2017, Fri, Sep 15

Trains in the Past, Tracks in the Present

With Priya Basil & Sinan Antoon, Zeynep Çelik, Rania Stephan and Salim Tamari

The memory of the Ottoman Railway Network as an expression of modernity, capitalism, and imperiality in the past has its own workings today. In parts of Lebanon, Palestine, and Syria, the initial functions of certain sections of the railway have been elapsed by mechanical decay, types of vegetation, and human activity. Other segments have disappeared from the landscape, the collective memory, from documentary evidence; only remaining in films, ditties, wedding songs, or literary texts.


Rania Stephan
Train-Trains: A Bypass
film, ca. 30 min, Arabic with English subtitles, 2017

A journey following the traces of the old railway line linking Lebanon to Palestine. The coastal train used to operate as an extension of the so-called Orient Express and Egypt lines, before being put out of service. Bypass is based on material Rania Stephan had originally filmed in 1999—as a personal vision of post-Civil War Lebanon, focusing on rural residents living near derelict stations. By embedding Polaroid photographs into moving images, the film is also reminiscent of the mechanisms of memory, thus becoming itself an interrogation into what happened in between the now and then.


Zeynep Çelik
The Hijaz Railway: Empire and Modernity
lecture

In accord with the nineteenth-century centralization reforms, which changed the governance patterns of the empire, the Hijaz Railway aimed at connecting the Arab provinces to Istanbul and, along the way, to each other. The railway project was intertwined with the pan-Islamic policies of Sultan Abdul Hamid II, who turned to the Eastern Mediterranean territories to rejuvenate the empire around the concept of the caliphate. Serving an ideology based on religion with cutting-edge technology, the Hijaz Railway embodied an idiosyncratic modernity. Çelik examines the rationale and the materialization of the railway project, paying attention to local reactions, which were not always in synchronization with imperial agendas. Furthermore, she situates the Hijaz Railway within the broader scope of turn-of-the-century imperialism and capitalism.


Salim Tamari
Could the Archives Lie? The Disappeared Train
lecture

An examination of a particular extension line of the Hijaz Railway that used to run from Jerusalem to Ramallah-al Bireh, a district of Palestine. The line was crucial for the war effort on the Palestinian front, enhancing the transfer of both troops and equipment. This particular part of the railway, however, has completely disappeared from documentary evidence. Its existence can only be traced back through wedding songs celebrating the “Bireh Babor,” which indicates the opposite of the collective denial of its possibility. How can an entire section of the railway disappear without tangible traces that attest to its former existence in the archives? In this presentation diverse material, such as aerial photographs from the Bavarian State Archives, private letters, and folk narratives, are used in the search for the lost section of the railway track.


Priya Basil & Sinan Antoon
Steel that Bites the Earth: The Logic of the Track
literary reading

Objects tell their stories quite often, but humans rarely listen. It is impossible to follow just one track. You are inevitably pulled elsewhere, lured by other trains of thought, other forces. There are multiple tracks, running in all directions: opposite, parallel, crossing, merging, disappearing—and never beginning or ending quite where you imagine. This is an attempt to listen to the tracks as they tell their stories, and trace their itineraries. How they were extracted from the bowels of the Earth to its surface. How they were forced into forms not of their choice. What they saw and heard.

Part of After the Wildly Improbable, curated by Adania Shibli

Do 14.06. – Di 17.07. Verkehrseinschränkungen rund um das HKW. Mehr

Fr, 15. September 2017

Züge von früher, Gleise von heute

Mit Priya Basil & Sinan Antoon, Zeynep Çelik, Rania Stephan und Salim Tamari

Das Schienennetz des Osmanischen Reichs, zu seiner Zeit Manifestation von Moderne, Kapitalismus und imperialer Gesinnung, lebt auf eigene Art bis heute fort. Zwar haben in weiten Teilen des Libanon, Palästinas und Syriens materieller Verfall, Vegetation und Siedlungsbau seine Spuren verwischt – anderswo fiel es dem kollektiven Vergessen anheim; wenig materielle Evidenz ist erhalten. Doch bleibt es präsent: in Filmen, Liedern, Hochzeitsgesängen und literarischen Texten.


