2018, Sun, Aug 12

Bright Phoebus Revisited | Peter Cat Recording Co.

Bright Phoebus Revisited | © Pete Heywood

Bright Phoebus Revisited | © Pete Heywood

When the somber folk-rock album Bright Phoebus by Lal & Mike Waterson appeared in 1972, reactions from the British scene were dismissive. Admirers today, like Jarvis Cocker, consider it a masterpiece; its rerelease in 2017 was met with great resonance both in the press and with audiences.

The Watersons are one of England’s most significant folk families; heard on the album along with the late Lal and Mike are their sister Norma and the exceptional guitarist Martin Carthy. The latter’s daughter Eliza Carthy, along with Martin Carthy and Lal’s daughter Marry Waterson, make up the current live band.

Peter Cat Recording Co. | © Promo

Peter Cat Recording Co. | © Promo

Peter Cat Recording Co.

With music that is strikingly reminiscent of legendary early 1980s Britpop bands like The Monochrome Set, Aztec Camera, or Orange Juice, PCRC, as their fans call them, have become stars in the big cities of the Indian subcontinent. On top of that, Suryakant Sawhney sings in his inimitable world-weary way. When playing live, the band quite often turns the whole deal into sweeping instrumental freak-outs. The five from New Delhi once played their first paid gig at a wedding—not the typical place for an indie rock concert, even in India.

So, 12. August 2018

Bright Phoebus Revisited | Peter Cat Recording Co.

Bright Phoebus Revisited | © Pete Heywood

Bright Phoebus Revisited | © Pete Heywood

Als 1972 das düstere Folkrock-Album Bright Phoebus von Lal & Mike Waterson erschien, reagierte die britische Szene ablehnend. Die bedrückenden Texte, die komplexen Arrangements, die Anklänge an Jazz und Country verschreckten viele Folkies, die Traditionelleres gewohnt waren. Heutigen Bewunderer*innen wie Jarvis Cocker gilt die Platte dagegen als Meisterwerk; ihre Wiederveröffentlichung 2017 stieß auf große Presse- und Publikumsresonanz.

Die Watersons aus dem nordenglischen Yorkshire sind eine der bedeutendsten Folk-Familien des Landes; auf dem Album sind neben den mittlerweile verstorbenen Lal und Mike ihre Schwester Norma und der Ausnahmegitarrist Martin Carthy zu hören. Die gemeinsame Tochter Eliza Carthy gehört neben Martin Carthy und Lals Tochter Mary Waterson zur aktuellen Live-Besetzung.

Peter Cat Recording Co. | © Promo

Peter Cat Recording Co. | © Promo

Peter Cat Recording Co.

Mit einer Musik, die frappierend nah an legendären britischen Bands der frühen 1980er wie The Monochrome Set, Aztec Camera oder Orange Juice ist, wurden PCRC, wie ihre Fans sie nennen, zu Stars in den Großstädten des indischen Subkontinents. Dazu singt Suryakant Sawhney auf seine unnachahmlich lebensüberdrüssige Weise. Live ufert das Ganze nicht selten in mitreißende Instrumental-Freakouts aus. Ihren ersten bezahlten Gig spielten die Fünf aus New Delhi einst bei einer Hochzeit – auch in Indien nicht der typische Anlass für ein Indierock-Konzert.