reality be hacked as well? Is language a technological device that can be reprogrammed to increase awareness? The presentation explores various examples of personal works, demonstrating the impact of tactical media in the development of a path that could eventually lead to the rise of consciousness, as well as political justice.

Artificial Intelligence—Anatomy of a Radical Anti-Humanism
Éric Sadin (writer)
Lecture

It is the obsession of our time. Companies, politicians, and scientists swear by it because it promises unlimited economic perspectives and the emergence of a safe, optimized world. We are talking about Artificial Intelligence. It is able to assess reality more reliably than we can, and is therefore predestined to take charge of all human affairs. Ultimately, however, it undermines the legal principles on which our society is based, namely the free exercise of our right to judge and act. Each truth-declaration produced by AI is characterized by an “automated, invisible hand”, which analyzes every little phenomenon of reality in order to readjust it for utilitarian purposes. This is an analysis of Artificial Intelligence, its anatomy, its history, its characteristics, applications, and interests—and a call to a lifestyle that enables the most diverse expectations and goals.

The Afterlife of Colonization #3: Between the Virtual and the Real
Zora Snake (performer, choreographer, and artist)
performance

Zora Snake is a dancer, choreographer, and performer from Cameroon. Trained in hip-hop and traditional dances, he has developed an aesthetic that explores and shifts the limits of these forms, most often taking the street onto the stage. His performances aim at reconciling a body with its dispossessed memory. To the rhythm of Cameroonian heritage dances (Souban, Pallum, Nah major, Pa’mendzong, Medjouong) and hip-hop beats, Snake deconstructs his relationships to works of art, as a means to discover them anew. This is not about recreating a lost ritual. It is an attempt to temporarily suspend history, to better understand its stakes and legacies, and the costs that are still to pay.

Blackening Wikipedia
Ivonne González (singer, musician, and performer) with the Black Guiris Collective of Rogelio Lorda (dancer), Jorge Moré Calderon (dancer), Ibrahim Boureima (musician), Nicolás Spinosa (video performer)
Musical and dance performance

Black, black, black! This is the motto of the work in progress created by Ivonne González, a performer and activist against racism and for the rights of migrants. The participatory performance evolves in relation to space, dance, bodies and painting in real time. Music, video, and poetry are combined to create a piece impregnated with the color of ebony. For Ivonne González, blackening the virtual discourse is a necessity, a political and artistic act, that must be expressed without spatial limits, where blackness in all its nuances and forms has been postponed for so long.

Kader Attia: The Medium is the message
Filmscreenings in the Auditorium: 8 pm, 9 pm, 10 pm, 11 pm

from 11.30 pm
Maryisonacid (DJ, African Acid Is The Future)
Maryisonacid is a DJ, promoter, and curator for radio stations such as Worldwide FM and Berlin Community Radio. In 2014 she started her DJ nights in a post-punk bar in Berlin Neukölln, often playing alone from 10 p.m. to 10 a.m. for a very mixed underground crowd, eager for the variety of sounds she presented. In 2015 the party moved to Loftus Hall and has since grown into a well-respected music platform. Her love for music reaches well beyond the club scene, breaking the rules of traditional dance music sets: “From Afro to Techno and everything in between.”

Sa, 12. Januar 2019

Countering Virtual Dispossession

Kader Attia | Countering Virtual Dispossession, 2018 | © Kader Attia

Kader Attia | Countering Virtual Dispossession, 2018 | © Kader Attia

Virtuelle Welten gab es schon immer: Auf der ganzen Welt sagen Schaman*innen und spirituelle Heiler*innen, dass die Geister virtuelle Realitäten kannten, lang bevor sie für die Menschheit durch digitale Medien zum Alltag wurden. Gibt es in einer Welt, die durch den digitalen Kapitalismus bestimmt ist, noch einen Zugang zu jenem Netzwerk? Das Subjekt ist zum Objekt einer virtuellen kapitalistischen Ordnung der Dinge und Gedanken geworden, die sich selbst beschleunigt. In einer Endlosschleife machen sich Kapitalismus und Wissenschaft, einander ergänzend, das Verlangen jedes Einzelnen nach Besitz zu eigen. Wie lässt sich eine Gegenerzählung schaffen, die auf Zusammenhalt setzt? Ein Abend über das Verhältnis von Ethnopsychoanalyse, Sprache und Code und über die Möglichkeiten, kolonial codierte Systeme zu reparieren.

Kuratiert und moderiert von Kader Attia

Programm

ab 20h
Genealogien des Virtuellen: Von Wüstenghulen zu Internet-Trollen
Tarek El-Ariss (Kulturwissenschaftler)
Vortrag

Im Mittelpunkt des gegenwärtigen technologischen Wandels stehen Mythen, Ikonografie und neue Schreibweisen. Der Cyberspace hat nicht nur ein Portal zu seltenen historischen Texten und durchsuchbaren mittelalterlichen Nachschlagewerken (digitale Geisteswissenschaften) geöffnet, sondern auch Fabelwesen des vorislamischen Arabien entfesselt, die gegen Internet-Trolle oder auch an deren Seite kämpfen. In all diesen Fällen haben verschiedene Formen der Anrufung und Akte des Lesens und Betrachtens ungekannte Ängste und Befürchtungen geschürt, sich im Text oder Bildschirm zu verlieren und Leben oder Freiheit einzubüßen. Vor diesem Hintergrund untersucht der Vortrag das Virtuelle als einen Raum der Informationsverbreitung und der Portale, die moderne Weltbilder ebenso kollabieren lassen wie raumzeitliche Binärsysteme. Zudem forcieren sie neue Konfigurationen von Vergangenheit und Zukunft, aber auch des Realen und Fiktionalen. Tarek El-Ariss betrachtet Fabelwesen wie Dämonen und Ghule und untersucht sie als Prozesse einer perversen Faszination, die charakteristisch ist für zeitgenössische Seh- und Lesepraktiken im Internet.

