2017, Sat, Sep 02

Cosmic Themes in Early Soviet Culture

Presentations & Discussion with Robert Bird, Maria Chehonadskih, Svetlana Cheloukhina, moderated by Anne Luther

Robert Bird:
How to Keep Communism Aloft: Labor, Energy and the Model Cosmos in Soviet Cinema

Under Stalin the strong Cosmism of the 1920s ceded to softer, more mediated forms which imagined a world of transformed natural laws that Maxim Gorky called “second nature” and Nikolai Bukharin described as a “technological revolution.” Across many disciplines Soviet discourse placed particular emphasis on modeling mechanisms that would surpass the limits of classical mechanics and physical labor. Through such films as Cosmic Voyage the presentation will show how socialist realism served as a site where Soviet artists used scale models to confront the power and limits of modeling. Bird will also consider later engagements with modeling in Soviet cybernetics, semiotics, and installation art (e.g. Francisco Infante-Arana and Il’ia Kabakov).

Robert Bird is Professor of Slavic Languages and Literatures as well as Cinema and Media Studies at the University of Chicago. His primary area of interest is the aesthetic practice and theory of Russian/Soviet modernism, focusing on Russian film and video art. He is currently completing the manuscript for his book Soul Machine: How Soviet Film Modeled Socialism. He is the co-curator of Revolution Every Day (September 2017) on Soviet graphic art and moving images at the Smart Museum of Art, University of Chicago. His upcoming project Revolutionology examines intellectual revolution across a variety of media, spaces, and historical moments.

Maria Chehonadskih:
The Stofflichkeit of the Universe: Aleksandr Bogdanov and the Soviet Avant-garde

The Soviet avant-garde proposed a set of interrelated but contradictory concepts, among them construction, tectonics, production, montage of life, and life-building. These concepts all refer to what would normally be treated as attributes of the formal method in the arts or related to a theory of social constructivism. And yet confusion arises from their false genealogical lineage: what has to be accounted for, and is normally ignored, is these concepts’ background in Empirio-Marxism and the philosophy of Aleksandr Bogdanov. The presentation will focus on the theory of organization, which Aleksandr Bogdanov and Andrey Platonov developed. In doing so, it also introduces the concept of veshchestvo (which translates as ‘stuff’ or, in German, as ‘Stoff’ and ‘Stofflichkeit’) and of life-building. It is in this context that it also refers to an operational logic of division and to the combination of the universe’s elements into complexes and bodies. The organisation of perception into the life-building complex assumes the constructive and constitutive means of an art form that not only changes, but also shapes the form of social being. When perceived as an organizing principle of things, relations and people, material culture replaces the concept of art.

Maria Chehonadskih is a philosopher and critic. She received her PhD in philosophy from the Centre for Research in Modern European Philosophy at Kingston University, London. At the center of her work are Soviet epistemologies across Marxist philosophy, literature, and art. Her texts on Soviet philosophy, art theory, and post-Soviet politics have been published in journals such as Radical Philosophy, South Atlantic Quarterly, Moscow Art Magazine, and Alfabeta2. With Ilya Budraitskis she co-curated the exhibition Shadow of a Doubt (2014) at Garage Museum of Contemporary Art, Moscow, dedicated to the problem of conspiracy. Chehonadskih lives and works in London and Moscow.

Svetlana Cheloukhina:
Abolishing Death: Nikolai Zabolotsky’s Nature-Philosophical Poetry and Russian Cosmism

Nikolai Zabolotsky (1903–1958) was not only a member of the Russian avant-garde group OBERIU, he also wrote his own philosophy of nature. At the core of his Naturphilosophie lies the concept of metamorphoses – endless transformations at the atomic level from the material to the spiritual (ideal) realm, and vise versa. Zabolotsky believed that the leading role in nature’s development into a unity of the living and dead were forms of matter belonging to humankind as bearer of a “natural consciousness.” According to the philosopher, human beings are born as a result of constant antagonistic transformations. They represent the highest stage of nature’s development and thus have to take responsibility for these transformations. Zabolotsky was convinced that solving nature’s contradictions would lead to the liberation of the human mind – and ultimately also to human immortality.

