2017, Sat, Jul 01

Sohl Lee: Radicalism in Non-Success: The Politics of Nature, Yatoo, and South Korean Art

Im Dong-sik,

Im Dong-sik, "Towards the Grass" (1981). Courtesy of Yatoo

The artist collective Yatoo was founded in 1981 on the dry riverbed of Kŭm River near Gongju, South Korea. Yatoo, which means “to throw oneself to the wilderness,” is still active today. Yet despite the group’s longevity their temporary sculptures and performances outdoors and in natural environments have yet to receive substantial scholarly attention. This lack of discursive recognition is connected to the challenges posed by the operation of what Lee calls the “politics of nature” in postcolonial Korea. This already indicates that discussions of nature in contemporary Korean art often consider “nature” as performing the “nation” or even “Eastern metaphysics,” conflating different levels and types of signifiers.

Seeing nature as a concept that has been constantly reformulated in its fraught relationship with (neo-) colonial history, this lecture situates Yatoo within South Korean art’s historical occupation of nature. In doing so, it focuses on the histories of the late 1960s and 70s experimental art in outdoor spaces, the 1970s and 80s politicized ideas of “vibrant site (hyŏnjang)” and “residing in wilderness (cheya),” and monochrome painting called tansaekhwa in the 1970s and its connection with the rhetoric of naturalism (chayŏnjuŭi).

Sohl Lee is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Art History and Criticism at the State University of New York at Stony Brook. Her research and teaching focus on modern and contemporary art in East Asia. Tentatively titled The Democratic Avant-garde: Art and Revolutionary Subjectivity in South Korea, her current book project traces the multifaceted process in which a particular politics of aesthetics emerged during the country’s democratization. Her English and Korean publications have appeared in Yishu: Journal for Contemporary Chinese Art, Art Journal, Journal of Korean Studies, InVisible Culture, Art in Culture, and Monthly Art.

Sa, 01. Juli 2017

Sohl Lee: Radicalism in Non-Success: The Politics of Nature, Yatoo, and South Korean Art

Im Dong-sik,

Im Dong-sik, "Towards the Grass" (1981). Courtesy of Yatoo

Das Kunstkollektiv Yatoo wurde 1981 auf dem trockenen Flussbett des Kŭm Flusses in der Nähe von Gongj in Südkorea gegründet. Yatoo, was übersetzt so viel heißt wie „sich in die Wildnis werfen“ ist heute immer noch aktiv. Trotz der Langlebigkeit des Kollektivs sind seine flüchtigen Skulpturen and die im Freien und der Natur stattfindenden Performances auch heute noch weitestgehend unerforscht. Das Fehlen von wissenschaftlicher und diskursiver Anerkennung kann mit der Bewegung in Verbindung gebracht werden, die Lee als „Politik der Natur“ im postkolonialen Korea bezeichnet – und die sich darauf bezieht, dass „Natur“ im zeitgenössischen Korea oft so diskutiert wird, als ob sie die „Nation“ oder sogar eine „östliche Metaphysik“ repräsentiert. Durch diese Zusammenfassungen werden jedoch verschiedene Ebenen und Formen von Bedeutungsträgern vermischt.

Während Lee folglich die Natur als Konzept beschreibt, das durch seine fälschlich dargestellte Beziehung zur (neo)kolonialen Geschichte immer wieder umformuliert wurde, widmet sie sich in ihrem Vortrag dem Künstler*innenkollektiv Yatoo und verortet es innerhalb der historischen Beschäftigung mit Natur in der südkoreanischen Kunst. Hierbei geht sie besonders auf die Geschichte der experimentellen, im Feien präsentierten Kunst der späten 1960er und der 1970er Jahre ein sowie auf die in den 1970er und 1980er Jahren politisierte Idee des „lebendigen Schauplatzes (hyŏnjang)” und des „Aufenthalts in der Wildnis (cheya) “. Nicht zuletzt diskutiert Lee in diesem Zusammenhang eine Form des monochromen Gemäldes, das in den 1970er Jahres praktizierte tansaekhwa, und untersucht seine Verbindung zur Rhetorik des Naturalismusses (chayŏnjuŭi).

Sohl Lee ist Assistant Professor der Kunstgeschichte und Kunstkritik an der State University of New York in Stony Brook. Sie forscht und lehrt zu moderner und zeitgenössischer Kunst in Ostasien. Momentan arbeitet sie an einem Buch, das den Arbeitstitel The Democratic Avant-garde: Art and Revolutionary Subjectivity in South Korea trägt und den facettenreichen Prozess nachvollzieht, durch den in Südkorea während der Demokratisierung eine bestimmte Politik der Ästhetik entstand. Ihre zahlreichen englischsprachigen und koreanischen Veröffentlichungen erschienen unter anderem in Yishu: Journal for Contemporary Chinese Art, Art Journal, Journal of Korean Studies, InVisible Culture, Art in Culture und Monthly Art.