2018, Thu, Nov 29

Mappings as Joint Spatial Display

Deane Simpson: The Young Old: Urban Utopias of an Aging Society. | Zürich: Lars Müller Publishers (2015), Book and Map Design, Map Editing: Studio Joost Grootens

Deane Simpson: The Young Old: Urban Utopias of an Aging Society. | Zürich: Lars Müller Publishers (2015), Book and Map Design, Map Editing: Studio Joost Grootens

How can mapping help us understanding current spatial production? How can geography and the social sciences do graphic research? At the interface of sociology, architecture, urban design, and geography, the conference will discuss methods of mapping as tools for the visual articulation of heterogeneous data. In a workshop with Joost Grootens, Dagmar Pelger, and Philippe Rekacewicz, the spatial interconnections of HKW will be examined at different scales—from the local all the way to the global level.

9 am–5 pm
Workshop

7 pm
Introduction of the series “Refiguring Spaces” at HKW
With Bernd Scherer, Martina Löw, Stefanie Bürkle

7.30 pm
Keynote: “More Matter with Less Art”
By Joost Grootens (graphic designer, Studio Joost Grootens, Amsterdam)

In this digital age of a super-abundance of information, there is a need of formats that can clearly present enormous quantities of data and subsequently make it manageable. Atlases and maps are good examples of such formats. The work of Studio Joost Grootens explores their meaning and application today. The keynote speech by Grootens will address the editorial and design processes in cartographic production as well as research on new map making practices.

Detailed program of the conference: www.cud.tu-berlin.de

The event is the prelude to the series Refiguring Spaces at HKW. Workshops and lectures on Nov 29 take place at HKW, the conference program on Nov 30 takes place at Technische Universität (Sonderforschungsbereich 1265, BH - N Building, 2nd Floor, Room 230 Ernst-Reuter-Platz 1, 10587 Berlin).

Refiguring Spaces is a series at Haus der Kulturen der Welt by the Collaborative Research Centre on the Re-Figuration of Spaces at the TU Berlin.

Do, 29. November 2018

Mappings as Joint Spatial Display

Deane Simpson: The Young Old: Urban Utopias of an Aging Society. | Zürich: Lars Müller Publishers (2015), Book and Map Design, Map Editing: Studio Joost Grootens

Deane Simpson: The Young Old: Urban Utopias of an Aging Society. | Zürich: Lars Müller Publishers (2015), Book and Map Design, Map Editing: Studio Joost Grootens

Was können Mapping und Kartierung zum Verständnis aktueller Raumproduktion beitragen? Wie können die Raum- und Sozialwissenschaften zeichnerisch forschen? An der Schnittstelle zwischen Soziologie, Architektur, Urban Design und Geografie diskutiert die Konferenz Methoden des Mappings als Werkzeug für die visuelle Artikulation heterogener Daten. In einem Workshop mit Joost Grootens, Dagmar Pelger und Philippe Rekacewicz wird die räumliche Vernetzung des HKW in unterschiedlichen Maßstäben untersucht – von der lokalen bis hin zur globalen Ebene.

9–17h
Workshop

19h
Einführung zur Serie „Refiguring Spaces“ am HKW
Mit Bernd Scherer, Martina Löw, Stefanie Bürkle

19.30h
Keynote: „More Matter with Less Art“
Von Joost Grootens (Grafik-Designer, Studio Joost Grootens, Amsterdam)

Im digitalen Zeitalter des Informationsüberflusses braucht es Formate, die große Mengen an Daten auf klare Weise kommunizieren und so überschaubar darstellen. Atlanten und Landkarten sind Beispiele für solche Formate. Studio Joost Grootens untersucht ihre gegenwärtige Bedeutung und Anwendung. In seiner Keynote stellt Grootens den redaktionellen und gestalterischen Prozess der kartografischen Produktion vor sowie Forschungen zu neuen Praktiken des Entwickelns von Landkarten.

Ausführliches Programm der gesamten Konferenz: www.cud.tu-berlin.de

Die Veranstaltung ist Auftakt der Reihe Refiguring Spaces am HKW. Workshops und Vorträge am 29.11. finden im HKW statt, am 30.11., wird die Konferenz an der Technischen Universität (Sonderforschungsbereich 1265, BH - N Building, 2. Stock, Raum 230, Ernst-Reuter-Platz 1, 10587 Berlin) weitergeführt.

Refiguring Spaces ist eine Veranstaltungsreihe des Sonderforschungsbereichs Re-Figuration von Räumen der TU Berlin im Haus der Kulturen der Welt.