Oct 22-26, 2018 | 10 am–3 pm

The Urban Playground – Mapping for Insiders

Judith Cleve (Photo) | © Invisible Playgrounds

Judith Cleve (Photo) | © Invisible Playgrounds

The city as a space for play – for the Situationist International this was a concept that countered commercialism, boredom and passivity . Today, the idea of the playground can be imagined together with the recurring tendency of people wanting to shape the city themselves rather than merely using the public space as a transit zone of place for consumerism.

In most cases, however, these alternative forms of space appropriation apply to adults. Children who are too old for the playground and young people who have no safe havens need opportunities to appropriate urban spaces to shape their living environment. The workshop supports the participants on several excursions in playfully discovering their city, in deliberately designing places according to their wishes and in capturing and locating their experiences in very special maps.

Jennifer Aksu studied theater studies, journalism and communication science in Berlin, then urban culture, society and space in Essen. She founded the Invisible Playground artist network and is part of the Playful Commons innovation platform for the future of public spaces. As an expert on cities with relationship problems, she explores and designs experiences, experiments and dialogues that change perspectives and develop potential. Jennifer lives with her family on an island in the middle of Berlin and works as an artistic urbanist around the world.

22.-26.10.2018 | 10-15h

Spielraum Stadt – Kartieren für Eingeweihte

Judith Cleve (Foto) | © Invisible Playgrounds

Judith Cleve (Foto) | © Invisible Playgrounds

Die Stadt als Spielraum – für die Situationistische Internationale war das ein Gegenkonzept zu Kommerz, Langeweile und Passivität. Heute lässt sich die Idee des Spielraums zusammendenken mit der wieder aufkommenden Tendenz, die Stadt selber gestalten zu wollen und den öffentlichen Raum nicht nur als Transit-Zone oder Ort des Konsums zu nutzen.

In den meisten Fällen bieten sich alternative Formen der Raumaneignung jedoch nur Erwachsenen. Besonders Kinder, die zu alt für den Spielplatz sind, und Jugendliche, die keine Rückzugsorte haben, brauchen Gelegenheiten sich städtische Räume anzueignen, um ihre Lebensumgebung zu gestalten. Der Workshop unterstützt die Teilnehmer*innen auf mehreren Exkursionen im spielerischen Entdecken ihrer Stadt, der bewussten Gestaltung von Orten nach ihren Wünschen und beim Festhalten und Verorten des Erlebten in ganz besonderen Karten.

Jennifer Aksu studierte Theaterwissenschaft, Publizistik und Kommunikationswissenschaft in Berlin, später Urbane Kultur, Gesellschaft und Raum in Essen. Sie begründete das Künstler-Netzwerk Invisible Playground und ist Teil der Innovationsplattform Playful Commons für die Zukunft öffentlicher Räume. Als Expertin für Städte mit Beziehungsproblemen arbeitet, erforscht und gestaltet sie Erfahrungen, Experimente und Dialoge, die Perspektiven verändern und Potenziale entfalten. Jennifer lebt mit ihrer Familie auf einer Insel mitten in Berlin und arbeitet als künstlerische Urbanistin rund um die Welt.