Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

2018, Sun, Jan 07

Autonomy, Predicament and Imbroglio: The CCF in the Third World

Expert talk with Paz Guevara & Rasha Salti

During the 1950s and 1960s, the Congress for Cultural Freedom (CCF) published and supported more than forty prestigious magazines on all continents. Even more than artists, writers became the CIA’s weapon of choice in promoting the idea of “anti-totalitarianism” among opinion leaders around the world. Paz Guevara and Rasha Salti will discuss the political and cultural role played by magazines in the context of Cold War politics. Navigating through articles and archival material the conversation will shed light on the rise and fall of Beirut-based Hiwar magazine, which was shut down by its editor Tawfiq Sayigh in the aftermath of a 1966 New York Times article that revealed the CCF to be a front organization for the CIA, as well as Mundo Nuevo magazine and the Latin American debates between instrumentalization and intellectual autonomy, and the anti-colonial positions granted across several CCF magazines.

Rasha Salti is an independent film and visual arts curator and writer, working and living between Beirut and Berlin. She began her career working at the Théâtre de Beyrouth, a multi-disciplinary performance and exhibition space in Beirut (1992-1995). She co-curated several film programs including The Road to Damascus, with Richard Peña, a retrospective of Syrian cinema that toured worldwide (2006-2008); The Calm Before the Storm, a Retrospective of Lebanese Cinema, also with Richard Peña and presented at Lincoln Center (2009); and Mapping Subjectivity: Experimentation in Arab Cinema from the 1960s until Now, with Jytte Jensen (2010-2012) showcased at the MoMA in New York. At present she is the commissioning editor for La Lucarne, the experimental documentary program for Arte France. In 2011, she was one of co-curators of the 10th edition of the Sharjah Biennial for the Arts, and in 2015, she co-curated with Kristine Khouri the exhibition Past Disquiet: Narratives and Ghosts from the Exhibition of International Art for Palestine (Beirut, 1978), at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Barcelona (MACBA), and at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW) in Berlin, in 2016.

Paz Guevara is a curator, researcher and author based in Berlin. Currently, she is collaborating in the long-term project Kanon-Fragen at HKW. She contributed to Past Disquiet at HKW with research on Latin American artists and museums involved in the solidarity movement. Among other things, Guevara has been co-curator of In Other Words: The Black Market of Translations—Negotiating Contemporary Cultures at NGBK (Berlin, 2012); the Latin American pavilion at the 55th and 54th Venice Biennales (2013 and 2011) and Comunidad Ficticia in Matucana 100 (Santiago, Chile, 2009). For the 7th Berlin Biennale in 2012, she conceived the workshop for young curators, Curating in Times of Need.

So, 07. Januar 2018

Autonomy, Predicament and Imbroglio: The CCF in the Third World

Expertinnengespräch mit Paz Guevara & Rasha Salti

In den 1950er und 1960er Jahren publizierte und finanzierte der Kongress für kulturelle Freiheit (CCF) über vierzig renommierte Magazine auf allen Kontinenten. Mehr noch als die bildenden Künstler*innen wurden die Schriftsteller*innen zum bevorzugten Instrument der CIA bei der Propagierung „anti-totalitärer“ Gedanken unter den globalen Meinungsführer*innen. Paz Guevara und Rasha Salti erörtern die politische und kulturelle Rolle der Zeitschriften in der Politik des Kalten Krieges. Gemeinsam besprechen Artikel und Archivmaterial, erörtern den Aufstieg und Fall der Zeitschriften Mundo Nuevo und Hiwar – deren Erscheinen Herausgeber Tawfiq Sayigh einstellte nachdem ein Artikel der New York Times 1966 den CCF als Frontorganisation der CIA entlarvte. In ihrem Fokus stehen die lateinamerikanische Debatte zu Instrumentalisierung und intellektueller Freiheit sowie die antikolonialistischen Positionen in verschiedenen CFF-Blättern.

Die Autorin und freie Kuratorin für Film und Bildende Kunst Rasha Salti lebt und arbeitet in Beirut und Berlin. Ihre Laufbahn startete sie 1992 am multidisziplinären Performance- und Ausstellungszentrum Théâtre de Beyrouth, wo sie bis 1995 tätig war. Zusammen mit Richard Peña kuratierte sie die syrische Film-Retrospektive The Road to Damascus, die von 2006 bis 2008 auf Welttournee ging, sowie The Calm Before the Storm, a Retrospective of Lebanese Cinema, die 2009 im Lincoln Center lief. In Kooperationen mit Jytte Jensen realisierte sie Mapping Subjectivity: Experimentation in Arab Cinema from the 1960s until Now, die das MoMA in New York von 2010 bis 2012 zeigte. Aktuell ist Salti Redaktionsleiterin für La Lucarne, das experimentelle Dokumentarfilmprogramm von Arte France. 2011 war sie eine der Kuratorinnen der 10. Ausgabe der Sharjah Kunstbiennale. 2015 kuratierte sie mit Kristine Khouri die Ausstellung Past Disquiet: Narratives and Ghosts from the Exhibition of International Art for Palestine (Beirut, 1978) am MACBA Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst in Barcelona (MACBA). 2016 wurde die Ausstellung im Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW) präsentiert.

Paz Guevara ist Kuratorin, Wissenschaftlerin und Autorin in Berlin. Aktuell arbeitet sie am - Langzeitprojekt Kanon-Fragen des HKW. Aus ihrer Forschung zum Engagement lateinamerikanischer Künstler und Museen für die Solidaritätsbewegung lieferte sie Beiträge zum HKW-Programm Past Disquiet. Paz Guevara ko-kuratierte außerdem und unter anderem In Other Words: The Black Market of Translations—Negotiating Contemporary Cultures an der NGBK (Berlin, 2012); den Lateinamerika-Pavillon der 55. und 54. Biennale von Venedig (2013 und 2011) sowie Comunidad Ficticia in Matucana 100 (Santiago, Chile, 2009). Für die 7. Berlin Biennale entwickelte sie 2012 den Workshop für junge Kuratoren Curating in Times of Need.