Rania Stephan
Train-Trains: A Bypass
Film, ca. 30 Min., OmeU, 2017

Eine Reise auf den Spuren der alten Eisenbahn, die den Libanon mit Palästina verbindet: Die Küstenlinie fungierte einst als Verlängerung des sogenannten Orient-Expresses und der Bahnlinien in Ägypten, bevor sie schließlich eingestellt wurde. Train-Trains: A Bypass basiert auf Fotografien, die Rania Stephan 1999 als ihre persönliche Sicht auf den Nachkriegslibanon machte. Sie konzentrierte sich damals auf die ländliche Bevölkerung in der Nähe der verlassenen Bahnhöfe. Durch die Einbettung der Polaroid-Aufnahmen in bewegte Bilder verweist der Film auf die Mechanismen der Erinnerung und wird damit selbst zur Frage danach, was zwischen damals und jetzt geschehen ist.


Zeynep Çelik
The Hijaz Railway: Empire and Modernity
Vortrag

Den zentralistischen Reformen des 19. Jahrhunderts entsprechend, die das Verwaltungssystem des Osmanischen Reichs neu ordneten, sollte die Hedjaz-Bahn die arabischen Provinzen miteinander und mit Istanbul verbinden. Das Eisenbahnprojekt war eng mit der panislamischen Politik von Sultan Abdul Hamid II. verknüpft, der sich der östlichen Mittelmeerregion zuwandte, um sein Imperium auf der Basis des Kalifats zu erneuern. Im Dienst einer in der Religion gründenden Ideologie, verbunden mit innovativer Technik, verkörperte die Hedjaz-Bahn eine ganz eigene Moderne. Zeynep Çelik diskutiert Grundidee und Realisierung des Eisenbahnprojekts mit besonderem Augenmerk auf die Umsetzung seitens der lokalen Behörden, die nicht immer der imperialen Agenda entsprach. Außerdem thematisiert sie die Hedjaz-Bahn im weiteren Kontext des Imperialismus und Kapitalismus zur Jahrhundertwende.


Salim Tamari
Could the Archives Lie? The Disappeared Train
Vortrag

Eine Nebenlinie der Hedjaz-Bahn führte einst von Jerusalem zum palästinensischen Distrikt Ramallah-al Bireh. Im Krieg war sie eine wichtige Verbindung zur palästinensischen Front und diente dem Transport von Soldaten und Ausrüstung. Über diese Strecke gibt es heute jedoch keinerlei historische Evidenz mehr. Dass sie einst existierte, lässt sich nur noch durch Hochzeitsgesänge belegen, die den „Bireh Babor“ feiern. Sie sind Indizien angesichts des kollektiven Leugnens. Wie aber kann ein ganzer Abschnitt einer Bahnverbindung verschwinden, ohne Spuren in den Archiven zu hinterlassen? Auf der Suche nach der verlorenen Bahn nutzt dieser Vortrag unter anderem Luftaufnahmen aus dem Bayrischen Staatsarchiv, private Korrespondenzen und bekannte Erzählungen.


Priya Basil & Sinan Antoon
Steel that Bites the Earth: The Logic of the Track
Literarische Lesung

Die Gegenstände erzählen viele Geschichten, doch die Menschen hören nicht zu ... Es ist unmöglich, nur einem Gleis zu folgen: Unweigerlich wird man fortgezogen, angelockt von anderen Gedankenzügen, anderen Kräften. Eine Vielzahl von Gleisen führt in verschiedene Richtungen. Sie verlaufen entgegengesetzt, parallel, kreuzen sich, vereinigen sich, verschwinden. Weder beginnen noch enden sie dort, wo man es vermutet. Dies ist ein Versuch auf die Gleise zu hören, die ihre Geschichten erzählen, und ihre Wege nachzuzeichnen: die Wege aus dem Inneren der Erde an die Oberfläche und die Formen, in die sie gezwungen wurden. Das, was die Gleise sehen und hören.

Teil von After the Wildly Improbable kuratiert von Adania Shibli