Exhibition, book launch, bar on the roof terrace and short guided tour (10 pm)

Neolithic Night + Book Launch

Fri, Jun 29, 2018
7 pm — midnight
Exhibition: 9€/6€ incl. short guided tour. The ticket is valid for two exhibition visits.
© Laura Fiorio | Jakob Hoff

Many Surrealists shared a special relationship with the night: The realm of dreams and premonitions offered them access to new ideas and viewpoints. Visitors to HKW are also invited to spend three nights experiencing the exhibition after dark. Master students of the Applied Cultural Studies and Cultural Semiotics at the University of Potsdam who have researched the exhibition will be on site from 7.30-11.30pm to answer questions or engage in discussions. HKW’s roof terrace will offer beverages and a space for conversations.

Starting at 9pm, curator Tom Holert will present the publication accompanying the exhibition Neolithic Childhood. Art in a False Present, c. 1930 in conversation with Irene Albers, Jenny Nachtigall, NLF Team, Kerstin Stakemeier, and Elena Vogman. The volume brings together essays by the curators and academics involved in the project, primary texts by Carl Einstein and a comprehensive documentation of the exhibition. A glossary discusses Carl Einstein’s own theoretical vocabulary as well as further associated terms.

Irene Albers and Elena Vogman will talk about their recent book publications Der diskrete Charme der Anthropologie—Michel Leiris’ ethnologische Poetik and Sinnliches Denken. Eisensteins exzentrische Methode.

Irene Albers is Professor for General and Comparative Literature and Romance Philology at the Freie Universität Berlin. The focus of her research is the relationship between literature and photography, the embodiment of the emotions in Romanic novels, and the relationship between literature and Ethnology among surrealist circles and the Collège des Sociologie, in particular Michel Leiris. Editor of among other works, the German translation of Collège de sociologie 1937–1939 (2012, with Stephan Moebius) and the volume Animismus—Revisionen der Moderne (Animism—Revisions of Modernity, 2012, with Anselm Franke), in July she will publish Der diskrete Charme der Anthropologie—Michel Leiris’ ethnologische Poetik about the ethnological gaze of Michel Leiris.

Jenny Nachtigall works at the Institute for Philosophy and Aesthetic Theory of the Academy of Fine Arts Munich. In 2016 she completed her PhD Beyond Modernism: Form as Contradiction in Berlin Dada at University College London. She currently works on the afterlives of vitalism in modern and contemporary art and theory. Recent publications include Realism after Fetishism (2018, with Veronika Thanner et al.) and Klassensprachen—Written Praxis (2017, with Manuela Ammer et al.). Among other journals, she writes for Texte zur Kunst and Artforum.

NLF has been conceiving and designing visual communication, with a focus on print and exhibition design, since 2014. The team is based in Hamburg and Berlin and is comprised of Nils Reinke-Dieker, Larissa Starke and Friederike Wolf.

Kerstin Stakemeier
To the biography...

Elena Vogman is an author, independent curator, and Postdoctoral Fellow in the research project “Rhythm and Projection” at the Institute of General and Comparative Literature at the Freie Universität Berlin. Her first book Sinnliches Denken: Eisensteins exzentrische Methode, based on her dissertation, was published by Diaphanes in 2018. Her next book, Dance of Values: Eisenstein’s Capital Project, will be published in fall 2018. Together with Rebecchi and Till Gathmann, she curated the exhibitions Sergei Eisenstein: The Anthropology of Rhythm at NOMAS Foundation, Rome (2017) and Eccentric Values after Eisenstein at Espace Diaphanes in Berlin (2018).

Ausstellung, Book Launch, Bar auf der Dachterrasse und Kurzführung (22h)

Neolithische Nacht + Book Launch

Fr 29.6.2018
19h — Mitternacht
Ausstellung: 9€/6€ inkl. Kurzführung. Das Ticket berechtigt zu zwei Ausstellungsbesuchen.
Book Launch ab 21h frei
© Laura Fiorio | Jakob Hoff

Ein besonderes Verhältnis zur Nacht teilten viele Surrealist*innen: Das Reich der Träume und (Vor-)Ahnungen bot für sie Zugang zu neuen Ideen und Sichtweisen. So sind auch die Besucher*innen des HKW an drei Nächten eingeladen, die Ausstellung nach Einbruch der Dunkelheit zu erleben. Studierende des M.A. Angewandte Kulturwissenschaften und Kultursemiotik der Uni Potsdam, die sich intensiv mit der Ausstellung auseinandergesetzt haben, sind von 19.30-23.30h vor Ort, um Fragen zu beantworten oder ins Gespräch zu kommen. Die Dachterrasse des HKW lädt zu Getränken und Gedankenaustausch ein.

