2018, Thu, Oct 042018, Sat, Oct 06

Concerning Matters and Truths

Postmodernism's Shift and the Left-Right-Divide

Nikolaus Gansterer, Blackboards, 2004–2011. | Courtesy the Artist

Nikolaus Gansterer, Blackboards, 2004–2011. | Courtesy the Artist

Today, changed political providences are a challenge to postcolonial and poststructuralist theory. Much of what had long been the target of emancipatory, left-wing critique is now also being co-opted by nationalist-authoritarian movements; thus not only the political left, but also right-wing populists criticize neoliberalism, capitalism, and globalization and employ key concepts of French Theory, like deconstruction and simulation, to consolidate their power.

Against this background, cultural scholars ask how they can defend the achievements of poststructuralism and its questioning of hegemonic truths. Participants include Chantal Mouffe, Eyal Weizman, Omer Fast, and Helmuth Lethen.

An event held by the Graduiertenkolleg Das Reale in der Kultur der Moderne at the University of Konstanz under the direction of Albrecht Koschorke in cooperation with Karin Harrasser (University of Art and Design Linz)

Registration and detailed program at: www.uni-konstanz.de/reales/CMaT.html

Do, 04. Oktober 2018Sa, 06. Oktober 2018

Concerning Matters and Truths

Postmodernism's Shift and the Left-Right-Divide

Nikolaus Gansterer, Blackboards, 2004–2011. | Courtesy the Artist

Nikolaus Gansterer, Blackboards, 2004–2011. | Courtesy the Artist

Heute fordern veränderte politische Vorzeichen postkoloniale und poststrukturalistische Theorien heraus. Vieles, was lange zur linksemanzipatorischen Kritik gehörte, wird heute auch von nationalistisch-autoritären Bewegungen vereinnahmt: So kritisieren nicht länger nur politische Linke, sondern auch Rechtspopulist*innen Neoliberalismus, Kapitalismus und Globalisierung und nutzen Leitkonzepte der French Theory, darunter Dekonstruktion und Simulation, um ihre Macht zu festigen.

Vor diesem Hintergrund fragen Kulturwissenschaftler*innen, wie sie die Errungenschaften des Poststrukturalismus mit seiner Infragestellung hegemonialer Wahrheiten verteidigen können. Mit Beiträgen von Chantal Mouffe, Eyal Weizman, Omer Fast, Helmuth Lethen u.v.m.

Eine Veranstaltung des Graduiertenkollegs Das Reale in der Kultur der Moderne der Universität Konstanz unter der Leitung von Albrecht Koschorke in Kooperation mit Karin Harrasser (Kunstuniversität Linz)

Anmeldung und ausführliches Programm unter: www.uni-konstanz.de/reales/CMaT.html