Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

2017, Sat, Jul 01

Arnika Fuhrmann: Lament of Desire: Loss and Intimacy in the Art of Araya Rasdjarmrearnsook

In her talk Arnika Fuhrmann undertakes a queer-feminist analysis of the contemporary Thai artist Araya Rasdjarmrearnsook’s videos about intimacy and exchange with the dead. From 1997 until the mid-2000s this artist returned repeatedly to a hospital morgue to perform with corpses in different scenes and arrangements. Focusing on conceptual and performative aspects of Rasdjarmrearnsook’s video work, this talk considers how scenarios of loss and invocations of scenes of intimacy are made to relate in the films. It examines how Rasdjarmrearnsook’s work defamiliarizes the popular conventions of depicting female death and attachment to the dead female body in Thailand.

Using death as a register of the sexual, Rasdjarmrearnsook’s videos aim to create feminist publics by rooting desire in literal forms of negativity. They deploy Buddhist melancholia, or the conventions of depicting female death and the erotic, to extend our notions of desire beyond physical possibility and to previously unimagined objects.

Arnika Fuhrmann is an interdisciplinary scholar of Southeast Asia, currently at Cornell University’s Department of Asian Studies, working at the intersections of the region’s aesthetic and political modernities. Her book Ghostly Desires: Queer Sexuality and Vernacular Buddhism in Contemporary Thai Cinema (2016) examines struggles over sexuality, personhood, and collectivity in contemporary Thai cinema. Her project Digital Futures: The Time and Politics of Media in South/East Asia focuses on how the study of new media allows for a perspective on the political public sphere that transcends commonplace distinctions between liberalism and illiberalism. This project intersects with her interests in the transformation of cities in contemporary Southeast and East Asia.

Sa, 01. Juli 2017

Arnika Fuhrmann: Lament of Desire: Loss and Intimacy in the Art of Araya Rasdjarmrearnsook

In ihrem Vortrag unternimmt Arnika Fuhrmann eine queer-feministische Analyse von Videoarbeiten der thailändischen zeitgenössischen Künstlerin Araya Rasdjarmrearnsook, in denen es um Intimität und das Verhältnis zu den Toten geht. Von 1997 bis Mitte der 2000er Jahre suchte die Künstlerin mehrfach die Leichenhalle eines Krankenhauses auf, um in verschiedenen Szenen und Arrangements Performances mit Leichnamen durchzuführen. Mit dem Blick auf die konzeptuellen und darstellerischen Aspekte in Rasdjarmrearnsooks Videokunst, diskutiert Fuhrmann, wie Verlust und das Beschwören von Intimität in diesen Filmen szenisch vermittelt werden. Außerdem wird aufgezeigt, wie Rasdjarmrearnsook gängige Konventionen der Darstellung des Todes von Frauen verfremdet sowie die Art, wie der tote weibliche Körper in Thailand bewertet wird.

Indem sie den Tod als Register des Sexuellen nutzen und das Begehren in direkten und konkreten Formen von Negativität verankern, wollen Rasdjarmrearnsooks Arbeiten feministische Öffentlichkeiten erzeugen. Sie arbeiten mit buddhistischer Melancholie oder den Konventionen der Darstellung weiblichen Sterbens und weiblicher Erotik, um die Wahrnehmung des Begehrens über das körperlich Mögliche hinaus auf bislang noch nicht vorgestellte Objekte auszudehnen.

Arnika Fuhrmann ist eine interdisziplinär arbeitende Wissenschaftlerin und erforscht zurzeit am Department of Asian Studies der Cornell University den Grenzbereich zwischen ästhetischer und politischer Moderne in Südostasien. Ihr Buch Ghostly Desires: Queer Sexuality and Vernacular Buddhism in Contemporary Thai Cinema (2016) behandelt das Ringen um Sexualität, Persönlichkeit und gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhalt im zeitgenössischen thailändischen Film. Ihr Projekt Digital Futures: The Time and Politics of Media in South/East Asia untersucht, ob die neuen Medien eine Öffentlichkeit jenseits der konventionellen Unterscheidung zwischen liberal und illiberal hervorbringen können. Dieses Projekt überschneidet sich thematisch auch mit ihrem Interesse am Wandel der Städte im heutigen Ost- und Südostasien.