2018, Sun, Jan 21

Conversation & Films with Suliman Mohamed Ibrahim Elnour & Suhaib Gasmelbari

Film screenings: It Still Rotates / Africa, Jungle, Drums and Revolution, D: Suliman Mohamed Ibrahim Elnour, 1978, 20 min, Arabic OV / 1979, 12 min, OV with English subtitles

Suliman Mohamed Ibrahim Elnour in Moscow. | Courtesy VGIK-Archive, vgik.info Tag

Suliman Mohamed Ibrahim Elnour in Moscow. | Courtesy VGIK-Archive, vgik.info Tag

Filmmaker Suhaib Gasmelbari will conduct a conversation with Suleiman Mohamed Ibrahim Elnur, a friend and accomplice, to revisit his experience at the VGIK, daily life in Moscow, and learning the craft. Gasmelbari has been working on a documentary about the Sudan Film Group.

Suliman Mohamed Ibrahim Elnour graduated from VGIK in 1978 with his diploma documentary film, Africa, the Jungle, Drums and Revolution (1979), about representations of Africa in Soviet society, and received a degree in African and Asian folklore from the University of Khartoum. In Sudan, he worked at the Ministry for Culture film department and for the State Cinema Corporation, and served on the editorial board of the journal Cinema. He is the chairman of the Sudan Film Group and a founder of the Sudan Film Club. His documentary films deal with topics such as marginalized communities, ecological threat, climate change, or political crises. Recent films include Al-Muhawala (2013), about the making of the new constitution of Darfur, and Turning Point (2017) about local adaptation to climate change.

Suhaib Gasmelbari is a filmmaker based in Omdurman, Sudan. He earned his degree in film directing from the Université Paris VIII. He is currently putting the final touches on his long documentary film about Sudanese cinema, The waiting bench, in which Suliman Mohamed Ibrahim Elnour is one of the main characters.

Sa 20.10.: Verkehrseinschränkungen rund um das HKW. Mehr…

So, 21. Januar 2018

Gespräch & Filmscreenings mit Suliman Mohamed Ibrahim Elnour & Suhaib Gasmelbari

Filmscreenings: It Still Rotates / Africa, Jungle, Drums and Revolution, R: Suliman Mohamed Ibrahim Elnour, 1978, 20 min, arab. OV / 1979, 12 min, OmE

Suliman Mohamed Ibrahim Elnour in Moskau. | Courtesy VGIK-Archive, vgik.info

Suliman Mohamed Ibrahim Elnour in Moskau. | Courtesy VGIK-Archive, vgik.info

Der Filmemacher Suhaib Gasmelbari führt als Teil seiner Arbeit an einem Dokumentarfilm über die Sudan Film Group ein Gespräch mit seinem Freund und Kollegen Suliman Mohamed Ibrahim Elnour. Thema des Gesprächs sind dessen Erlebnisse am VGIK, sein Alltag damals in Moskau und seine Ausbildung als Filmemacher.

Suliman Mohamed Ibrahim Elnour schloss das VGIK mit seinem Diplomfilm Africa, the Jungle, Drums and the Revolution (1979) über die Darstellungen von Afrika in der sowjetischen Gesellschaft ab. An der Universität von Khartum erwarb er einen weiteren Abschluss in afrikanischer und asiatischer Folklore. Zurück im Sudan arbeitete er in der Filmabteilung des Kultusministeriums, für den staatlichen Filmkonzern und in der Redaktion des Magazins Cinema. Er ist Vorsitzender der Sudanesischen Filmgruppe und einer der Begründer des Sudanesischen Filmclubs. Seine Dokumentarfilme behandeln Themen wie marginalisierte Gemeinschaften, ökologische Bedrohungen, Klimawandel oder politische Krisen. Zu seinen letzten Filmen gehören Al-Muhawala (2013) über den Entwurf einer neuen Verfassung oder Turning Point (2017) über regionale Anpassung an den Klimawandel.

Suhaib Gasmelbari ist Filmemacher und lebt in Omdurman, Sudan. Er erwarb an der Université Paris VIII ein Diplom der Filmregie. Zurzeit ist er in der Endbearbeitung seines abendfüllenden Dokumentarfilms The waiting bench, in dem Suliman Mohamed Ibrahim Elnour einen der Protagonisten darstellt.