2018, Sun, Jun 03

Europe, c. 1930: The Crisis (of Everything)

Talk with Katja Patzel-Mattern

The time between the World Wars emerged as a phase of unending crises. Much seemed to confirm the perception of a “particular unrest of the time,” which André Breton spoke of in 1926: from the continuation of the colonial projects of the “victorious powers” over the beginning bloc formation to the radicalization of political landscapes on a national level, the situation was tense. The global crises of capitalism threatened economies as well as personal livelihoods. In a letter of 1931, Carl Einstein lamented the crisis as a permanent condition, overlooking the fact that the decade had begun with hope: the League of Nations promised international balance for Europe, and the Central Working Group promised social compromise for Germany.
Katja Patzel-Mattern maps out a panorama of an era in which cultural criticism, political propaganda and science condensed to a crisis of modernity. She shows how this perception made reforms seem increasingly pointless, while the radical break pointed the way forward.

Katja Patzel-Mattern is an economic and social historian at the University of Heidelberg. She researches how societies have dealt with crises and disasters since the eighteenth century as well as the society of the Weimar Republic. After studying in Münster and Barcelona, she worked at the Technoseum in Mannheim and at the Cusanuswerk in Bonn. After completing her habilitation in Konstanz in 2007 she moved on to Heidelberg. In her recent writings she discusses historical crisis communication after industrial accidents and female employment in the context of social expectations.

So, 03. Juni 2018

Europa, ca. 1930: Die Krise (von allem)

Talk mit Katja Patzel-Mattern

Die Zeit zwischen den Weltkriegen erschien als eine Phase nicht enden wollender Krisen. Vieles schien die Wahrnehmung einer „besonderen Unruhe der Zeit“, von der André Breton 1926 sprach, zu bestätigen: Von der Fortsetzung der kolonialen Projekte der „Siegermächte“ über die beginnende Blockbildung bis zur Radikalisierung der politischen Landschaften auf nationaler Ebene war die Lage spannungsgeladen. Die globalen Krisen des Kapitalismus bedrohten Volkswirtschaften ebenso wie persönliche Existenzen. In einem Brief von 1931 beklagte Carl Einstein die Krise als Dauerzustand und übersah, dass das Jahrzehnt mit Hoffnungen begonnen hatte: Der Völkerbund versprach für Europa internationalen Ausgleich, die Zentralarbeitsgemeinschaft für Deutschland soziale Kompromisse.
Katja Patzel-Mattern entwirft das Panorama einer Zeit, in der Kulturkritik, politische Propaganda und Wissenschaft Problemlagen zu einer Krise der Moderne verdichteten. Sie zeigt, wie diese Wahrnehmung Reformen zunehmend sinnlos erscheinen ließ, den radikalen Bruch hingegen zukunftsweisend.

Katja Patzel-Mattern ist Wirtschafts- und Sozialhistorikerin an der Universität Heidelberg. Sie erforscht den gesellschaftlichen Umgang mit Krisen und Katastrophen seit dem 18. Jahrhundert ebenso wie die Gesellschaft der Weimarer Republik. Nach einem Studium in Münster und Barcelona hat sie zunächst beim Technoseum in Mannheim und beim Cusanuswerk in Bonn gearbeitet, bevor sie nach ihrer Habilitation in Konstanz im Jahr 2007 nach Heidelberg wechselte. In ihren jüngeren Schriften diskutiert sie historische Krisenkommunikation nach Industrieunfällen und weibliche Erwerbsarbeit im Kontext gesellschaftlicher Erwartungen.