Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

2018, Fri, Jan 19

Saving Bruce Lee - Opening with „Introduction to Life“

D: Igor Talankin, USSR 1962, 101 min, Russian OV with English subtitles, with Ossama Mohammed and the curators Koyo Kouoh and Rasha Salti

Filmstill from Introduction to Life (Igor Talankin, 1962). | Courtesy Mosfilm

Filmstill from Introduction to Life (Igor Talankin, 1962). | Courtesy Mosfilm

Adapted from a story by Vera Panova, Introduction to Life (Vstuplijenije) is a drama set during WWII, as seen in the eyes of a young boy, and told in a flashback form. The film begins as the war is nearing its end, two youths returning to Leningrad by train cross paths very briefly. They had met before, in 1941, at a crowded refugee station, when they were adolescents, their “introduction to life“ takes place during the difficult years of the war. The boy’s world was turned upside down when his parents separated. He leaves Leningrad amidst the fighting, but returns to forge a friendship with his half-brother. Talankin’s first feature shared the Venice Film Festival's Special Jury Prize with Louis Malle's Le feu follet. It also inaugurated an important collaboration, with composer Alfred Schnittke.

Koyo Kouoh is an independent curator and cultural producer, working and living in Dakar, Senegal. She is the founding artistic director of Raw Material Company—a center for art, knowledge, and society in Dakar. Kouoh is also curator of the education program at 1:54 Contemporary African Art Fair in London. She has served as curatorial advisor for documenta 12 (2007) and documenta 13 (2012); she co-curated Les Rencontres de la Photographie Africaine in Bamako in 2001 and 2003, and over the years, she has collaborated in different capacities with the Dakar Biennial. Some of her more recent projects include Body Talk: Feminism, Sexuality and the Body in the Work of Six African Women Artists (2015); Condition Report on Building Art Institutions in Africa (2013), a collection of essays resulting from the eponymous symposium held in Dakar in January 2012; and Word!Word?Word! Issa Samb and the Undecipherable Form (2013), the first monograph dedicated to the work of seminal Senegalese process-oriented artist Issa Samb. In 2016, she launched the Raw Academy, a pioneering international pedagogical laboratory for artists based in Dakar.

Ossama Mohammed graduated from VGIK in 1979, where he studied at the Laboratory of Igor Talankin. His diploma film was the short documentary Step by Step (Khutwa Khutwa). He completed his first fiction feature Stars in Broad Daylight (Nujum al-Nahar) in 1988. The title refers to Igor Talankin’s film with the same title. Deemed to be the most scathing critique of contemporary Syrian society trapped in the iron grip of the Ba‘th regime, the film has never been allowed a public screening in Syria. Internationally it earned the filmmaker great critical praise. His films, Sacrifices (Sunduq al-Dunya, 2002) and Silvered Water (Ma’ al-Fadda, 2014) were shown at Cannes Film Festival. After a compelling speech in support of the pacifist insurrection in Syria in 2011, he was forced into political exile in France, where he lives presently.

Rasha Salti is an independent film and visual arts curator and writer, working and living between Beirut and Berlin. She began her career working at the Théâtre de Beyrouth, a multi-disciplinary performance and exhibition space in Beirut (1992–95). She co-curated several film programs including The Road to Damascus, with Richard Peña, a retrospective of Syrian cinema that toured worldwide (2006–08); The Calm Before the Storm, a Retrospective of Lebanese Cinema, also with Richard Peña, and presented at Lincoln Center, New York (2009); and Mapping Subjectivity: Experimentation in Arab Cinema from the 1960s until Now, with Jytte Jensen (2010–12) showcased at MoMA, New York. At present she is commissioning editor for La Lucarne, the experimental documentary program for Arte France. In 2011, she was one of the co-curators of the 10th Sharjah Biennial for the Arts; and in 2015, she co-curated with Kristine Khouri the exhibition Past Disquiet: Narratives and Ghosts from the Exhibition of International Art for Palestine (Beirut, 1978), at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Barcelona (MACBA), and at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW) in Berlin, in 2016.

Fr, 19. Januar 2018

Saving Bruce Lee – Eröffnung mit „Introduction to Life“

R: Igor Talankin, 1962, 101 min, russ. OmE, mit Ossama Mohammed und den Kuratorinnen Koyo Kouoh und Rasha Salti

