2017, Sun, Jun 18

Mark Teh: Ashes / Exiles

Performance by Faiq Syazwan Kuhiri and Imri Nasution

Photo: Yoshikazu Inoue

Photo: Yoshikazu Inoue

In his performance lecture, Mark Teh examines how public enemies are created, circulated, and remembered in Malaysia through the figure of Chin Peng, a communist leader and once the most wanted man in the British Empire.

Faiq Syazwan Kuhiri is an actor, performer, and member of the devised theatre based in Kuala Lumpur. His most recent collaborations include his current work, The Complete Futures of Malaysia Chapter 1, which is part installation, part research, and part performance project that he produced together with Ali Alasri, Mark Teh, and Wong Tay Sy. In 2016, he realized B.E.D (2016), a site specific dance piece choreographed by Lee Ren Xin, and in 2015 Mark Teh’s documentary theatre performance Baling. Other projects include 2 minute solos (Ballad Of The Ultras, 2014) and Something I Wrote (2013).

Imri Nasution is a graduate of the Malaysian Film Academy. Since earning his degree, Nasution has co-founded a production company called Kino-i Pictures. In addition to filmmaking, he has realized a variety of projects ranging from music videos and documentaries to drama and comedy series, and many other formats. He currently teaches film at local universities while also directing film projects and contributing to several arts and community projects.

Mark Teh is a director, researcher, and organizer whose diverse projects are particularly engaged with the issues of history, memory, and the urban context. His collaborative practice is situated primarily in performance, but also operates via exhibitions, interventions, new media, education, curating, and writing. He conceived and directed Baling (2015), a documentary performance that reinvestigated the historic 1955 Baling Talks in Malaya. Mark graduated with an MA in Art and Politics from Goldsmiths, University of London, and is a member of Five Arts Centre, a collective of interdisciplinary artists, producers, and activists in Malaysia.

So, 18. Juni 2017

Mark Teh: Ashes / Exiles

Performance von Faiq Syazwan Kuhiri und Imri Nasution

Foto: Yoshikazu Inoue

Foto: Yoshikazu Inoue

In seiner Performance-Lecture untersucht Mark Teh anhand der Figur von Chin Peng, dem Kommunistenführer und einmal meistgesuchten Mann im britischen Empire, wie Staatsfeinde in Malaysia geschaffen, zirkuliert und erinnert werden.

Faiq Syazwan Kuhiri ist Schauspieler und Performer aus Kuala Lumpur; er entwickelt seine Arbeiten häufig in Zusammenarbeit mit anderen. Zu den jüngeren Arbeiten, an denen er beteiligt war, gehören The Complete Futures of Malaysia Chapter 1 (2017- heute) – ein Projekt, das sich aus Installation, Recherche und Performance zusammensetzt und von ihm gemeinsam mit Ali Alasri, Mark Teh und Wong Tay Sy entwickelt wurde, B.E.D (2016) – ein von Lee Ren Xin choreographiertes ortsspezifisches Tanzstück, sowie Baling (2015), eine dokumentarische Theaterperformance von Mark Teh. Zu seinen weiteren Projekten zählen außerdem 2 Minute Solos (Ballad of the Ultras) (2014) und Something I Wrote (2013).

Imri Nasution erhielt seine Ausbildung als Filmemacher an der Malaysian Film Academy. Nach seinem Abschluss gründete er mit engen Freunden und Mitstreiterinnen die Produktionsfirma Kino‐i Pictures. Er hat eine große Bandbreite von Projekten verantwortet, von Musikvideos und Dokumentarfilmen bis hin zu Drama- und Comedyserien. Aktuell lehrt er Film an mehreren Universitäten und ist involviert in Film-, Kunst- und Communityprojekte.

Mark Teh ist Regisseur, Rechercheur und Organisator, dessen unterschiedliche Projekte sich mit Fragen von Geschichte, Erinnerung und Urbanität befassen. Der Schwerpunkt seiner kollaborativen Praxis liegt auf Performance, aber ebenso agiert er durch Ausstellungen, Interventionen, neue Medien, Bildungsarbeit, kuratorische Arbeit und als Autor. Er konzipierte Baling (2015), eine dokumentarische Performance, die die historischen Baling Talks in Malaya neu untersucht; hier führte er auch Regie. Mark Teh schloss sein Studium am Goldsmiths, University of London, mit einem MA in Kunst und Politik ab. Er ist Mitglied des Five Arts Centre, einem Kollektiv von interdisziplinären Künstler*innen, Produzent*innen und Aktivist*innen in Malaysia.