Svetlana Cheloukhina is Associate Professor and Coordinator of Russian Program at Queens College, City University of New York. She received her MA and PhD from the University of Toronto. Her research interests concentrate on modernism, Acmeism, the avant-garde, and cultural history of the North Caucasus. After The Poetic Universe of Nikolai Zabolotsky (2006) on the poet and translator, she is currently finishing a volume about poet and writer Mikhail Zenkevich. She published widely on Russian literature, iconographic culture and ancient Christianity. She teaches courses covering all levels and aspects of Russian language, literature, culture, and cinema.

Anne Luther received her PhD from Central Saint Martins College of Art and Design, London, in 2016 and is currently a researcher at the Department for Modern Art History at the Institute of Art Studies and Historical Urban Studies at Technische Universität Berlin and at The Center for Data Arts at The New School in New York. Between 2014 and 2017 she was a teaching assistant with Boris Groys at New York University. Her research is grounded in cultural studies, ethnography, and art theory bridging an interdisciplinary approach to computer sciences, IT, and design.

Sa, 02. September 2017

Kosmische Motive in der frühsowjetischen Kultur

Vorträge & Gespräch mit Robert Bird, Maria Chehonadskih, Svetlana Cheloukhina, moderiert von Anne Luther

Robert Bird:
Wie behält der Kommunismus die Oberhand? Arbeit, Energie und Modelle des Kosmos im sowjetischen Film

Unter Stalin wich der radikale Kosmismus der 1920er Jahre vorsichtigeren Entwürfen einer Welt der überwundenen Naturgesetze, die Maxim Gorki als „zweite Natur“ und Nikolai Bucharin als „Technologierevolution“ bezeichnete. In zahlreichen Disziplinen verlegte sich der sowjetische Diskurs auf die Modellierung von Mechanismen, die Grenzen der klassischen Mechanik und physischen Arbeit sprengen sollten. Anhand von Filmen wie Cosmic Voyage erörtert Bird, wie sowjetische Künstler*innen auf dem Gebiet des sozialistischen Realismus mit maßstabsgetreuen Modellen arbeiteten und dabei die Möglichkeiten und Grenzen des Modellierens selbst ausloteten. Thema des Vortrags sind auch spätere Modellierungen in so verschiedenen Bereichen wie der sowjetischen Kybernetik, der Semiotik und der Installationskunst (von Francisco Infante-Arana, Ilja Kabakow und anderen).

Robert Bird ist Professor für Slawische Sprachen und Literaturen sowie Film- und Medienwissenschaften an der University of Chicago. Sein Forschungsschwerpunkt ist die ästhetische Praxis und Theorie der russisch-sowjetischen Moderne, insbesondere im Bereich Film und Videokunst. Zurzeit arbeitet er an seinem Buch Soul Machine: How Soviet Film Modeled Socialism. Bird ist Co-Kurator der Ausstellung Revolution Every Day (September 2017) zur sowjetischen Druckgrafik und Filmkunst am Smart Museum of Art der University of Chicago. Sein Folgeprojekt Revolutionology widmet sich geistiger/intellektuellerRevolution in verschiedensten Medien, Räumen und historischen Zeitpunkten.

Maria Chehonadskih:
Die Stofflichkeit des Universums: Alexander Bogdanow und die sowjetische Avantgarde

Die sowjetische Avantgarde führte einige ineinandergreifende, aber widersprüchliche Begriffe ein, darunter Konstruktion, Tektonik, Produktion, Lebensmontage und Lebensaufbau. Diese Begriffe bezogen sich gewöhnlich auf die Attribute formeller künstlerischer Methoden oder auf eine konstruktivistische Gesellschaftstheorie. Für Verwirrung sorgt heute allerdings, dass sie ideengeschichtlich oft falsch hergeleitet werden. Chehonadskih betont in diesem Vortrag die Tradition des Empirio-Marxismus und der Philosophie von Alexander Bogdanow, insbesondere die Organisationstheorien von Bogdanow und Andrej Platonow. Sie erörtert die Begriffe „Weschtschestwo“ (Stoff oder Stofflichkeit) und Lebensaufbau und zeigt, wie ausgehend von diesen eine operationale Logik der Trennung und Verbindung von Elementen im Universum zu Komplexen und Körpern geschaffen wurde. Innerhalb dieser Lebensbau-Komplexe nimmt das Ordnen der Wahrnehmung die Mittel einer Kunst an, die nicht nur ihre eigenen Formen, sondern auch die Form sozialen Daseins verändert. Als Ordnungsprinzip von Dingen, Beziehungen und Menschen ersetzt diese Kultur des Stofflichen am Ende den Kunstbegriff.

