2017, Sat, Jul 08

Bodies of Fact: The Archive from Witness to Voice

With Filipa César, Grada Kilomba, Diana McCarty and Krista Belle Stewart, moderated by Denise Ryner

Krista Belle Stewart, Seraphine, Seraphine, digital video still, September 17, 1967. Image courtesy the artist.

Krista Belle Stewart, Seraphine, Seraphine, digital video still, September 17, 1967. Image courtesy the artist.

Institutionalization and positioning are conducted through the regulatory system of the archive and the document. In the film works shown, Filipa César, Grada Kilomba, Diana McCarty and Krista Belle Stewart shift the reading of archival footage from universal, political and cultural fact to one that imagines documents as extensions of private witnessing and embodied memory.

The artists in this program counter the historicizing of archival footage. They will join curator Denise Ryner to discuss how they address the material and aesthetic legacies of colonial encounters and decolonization through archival footage in their respective works. Can archival documents be diverted from their intended service to ethnographic practice, cultural regulation or national narratives?

Conakry (2013), directed by Filipa César, superimposes archival film, commissioned by the leader of Guinea-Bissau's independence movement, Amílcar Cabral, with the words of artist and writer, Grada Kilomba, and radio activist Diana McCarty, into a reflection on personal and cultural sovereignty. Thus, a journey through time, space and media unfolds. The film staged at Haus der Kulturen der Welt is a sequence shot on 16mm.

In Seraphine, Seraphine (2015) Krista Belle Stewart intermixes documentary footage of the artist's mother, Seraphine Stewart, in the moments of private memory and public inquiry that bookend her life as Canada's first Indigenous public health nurse and survivor of an oppressive system of cultural genocide, Canada's now defunct Indian Residential School Program. The senior Stewart appears in a 1967 documentary, in which she is profiled as a young nursing student, and in footage of her 2013 testimony before the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada.

Filipa César is a filmmaker and artist who is concerned with the porous boundaries between the moving image and its reception, the fictional dimensions of the documentary, and the economies, politics, and poetics inherent to cinema praxis. Her ongoing work with the visual archives and critical filmmaking in Guinea-Bissau most recently resulted in a collaboration with Guinean filmmaker Sana na N'Hada entitled Spell Reel (2017), which was presented in the 2017 Berlinale Forum program. César is originally from Porto, Portugal and now lives and works in Berlin.

Grada Kilomba is a Berlin-based, Portuguese interdisciplinary artist and writer working on the themes of memory, trauma, race, gender and the “post-colonial condition.” She has presented her work internationally including most recently at documenta 14, 32a Bienal de São Paulo 2016, Art Basel 2016, Cape Town Art Fair, transmediale, Secession Museum Vienna. Through her artworks, Kilomba addresses what she terms “the colonial wound,” by exploring new formats to decolonize knowledge and narrative.

Diana McCarty lives and works in Berlin. She co-founded the renowned free artists' radio reboot.fm/88.4 FM, kotti.fm, the radia.fm cultural radio network and the faces-l international community for women in media. She was active in early netzkultur with nettime, metaforum and hackerspaces. She co-initiated the exhibition Nervous Systems. Quantified Life and the Social Question (2016) at HKW. McCarty collaborated with Filipa César and Grada Kilomba on the short film Conakry (2013), part of the ongoing Luta ca caba inda project, with which she continues to work.

Krista Belle Stewart’s work engages the complexities of archival material through processes that allow for both intimacy and coincidence, and the atemporal meeting of actors across time. Working with video, photography, design, ephemera and textiles, Stewart straddles the gaps between personal and institutional histories through transparent mediation. Her work has been exhibited across Canada and in the United States. Stewart lives and works in Vancouver, Canada on the unceded traditional territories of the Musqueam, Squamish and Tsleil-Waututh First Nations.

Supported by the British Columbia Arts Council, the Canada Council for the Arts and the Embassy of Canada.

Sa, 08. Juli 2017

Bodies of Fact: Das Archiv als Zeuge und Stimme

Mit Filipa César, Grada Kilomba, Diana McCarty und Krista Belle Stewart, Moderation: Denise Ryner

Krista Belle Stewart, Seraphine, Seraphine, digital video still, September 17, 1967. Image courtesy the artist.

Krista Belle Stewart, Seraphine, Seraphine, digital video still, September 17, 1967. Image courtesy the artist.

Das Archiv als Ordnungsverfahren teilt gesellschaftliche Positionen zu und festigt sie. In den gezeigten filmischen Arbeiten deuten Filipa César, Grada Kilomba, Diana McCarty und Krista Belle Stewart dokumentarische Bewegtbilder von Kolonialismus und Entkolonialisierung um. Statt als politische und kulturelle Fakten lesen sie diese neu als private Zeugnisse und verkörpertes Gedächtnis.

