2018, Sun, May 06

Neolithic (R)Evolution – on the topicality of an epoch-making theory

Talk with Joachim Burger and Johannes Müller

The yearning for the “primordial,” which burgeoned around 1930 amid the upheavals of modernity, was also demonstrated in the enthusiasm for the young discipline of archeology. In 1936, the archaeologist Vere Gordon Childe coined the term “Neolithic Revolution” to describe an epoch-making theory of humankind’s transition from hunter-gatherers to sedentary farmers and livestock breeders. Even today, new studies on Neolithic conditions are not only received with interest by a broad public, but it seems they are above all also interpreted in terms of their cultural and political implications for our time.
In their research, Joachim Burger and Johannes Müller approach the Neolithic Period using the latest scientific methods. They provide a critical update to the theory of the “Neolithic Revolution” from different points of view.

Joachim Burger is an anthropologist and population geneticist at Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz. His research focuses on the biological and cultural being and becoming of humans. He explores human history over the past ten thousand years using statistical genomics and relies on genome data obtained directly from prehistoric skeletons. Burger is considered the founder of Palaeopopulation genetics. In 2005, he and his team published the first Neolithic population genetic study and in 2016 the first Neolithic genome.

Johannes Müller is an expert on the Neolithic period who has carried out field research on social aspects and environmental questions in particular and published numerous books and articles. His excavation activities focus on Central, Southeastern and Eastern Europe, including megalithic structures, settlement mounds, and large settlements. In addition, he does ethno-archaeological research, for example in Nagaland of northeastern India. Johannes Müller is director of the Archaeological Institute of Kiel University, director of the Johanna Mestorf Academy Kiel and spokesperson for various collaborative projects, including the Graduate School of Human Development in Landscapes and the Collaborative Research Center on Scales of Transformation: Human-Environmental Interaction in Prehistoric and Archaic Societies.

So, 06. Mai 2018

Neolithische (R)Evolution – Zur Aktualität einer Epoche machenden Theorie

Talk mit Joachim Burger und Johannes Müller

Die um 1930 inmitten der Umwälzungen der Moderne aufkeimende Sehnsucht nach dem „Ursprünglichen“ zeigte sich auch in der Begeisterung für die noch junge Disziplin der Archäologie. 1936 prägte der Archäologe Vere Gordon Childe mit dem Begriff der „Neolithischen Revolution“ eine im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes Epoche machende Theorie vom Übergang des Menschen vom Jäger und Sammler zum sesshaften Ackerbauer und Viehzüchter. Auch heute werden neue Studien zu neolithischen Verhältnissen nicht nur von einer breiten Öffentlichkeit interessiert aufgenommen, sondern, so scheint es, vor allem auch auf ihre kulturellen und politischen Implikationen für unsere Zeit hin gedeutet.
Joachim Burger und Johannes Müller nähern sich in ihren Forschungen der Jungsteinzeit mit aktuellen wissenschaftlichen Methoden. Aus unterschiedlichen Blickwinkeln geben sie ein kritisches Update zur Theorie der „Neolithischen Revolution“.

Joachim Burger ist Anthropologe und Populationsgenetiker an der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz. Sein Interesse gilt dem biologischen und kulturellen Sein und Werden des Menschen. Er erforscht die Menschheitsgeschichte der letzten zehntausend Jahre mit den Mitteln der statistischen Genomik und stützt sich dabei auf Genomdaten, die direkt aus prähistorischen Skeletten gewonnen werden. Burger gilt als Begründer der Palaeopopulationsgenetik. Mit seinem Team veröffentlichte er 2005 die erste populationsgenetische Studie zum Neolithikum und 2016 das erste Genom eines Neolithikers.

Johannes Müller ist Experte für das Neolithikum, der insbesondere zu sozialen Aspekten und umweltrelevanten Fragestellungen Feldforschungen durchgeführt und zahlreiche Bücher und Artikel veröffentlicht hat. Seine Grabungsaktivitäten fanden und finden in Mittel-, Südost- und Osteuropa statt, dazu gehören u. a. Megalithanlagen, Siedlungshügel und Großsiedlungen. Darüber hinaus betreibt er ethnoarchäologische Forschungen, z. B. im nordostindischen Nagaland. Johannes Müller ist Institutsdirektor des archäologischen Instituts in Kiel, Leiter der Johanna-Mestorf-Akademie Kiel und Sprecher verschiedener Verbundprojekte, u. a. der Graduiertenschule Human Development in Landscapes und des Sonderforschungsbereiches TransformationsDimensionen prähistorischer und archaischer Gesellschaften.