Maria Chehonadskih ist Philosophin und Kritikerin. Ihren PhD der Philosophie erhielt sie am Centre for Research in Modern European Philosophy, Kingston University, London. Im Mittelpunkt ihrer Arbeit stehen sowjetische Epistemologien in marxistischer Philosophie, Literatur und Kunst. Ihre Texte zur sowjetischen Philosophie, Kunsttheorie und postsowjetischen Politik erscheinen in Zeitschriften wie Radical Philosophy, South Atlantic Quarterly, Moscow Art Magazine und Alfabeta2. Gemeinsam mit Ilya Budraitskis hat sie 2014 am Garage Museum of Contemporary Art in Moskau die Ausstellung Shadow of a Doubt zum Problem der Verschwörung kuratiert. Chehonadskih lebt in London und Moskau.

Svetlana Cheloukhina:
Den Tod abschaffen: Nikolai Sabolozkis naturphilosophische Dichtung und der Russische Kosmismus

Nikolai Sabolozki (1903-1958) war nicht nur Mitglied der russischen Avantgarde-Gruppe OBERIU, sondern auch Schöpfer einer eigenen Naturphilosophie. In deren Zentrum steht der Begriff der Metamorphosen: der unendlichen Verwandlungen auf atomarer Ebene vom Stofflichen zum Seelischen (Geistigen) – und umgekehrt. Sabolozki glaubte, dass es Arten von Materie gebe, die in der Entwicklung der Natur hin zur Einheit der Lebenden und der Toten eine herausragende Rolle spielten und der Menschheit als Trägerin eines „natürlichen Bewusstseins“ angehörten. So kommen Menschen nach Sabolozki als Folge fortgesetzter antagonistischer Verwandlungen zur Welt. Sie stellen die höchste Stufe natürlicher Entwicklungen dar und müssen deshalb Verantwortung für die Transformation übernehmen. Sabolozki war fest davon überzeugt, dass die Aufhebung der Widersprüche in der Natur zur Befreiung des Geistes – und schließlich auch zur Unsterblichkeit des Menschen – führen werde.

Svetlana Cheloukhina ist Associate Professor und Koordinatorin des Russian Program am Queens College, City University of New York. Ihr Studium und Promotion schloss sie an der University of Toronto ab. In ihrer Forschung konzentriert sie sich auf die literarische Moderne, den Akmeismus und die Avantgarde in Russland sowie auf die Kulturgeschichte des nördlichen Kaukasus. Nach dem Buch The Poetic Universe of Nikolai Zabolotsky (2006) über den Dichter und Übersetzer schließt sie zurzeit einen Band über den Dichter und Schriftsteller Michail Zenkewitsch ab. Sie hat umfangreich zur russischen Literatur, ikonografischen Kultur und altchristlichen Religion publiziert. Sie lehrt russische Sprache, Literatur und Kultur sowie Film auf verschiedensten Ebenen und mit vielfältigen inhaltlichen Schwerpunkten.

Anne Luther hat 2016 ihren PhD am Central Saint Martins College of Art and Design in London erworben und ist zurzeit wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin im Fachbereich Kunstgeschichte der Moderne des Instituts für Kunstwissenschaft und Historische Urbanistik der Technischen Universität Berlin, sowie Forschungsassistentin am Center for Data Arts der New School in New York. Sie war von 2014 bis 2017 Assistentin von Boris Groys an der New York University. In ihrer interdisziplinären Forschungsarbeit untersucht sie ausgehend von Kulturwissenschaften, Ethnografie und Kunsttheorie Computerwissenschaften, Informationstechnologie und Design.