Ab 21 Uhr präsentiert Kurator Tom Holert im Gespräch mit Irene Albers, Jenny Nachtigall, NLF Team, Kerstin Stakemeier und Elena Vogman die Publikation zur Ausstellung Neolithische Kindheit. Kunst in einer falschen Gegenwart, ca. 1930. Der Band versammelt Essays der am Projekt beteiligten Kurator*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen, Primärtexte von Carl Einstein sowie eine umfassende Dokumentation der Ausstellung. Den Kern bildet ein Glossar, das Carl Einsteins eigenes theoretisches Vokabular und weitere damit verknüpfte Begriffe beleuchtet.

Irene Albers und Elena Vogman sprechen über ihre jüngsten Veröffentlichungen Der diskrete Charme der Anthropologie—Michel Leiris’ ethnologische Poetik bzw. Sinnliches Denken. Eisensteins exzentrische Methode.

Irene Albers ist Professorin für Allgemeine und Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft und für Romanische Philologie an der Freien Universität Berlin. Schwerpunkte ihrer Forschung sind Beziehungen zwischen Literatur und Fotografie, die Verkörperung von Emotionen in der romanischen Novellistik und das Verhältnis von Literatur und Ethnologie im Umfeld des Surrealismus und des Collège de sociologie, speziell bei Michel Leiris. Sie ist u. a. Herausgeberin der deutschen Übersetzung des Collège de sociologie 1937–1939 (2012, mit Stephan Moebius) und des Bandes Animismus – Revisionen der Moderne (2012, mit Anselm Franke). Im Juli erscheint Der diskrete Charme der Anthropologie – Michel Leiris’ ethnologische Poetik.

Jenny Nachtigall lehrt am Institut für Philosophie und Ästhetische Theorie der Akademie der Künste München. 2016 schloss sie ihr Studium mit der Dissertation Beyond Modernism. Form as Contradiction in Berlin Dada am University College London ab. Sie arbeitet derzeit zu den Nachleben des Vitalismus in moderner und zeitgenössischer Kunst und Theorie. Zuletzt erschienen: Realism after Fetishism (2018 hrsg. v. Veronika Thanner, Joseph Vogl, Dorothea Walzer) und Klassensprachen – Written Praxis (2017, mit Manuela Ammer et al.). Sie schreibt u. a. für Texte zur Kunst und Artforum.

NLF konzipiert und gestaltet seit 2014 visuelle Kommunikation mit Fokus auf Print- und Ausstellungsgestaltung. Das in Hamburg und Berlin verortete Team setzt sich zusammen aus Nils Reinke-Dieker, Larissa Starke und Friederike Wolf.

Kerstin Stakemeier
Zur Biografie...

Elena Vogman ist Autorin, freischaffende Kuratorin und Postdoktorandin des Graduiertenkollegs „Sichtbarkeit und Sichtbarmachung“ am Institut für Allgemeine und Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft der Freien Universität Berlin. Ihr erstes Buch Sinnliches Denken: Eisensteins exzentrische Methode, basierend auf ihrer Dissertation, erscheint 2018 bei Diaphanes. Zurzeit schließt sie die Arbeit an ihrem nächsten Buch Dance of Values: Eisenstein’s Capital Project ab, das im Herbst 2018 erscheint. Gemeinsam mit Marie Rebecchi und Till Gathmann hat sie 2017 die Ausstellung Sergei Eisenstein: The Anthropology of Rhythm an der NOMAS Foundation, Rom und 2018 die Ausstellung Exzentrische Werte nach Eisenstein im Espace Diaphanes in Berlin kuratiert.