Die Künstlerinnen entgegnen in ihren aktuellen Arbeiten der Tendenz zur Historisierung von Archivmaterialien. Mit der Kuratorin Denise Ryner sprechen sie über ihre Auseinandersetzung mit dem materiellen und ästhetischen Erbe von Kolonialismus und Entkolonialisierung. Lassen sich dokumentarische Bilder ihrer ursprünglich ethnografischen Zwecke, ihrer Funktion der kulturellen Regulierung oder Konstitution von Nationalerzählungen entfremden?

In dem Film Conakry (2013) überlagert die Künstlerin Filipa César Aufnahmen aus dem Filmarchiv der Unabhängigkeitsbewegung Guinea-Bissaus von 1972 mit den Reflektionen der Künstlerin Grada Kilomba und der Radio-Aktivistin Diana McCarty, die diese Bilder und ihre Geschichte hinterfragen und mit ihren eigenen Erinnerungen verknüpfen. So entsteht eine Reise durch Zeit, Raum und Medien. Der 16-mm-Film entstand in einer einzigen Einstellung am Haus der Kulturen der Welt.

In Seraphine, Seraphine (2015) montiert Krista Belle Stewart dokumentarisches Filmmaterial ihrer Mutter Seraphine zu Momenten eines Lebens zwischen privater Erinnerung und öffentlicher Anhörung: Ausschnitte eines Doku-Dramas von 1967 zeigen die Mutter als erste indigene Krankenpflegerin in der staatlichen Gesundheitsvorsorge Kanadas. Aufnahmen von 2013 dokumentieren ihre Aussage als Überlebende vor der kanadischen Wahrheits- und Versöhnungskommission, die die systematische Unterdrückung und den kulturellen Genozid an der indigenen Bevölkerung durch das staatliche Schulsystem untersuchte.

Filipa César arbeitet als Filmemacherin und Künstlerin an den durchlässigen Grenzen zwischen dem Bewegtbild und den Sphären seiner Rezeption, zwischen Fiktion und Dokumentation sowie den wirtschaftlichen, politischen und poetischen Dimensionen des Filmschaffens. Ihre fortlaufende Arbeit mit Bildarchiven und kritischem Film in Guinea-Bissau mündete zuletzt in Spell Reel (2017), einer Zusammenarbeit mit dem Guineischen Filmemacher Sana na N'Hada, die im selben Jahr im Forum-Programm der Berlinale gezeigt wurde. César stammt aus Porto (Portugal) und lebt zurzeit in Berlin.

Grada Kilomba, portugiesische Autorin und interdisziplinäre Künstlerin, beschäftigt sich mit den Themen Erinnerung, Trauma, Rassismus, Geschlecht und Postkolonialismus. Sie hat ihre Arbeiten international gezeigt, unter anderem bei der documenta 14, der 32a Bienal de São Paulo 2016, der Art Basel 2016, der Cape Town Art Fair, der transmediale, und an der Wiener Secession. In ihrer Arbeit adressiert Kilomba über die Erforschung neuer Formate die „koloniale Wunde“, um Wissen und Geschichte(n) zu dekolonialisieren. Kilomba lebt in Berlin.

Diana McCarty lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. Sie ist Mitbegründerin des bekannten freien Künstlerradios reboot.fm/88.4 FM, von kotti.fm, von radia.fm, einem Netzwerk von Kulturradios, und von faces-l, einer internationalen Community für Frauen in den Medien. Mit nettime, metaforum and hackerspaces war sie schon in der frühen Netzkultur aktiv. Sie ko-initiierte die HKW-Ausstellung Nervöse Systeme. Quantifiziertes Leben und die soziale Frage (2016) und arbeitete mit Filipa César und Grada Kilomba an dem Kurzfilm Conakry (2013), Teil des fortlaufenden Projekts Luta ca caba inda.

Krista Belle Stewart arbeitet mit der Vielschichtigkeit von Archivmaterial und nutzt Prozesse, die Intimität und Zufall ebenso zulassen wie das Aufeinandertreffen von Personen aus unterschiedlichen Zeiten. Ausgehend von Video, Fotografie, Design, Gebrauchsgrafik und Textilien bewältigt sie den Spagat zwischen persönlichen und institutionellen Geschichten, indem sie vermittelt und Transparenz schafft. Ihre Arbeit wurde in Kanada und den USA ausgestellt. Sie lebt in Vancouver, Kanada, auf dem nie offiziell abgetreten Gebiet der Musqueam-, Squamish- und Tsleil-Waututh-First Nations.

Unterstützt von dem British Columbia Arts Council, dem Canada Council for the Arts und der Botschaft von Kanada.