Filmstill aus Introduction to Life (Igor Talankin, 1962). | Courtesy Mosfilm

Filmstill aus Introduction to Life (Igor Talankin, 1962). | Courtesy Mosfilm

Auf einer Geschichte von Wera Panowa basierend spielt das Drama Introduction to Life (Vstuplijenije) während des Zweiten Weltkriegs und wird in Rückblenden aus der Sicht eines Jungen erzählt. Der Film beginnt, als der Krieg beinahe zu Ende ist: Zwei junge Männer kehren mit dem Zug nach Leningrad zurück und laufen einander über den Weg. Schon 1941 sind sie sich als Jugendliche in einem überfüllten Sammellager für Geflüchtete begegnet, und beider „Einführung ins Leben“ fand in den schwierigen Jahren des Krieges statt. Für den einen brach damals eine Welt zusammen, als sich seine Eltern trennten und er mitten in den Kämpfen Leningrad verließ. Nun jedoch kehrt er zurück, um Freundschaft mit seinem Halbbruder zu schließen. Igor Talankins erster Spielfilm teilte sich bei den Filmfestspielen von Venedig den Spezialpreis der Jury mit Le feu follet (Das Irrlicht) von Louis Malle. Der Film begründete auch eine langjährige und produktive Zusammenarbeit mit dem Komponisten Alfred Schnittke.

Koyo Kouoh ist selbstständige Kuratorin und Kulturproduzentin und arbeitet in Dakar, Senegal. Sie ist Gründerin und künstlerische Leiterin der RAW Material Company, einem Zentrum für Kunst, Wissen und Gesellschaft in Dakar, sowie Kuratorin des Bildungsprogramms bei der 1:54 Contemporary African Art Fair in London. Kouoh war als kuratorische Beraterin für die documenta 12 (2007) und 13 (2012) tätig, wirkte in den Jahren 2001 und 2003 als Mitkuratorin bei Les Rencontres de la Photographie Africaine und arbeitete in verschiedenen Funktionen für die Dakar Biennale. Als Expertin für Fotografie, Video und Kunst im öffentlichen Raum hat sie zahlreiche internationale Ausstellungen kuratiert und über zeitgenössische afrikanische Kunst geschrieben. Zu ihren jüngsten Projekten gehören Body Talk: Feminism, Sexuality and the Body in the Work of Six African Women Artists (2015); das Programm Personal Liberties, das drei Ausstellungen, Seminare, Gespräche, Filmvorführungen und eine Publikation über Sexualität, Homosexualität und Homophobie in Afrika umfasst; die Aufsatzsammlung Condition Report on Building Art Institutions in Africa, die aus dem gleichnamigen Symposium in Dakar im Januar 2012 entstand; und Word! Word? Word! Issa Samb and the Undecipherable Form, die erste Monografie über die Arbeit des wegweisenden senegalesischen Künstlers Issa Samb. Im Jahr 2016 gründete sie die in Dakar ansässige Raw Academy, eine internationale, pädagogische Forschungsstätte für Künstler*innen.

Ossama Mohammed graduierte 1979 nach seinem Studium bei Igor Talankin mit dem Dokumentarfilm Step by Step (Khutwa Khutwa) vom VGIK. Sein erster Langfilm Sterne des Tages (Nujum al-Nahar, 1988) ist eine Hommage an Talankins Film Day Stars und wurde in Syrien nie für die öffentliche Vorführung freigegeben. International bescherte er dem Filmemacher große Anerkennung. Seine Filme Opfertod (Sunduq al-Dunya, 2002) und Silvered Water, Syria Self-Portrait (Ma’a al-Fidda, 2014) wurden bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen von Cannes gezeigt. Nach einer Rede 2011, bei der er dem pazifistischen Aufstand in Syrien seine Unterstützung aussprach, war Mohammed gezwungen, ins politische Exil nach Frankreich zu gehen, wo er bis heute lebt.

Rasha Salti, Autorin und freie Kuratorin für Film und Bildende Kunst lebt und arbeitet in Beirut und Berlin. Ihre Laufbahn startete sie 1992 am multidisziplinären Performance- und Ausstellungszentrum Théâtre de Beyrouth, wo sie bis 1995 tätig war. Zusammen mit Richard Peña kuratierte sie die syrische Film-Retrospektive The Road to Damascus, die von 2006 bis 2008 auf Welttournee ging, sowie The Calm Before the Storm, a Retrospective of Lebanese Cinema, die 2009 im Lincoln Center lief. In Kooperationen mit Jytte Jensen realisierte sie Mapping Subjectivity: Experimentation in Arab Cinema from the 1960s until Now, die das MoMA in New York von 2010 bis 2012 zeigte. Aktuell ist Salti Redaktionsleiterin für La Lucarne, das experimentelle Dokumentarfilmprogramm von Arte France. 2011 war sie eine der Kuratorinnen der 10. Ausgabe der Sharjah Kunstbiennale. 2015 kuratierte sie mit Kristine Khouri die Ausstellung Past Disquiet: Narratives and Ghosts from the Exhibition of International Art for Palestine (Beirut, 1978) am MACBA Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst in Barcelona (MACBA). 2016 wurde die Ausstellung im Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW) präsentiert.