Reality Hacking
Yucef Merhi (Künstler und Dichter)
Vortrag

Der Vortrag kontextualisiert Hacking als Mittel der kulturellen Produktion und philosophischen Suche. Wer ist ein Hacker/eine Hackerin? Woher stammt der Begriff Hacker*in? Wie lässt sich Hacking als dialektisches Werkzeug gegen das Establishment einsetzen? Geht es beim Hacking nur um Computer oder kann auch die Wirklichkeit gehackt werden? Ist Sprache ein technisches Mittel, das sich neu programmieren lässt, um stärker zu sensibilisieren? Die Präsentation bezieht eigene Werke ein und veranschaulicht den Einfluss taktischer Medien auf eine Entwicklung, die letztlich zu einem wachsenden Bewusstsein und mehr politischer Gerechtigkeit führen kann.

Künstliche Intelligenz – Anatomie eines radikalen Anti-Humanismus
Éric Sadin (Autor)
Lesung

Künstliche Intelligenz ist die Obsession unserer Zeit. Unternehmen, Politiker, Wissenschaftlerinnen schwören auf sie, denn sie verspricht unbegrenzte wirtschaftliche Perspektiven und die Entstehung einer sicheren, optimierten Welt. Die KI ist in der Lage, die Realität zuverlässiger einzuschätzen, als wir es können, und ist damit prädestiniert, die menschlichen Angelegenheiten zu regeln. Damit werden aber die rechtspolitischen Grundsätze ausgehebelt, auf denen unsere Gesellschaft beruht, nämlich die freie Ausübung unseres Rechts zu urteilen und zu handeln. Jede Wahrheits-Erklärung der KI zielt auf eine „automatisierte, unsichtbare Hand“, von der jedes noch so kleine Phänomen der Realität analysiert wird, um für utilitaristische Zwecke neu justiert zu werden. Eine Analyse der Künstlichen Intelligenz, ihrer Anatomie, ihrer Geschichte, ihrer Eigenschaften, Anwendungsbereiche und Interessen – und ein Aufruf zu einem Lebensstil, der die unterschiedlichsten Erwartungen und Ziele ermöglicht.

Die Nachwirkungen der Kolonisation #3: Zwischen Virtualität und Realität
Zora Snake (Artist, Performer und Choreographer)
Performance

Zora Snake bringt die Straße auf die Bühne. In seinen Performances kreuzt der Tänzer und Choreograf aus Kamerun die Körpersprachen des Hip-Hop und traditioneller afrikanischer Tänze zu einer Ästhetik, die die Grenzen der beiden Ausdrucksformen auslotet. Den Körper mit seiner ihm eingeschriebenen, aber längst enteigneten Erinnerung zu versöhnen, ist das erklärte Ziel: Mit den Rhythmen überkommener kamerunischer Tänze (Souban, Pallum, Nah major, Pa’mendzong, Medjouong) einerseits und des Hip-Hop andererseits dekonstruiert Zora Snake seine Beziehung zu Werken der Kunst, um sie gleichzeitig neu zu erfinden. Es geht nicht darum, ein verlorenes Ritual wiederzubeleben. Es geht um den Versuch, die Geschichte vorübergehend außer Kraft zu setzen, um ihre Hinterlassenschaften besser verstehen zu können.

Blackening Wikipedia
Ivonne González (Sängerin, Musikerin und Performerin) mit dem Black Guiris Collective: Rogelio Lorda (Tänzer), Jorge Moré Calderon (Tänzer), Ibrahim Boureima (Musiker), Nicolás Spinosa (Video-Performer)
Musik- und Tanzperformance

Black, black, black! So lautet das Motto des Work-in-progress von Ivonne González, die sich gegen Rassismus und für die Rechte von Migrant*innen einsetzt. Die partizipatorische Performance entsteht im Laufe der Aufführung mit Bezug zu Raum, Tanz, Körpern und Malerei. Musik, Video und Poesie verschmelzen zu einem Werk, das seine Kraft aus der Farbe des Ebenholzes zieht. Den virtuellen Diskurs schwarz einzufärben, ist für Ivonne González ein traumartiger, politischer und künstlerischer Akt, der frei von räumlichen Grenzen dort zum Ausdruck kommen muss, wo das Schwarze in all seinen Schattierungen und Formen zu lange zurückgestellt wurde.

Kader Attia: The Medium is the message
Filmscreenings im Auditorium: 20h, 21h, 22h, 23h

ab 23.30h
Maryisonacid (Dj, African Acid Is The Future)
Maryisonacid ist DJ, Promoterin, kuratiert Radioprogramme wie Worldwide FM und Berlin Community Radio. Ihre eigenen DJ-Abende startete sie 2014 in einer Post-Punk-Bar in Berlin Neukölln, wo sie oft von 10 Uhr abends bis 10 Uhr morgens allein vor einem extrem gemischten Underground-Publikum auftrat. 2015 zog die Party in die Loftus Hall und hat sich seitdem zu einer angesehenen Musikplattform entwickelt. Ihre Liebe zur Musik geht weit über die Clubszene hinaus und bricht die Regeln traditioneller Dance Music Sets: „Von Afro bis Techno und alles dazwischen.“