Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

2018, Mon, Jul 09

Salon für Ästhetische Experimente

#14 What Art can do when the Powers that Be Block Change

© Jan Verwoert

© Jan Verwoert

Shift to the right, national isolationism, male-driven economy: The old vices are re-conquering the world. What is becoming visible here: a last gasp in the face of impending change or a crushing weight swathing the present-day? What historical horizon of social action can art open up when governments in many places are making us feel that nothing is possible anymore?

A roundtable with scholarship holders from the UdK Graduate School, including Marco Donnarumma, Kerstin Ergenzinger, Lisa Glauer, Bnaya Halperin-Kaddari, Darsha Hewitt, Zeynep Tuna & Nino Klingler, Kiran Kumar and Clarissa Thieme, moderated by Jan Verwoert

Detailed program at udk-berlin.de

Salon für Ästhetische Experimente is a collaborative project with the Graduate School at the Berlin Center of Advanced Studies in Arts and Sciences at Berlin University of the Arts. The Graduiertenschule is supported by the Einstein Stiftung Berlin.

Do 14.06. – Di 17.07. Verkehrseinschränkungen rund um das HKW. Mehr

Mo, 09. Juli 2018

Salon für Ästhetische Experimente

#14 What Art can do when the Powers that Be Block Change

© Jan Verwoert

© Jan Verwoert

Rechtsruck, Abschottungspolitik, Männerwirtschaft: Die alten Übel erobern die Welt zurück. Was wird hier sichtbar, ein letztes Aufbäumen angesichts eines bevorstehenden Wandels oder ein erdrückendes Gewicht, das sich über die Gegenwart legt? Welchen historischen Horizont gesellschaftlichen Handelns kann Kunst eröffnen, wenn Regierungen vielerorts die Stimmung verbreiten, dass nichts mehr möglich ist?

Ein Roundtable mit den Stipendiat*innen der Graduiertenschule der UdK, darunter Marco Donnarumma, Kerstin Ergenzinger, Lisa Glauer, Bnaya Halperin-Kaddari, Darsha Hewitt, Zeynep Tuna & Nino Klingler, Kiran Kumar und Clarissa Thieme, moderiert von Jan Verwoert

Ausführliches Programm auf udk-berlin.de

Der Salon für Ästhetische Experimente ist eine Kooperation zwischen dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt und der Graduiertenschule im Berlin Center of Advanced Studies in Arts and Sciences der Universität der Künste Berlin. Die Graduiertenschule wird unterstützt durch die Einstein Stiftung Berlin.