Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

2017, Sun, Dec 17

A lot of fuss about a drawing: On Stalin by Picasso and other Cold War battles

Expert talk with Nida Ghouse & Lene Berg

Shortly before the death of Joseph Stalin in 1953, Pablo Picasso, who had been a member of the French Communist Party since 1944, was asked to do a portrait of the dictator, which was then published on the front page of the communist newspaper Les Lettres françaises alongside ovations to Stalin. The publication caused a scandal amongst Communists and anti-Communists alike, since both claimed the artist as a figurehead for their respective movements. While the Soviet regime presented Picasso as a shining example of a Western artist devoted to communism, his avant-garde paintings sharply contradicted the officially endorsed realistic style. Lene Berg’s film Stalin by Picasso or Portrait of a Woman with Moustache (2008) not only tells the story of a painting, but sheds light on the ever-evolving media depiction of both the artist and the dictator.

Lene Berg was educated as a film director at the Stockholm Academy of Dramatic Arts. She works with video, installations, photography, and text. Her video, The Man in the Background, and her publication, Gentlemen and Arseholes, were launched as two parts of one project about art and propaganda during the Cold War. Among other exhibitions, Berg has contributed to Transmediale (2008), Pensee Sauvage at Frankfurter Kunstverein (2007), Headlines and Footnotes, Henie Onstad Kunstsenter, Norway (2008), and Sydney Biennale (2008).

Nida Ghouse is a writer and curator. Her ongoing writing project "Lotus Notes” has appeared variously in Mada Masr (Cairo 2014), After Year Zero (The University of Chicago Press 2015), ARTMargins (The MIT Press 2016), and Critical Writing Ensembles (Mousse Publishing 2016). Alongside Parapolitics, her current curatorial projects include The Matrix of All Possible Narratives (with Anselm Franke and Erhard Schüttpelz, forthcoming) at Haus der Kulturen der Welt. She was director of Mumbai Art Room from 2015 to early 2017.

So, 17. Dezember 2017

A lot of fuss about a drawing: On Stalin by Picasso and other Cold War battles

Expertinnengespräch mit Nida Ghouse & Lene Berg

1953, kurz vor Stalins Tod, wurde Pablo Picasso, Mitglied der KPF seit 1944, gebeten, ein Porträt des Diktators zu zeichnen. Über seine Veröffentlichung – es erschien neben den Ovationen für Joseph Stalin auf der Titelseite der kommunistischen Zeitung Les Lettres – empörten sich Kommunisten ebenso wie Antikommunisten, reklamierten doch beide den prominenten Maler für sich als Symbolfigur ihrer jeweiligen Bewegung. Das Sowjetregime präsentierte Picasso als beispielhaft treuen Kommunisten unter den westlichen Künstlern, obwohl seine avantgardistischen Werke in krassem Widerspruch zum offiziell geforderten Realismus standen. Lene Bergs Film Stalin by Picasso or Portrait of a Woman with Moustache (2008) erzählt nicht nur die Geschichte eines Gemäldes, sondern wirft ein Licht auf die sich ständig verändernde Mediendarstellung des Künstlers wie des Diktators.

Lene Berg ließ sich am Dramatiska Institutet in Stockholm zur Regisseurin ausbilden. Sie arbeitet mit Video und Installation, Fotografie und Text. Ihr Video The Man in the Background und ihre Publikation Gentlemen and Arseholes erschienen als zweiteiliges Projekt zur Kunst und Propaganda während des Kalten Krieges. Berg präsentierte Beiträge für die Transmediale (2008), Pensee Sauvage am Frankfurter Kunstverein (2007), Headlines and Footnotes im norwegischen Henie Onstad Kunstsenter, Norway (2008), die Sydney Biennale (2008) und andere Ausstellungen.

Nida Ghouse ist Schriftstellerin und Kuratorin. Ihr literarisches Langzeitprojekt Lotus Notes erschien mehrfach in der Online-Zeitung Mada Masr (Kairo, 2014), in After Year Zero (2015), im MIT Press journal ARTMargins (2016), sowie in den Critical Writing Ensembles (2016). Neben Parapolitik kuratiert sie aktuell The Matrix of All Possible Narratives (mit Anselm Franke und Erhard Schüttpelz, 2020 HKW). Von 2015 bis 2017 war Nida Ghouse Kuratorin des Mumbai Art Room.