2018, Sun, Oct 21

Copyleft or Copywrong? Part 2

Lionel Bentley, Jace Clayton, Tonya Evans, Geraldine Juárez, Eberhard Ortland, Marisella Ouma

4pm: Challenged by Sampling. Concepts and Ethics of Quotation
Lionel Bentley (legal scholar, University of Cambridge, co-director of CIPIL), Tonya Evans (legal scholar, University of New Hampshire; performance poet), Eberhard Ortland (philosopher, University of Münster)
moderated by Heiko Hoffmann (music expert, Beatport)

For more than twenty years, Kraftwerk and hip-hop producer Moses Pelham have been fighting over a sample – the case is now before the European Court of Justice. Pelham’s unlicensed use of two bars from Kraftwerk’s “Metall auf Metall” (1977) in Sabrina Setlur’s song “Nur Mir” (1997) has become a precedent for the question of the permissibility of sampling. The scope of ancillary copyrights and their relationship to the copyright citation barrier as well as to artistic freedom in general and demands for a “right to remix” are up for debate. Should even the smallest fragments of sound belong to the rights holders of the recordings used? How much say should authors have to protect themselves from abuse and exploitation of reputation? Invented by hip-hop, quoting and borrowing sounds is one of the most common practices in pop music today. How do legal judgments affect the quality and innovative power of music?

5.30pm: Music travels: Copy Cultures in the Global Mediascape
Jace Clayton (author, artist, DJ), Marisella Ouma (Intellectual Property lawyer; Office of the Attorney General and Department of Justice Kenya), Geraldine Juárez (visual artist)
moderated by Heiko Hoffmann (music expert, Beatport)

From mixtapes and CDs to mp3s, torrents and flash drives, from the cassette tape recorder to mobile phones, from copying to streaming: Music circulates in various formats, it’s unstoppable. With the global expansion of intellectual property rights, the ways in which they have been bypassed and circumvented have also multiplied – copyright and piracy are inseparable partners. Informal markets and local DIY-structures create their own copying ethics, new production and distribution models are developed on the global peripheries. Depending on one’s point of view in postcolonial modernity, copying technologies can mean promise, desire or threat. What musical innovations, what new media geographies arise this way? What regulates access to the arts today: legal frameworks, the trade in pirated copies or just cheap Internet?

Mi 26.06.-Mo 01.07.: Sperrungen und Verkehrseinschränkungen rund ums HKW. Mehr…

So, 21. Oktober 2018

Copyleft or Copywrong? Part 2

Lionel Bentley, Jace Clayton, Tonya Evans, Geraldine Juárez, Eberhard Ortland, Marisella Ouma

16h: Challenged by Sampling. Concepts and Ethics of Quotation
Lionel Bentley (Jurist, University of Cambridge, Ko-Direktor von CIPIL), Tonya Evans (Juristin, University of New Hampshire; Performance-Dichterin), Eberhard Ortland (Philosoph, Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster)
moderiert von Heiko Hoffmann (Musikexperte, Beatport)

Seit über 20 Jahren streiten sich Kraftwerk und Hiphop-Produzent Moses Pelham über ein Sample – mittlerweile vor dem Europäischen Gerichtshof. Pelhams unlizensierte Verwendung von zwei Takten aus Kraftwerks Metall auf Metall (1977) in Sabrina Setlurs Stück Nur Mir (1997) ist zum Präzedenzfall für die Frage der Zulässigkeit von Sampling geworden. Zur Debatte stehen die Reichweite von Leistungsschutzrechten und ihr Verhältnis zur urheberrechtlichen Zitatschranke sowie zur Kunstfreiheit im Allgemeinen und Forderungen nach einem „Recht auf Remix“. Sollten auch kleinste Tonfetzen den Rechteinhabern verwendeter Aufnahmen gehören? Wieviel Mitsprache sollten Urheber*innen haben, um sich gegen Missbrauch und Rufausbeutung zu schützen? Erfunden im Hip-Hop, ist das Zitieren und Entleihen von Sounds heute eine der gängigsten Praxen im Pop. Wie beeinträchtigen Rechtsurteile die Qualität und Innovationskraft von Musik?

17.30h: Music Travels: Copy Cultures in the Global Mediascape
Jace Clayton (Autor, Künstler, DJ), Marisella Ouma (Anwältin für geistiges Eigentumsrecht; Generalstaatsanwaltschaft und Justizministerium Kenia), Geraldine Juárez (Künstlerin)
moderiert von Heiko Hoffmann (Musikexperte, Beatport)

Von Mixtapes und CDs zu mp3s, torrents und USB-Sticks, vom Kassettenrekorder zum Mobiltelefon, vom Kopieren zum Streamen: Musik zirkuliert in verschiedenen Formaten, aufhalten lässt sie sich nicht. Mit globaler Ausweitung von geistigen Eigentumsrechten haben sich auch die Methoden, diese zu umgehen und zu unterlaufen, vervielfacht – Copyright und Piraterie sind untrennbare Partner. Auf informellen Märkten und in lokalen DIY-Strukturen bilden sich eigene Kopierethiken aus, neue Produktions- und Distributionsmodelle werden an den globalen Peripherien entwickelt. Je nach Standpunkt in der postkolonialen Moderne bedeuten Kopiertechnologien Verheißung, Aufbegehren oder Bedrohung. Welche musikalischen Innovationen, welche neuen Mediengeografien entstehen dabei? Was regelt heute den Zugang zu Kultur – Rechtsrahmen, der Handel mit Raubkopien oder schlicht günstiges Internet?