2017, Fri, May 05

Schools of Tomorrow: Afternoon Workshops

Workshop #6:
Digital Self-Empowerment for the Caretakers of Tomorrow

How can schools become places in which digital empowerment is lived and practiced, seen through, and criticized? Only those who experience their own effectiveness will have the urge to improve the world. How can schools create a culture of free action, of sharing, and self-determined learning processes? How can a common understanding of learning for the future be established now, an understanding which does not just benefit the next generation after? How can the education system be changed now and equipped to deal with new learning forms and possibilities? School students from the Jugend hackt program, together with Paula Glaser and the educationalist and media researcher Benjamin Jörissenand Dorina Gumm (Chaos macht Schule) address these questions and develop ideas for a “School of Tomorrow”. Moderation: Marcus Richter
In German

Workshop #7:
Analog Learning Environments

What relevance do sensuous-haptic experiences have in the digital age? What spatial design is required for the school of tomorrow? And how would students design their school? The historian of education Catherine Burke reports from the ideas competition The School I‘d Like, which she conducted at British schools in 2001 and 2011 with the daily newspaper The Guardian. The architecture collective raumlabor shares its experiences with participative design processes. Claudia Krötenheerdt and Nico Künzel speak about educational practices at the Hagenbeck School in Berlin which has integrated a school zoo and farm with over 700 animals into the curriculum. Moderation: Robert Pfützner (educational researcher)
In German and English with simultaneous translation

Workshop #8:
Play and Experience

How can playful learning stimulate the imagination and open up new realms of experience – and not just amongst young children? The game designer Katie Salen Tekinbaș, co-founder of the Quest to Learn School in New York, provides an introduction to the field. Heidi Sairanen and Sara Sintonen from the Playful Learning Center, Helsinki University, speak about playing as a creative approach and its importance for learning. The theatre director Gert-Jan Stam presents the PlayGround-Toolkit, a co-creative, do-it-together theater play. At Onkar Kular and Martin Edwarde’s Night School on Anarres utopian languages are taught. Moderation: Katja Zeidler (art educator, Kunstwerke Berlin)
In English

Workshop #9:
Democratization of Knowledge

What forms of knowledge do schools recognize? How is knowledge that facilitates social action and participation generated? How can schools be organized democratically? And what effect does the democratization of knowledge have on the learning achievements of students? The sociologist of education Luis Armando Gandin examines the school project Escola da Cidadania in Porto Alegre, Brazil. Dialog macht Schule presents its approach of strengthening democratic skills. The teacher Malte Piecyk, Demokratische Schule X, and Virág Major, who works in Budapest with Freinet pedagogy, report from the field. Moderation: Ferdiansyah Thajib (Kunci School for Improper Education)
In English

Workshop #10:
Post Internet Art Education

Learning with and from the arts means developing active, critical, and configurative skills. What phenomena must art education address in the context of a digitally networked global society? What importance is assigned to participative intelligence and collective creativity? How can art reprogram the traditional protocols in the daily life of a school? The workshop encompassing performative micro actions is led by the art educators María Acaso, member of the collective “Pedagogías Invisibles” and director of the “Escuela de Educación Disruptiva”, and Gila Kolb, co-founder of the interview blog The Art Educator’s Talk and assistant researcher at the University of Cologne. The pedagogue Mai-Anh Julia Boger from the University of Bielefeld, Anna Chrusciel from Zürcher Hochschule der Künste as well as Laura Hatfield and Maj Hasager from Malmö Art Academy report from the educational field.
In German and English with simultaneous translation

Do 14.06. – Di 17.07. Verkehrseinschränkungen rund um das HKW. Mehr

Fr, 05. Mai 2017

Schools of Tomorrow: Workshops am Nachmittag

Workshop #6:
Digitale Selbstermächtigung für die Weltverbesserer*innen von morgen

Wie werden Schulen zu Orten, in denen digitale Ermächtigung gelebt und praktiziert, durchschaut und auch kritisiert wird? Nur wer seine eigene Wirksamkeit erfährt, wird die Welt verbessern wollen. Wie können Schulen eine Kultur der freien Gestaltung, des Teilens und selbstbestimmter Lernprozesse herstellen? Wie kann jetzt ein gemeinsames Verständnis vom Lernen für die Zukunft gefunden werden, von dem nicht erst die übernächste Generation profitiert? Wie ließe sich das Bildungssystem schon heute verändern und mit neuen Lernformen und Möglichkeiten umgehen? Schüler*innen des Programms Jugend hackt gehen gemeinsam mit Paula Glaser dem Erziehungswissenschaftler und Medienforscher Benjamin Jörissen und Dorina Gumm von Chaos macht Schule diesen Fragen nach und arbeiten an der Idee für eine „School of Tomorrow“.
Moderation: Marcus Richter
Auf Deutsch

Workshop #7:
Analoge Lernumgebungen

Welche Bedeutung haben sinnlich-haptische Erfahrungen in digitalen Zeiten? Welches Raumdesign braucht die Schule von morgen? Und wie würden Schüler*innen ihre Schule selbst gestalten? Die Bildungshistorikerin Catherine Burke berichtet vom Ideenwettbewerb The School I‘d Like, den sie 2001 und 2011 mit der Tageszeitung The Guardian an Schulen in Großbritannien durchführte. Das Architekturkollektiv raumlabor steuert seine Erfahrung mit partizipativen Gestaltungsprozessen bei. Claudia Krötenheerdt und Nico Künzel sprechen über die Schulpraxis in der Hagenbeck-Schule Berlin, die einen Schulzoo und -bauernhof mit über 700 Tieren in den Unterricht integriert. Moderation: Robert Pfützner (Erziehungswissenschaftler)
Auf Deutsch und Englisch mit Simultanübersetzung

Workshop #8:
Spiel als Erfahrung

Wie kann spielerisches Lernen Imagination fördern und Erfahrungsräume öffnen – nicht nur bei Kleinkindern? Die Game-Designerin Katie Salen Tekinbaș, Mitbegründerin der Quest to Learn-Schule in New York, führt in die Materie ein. Über das Spielen als kreative Haltung und ihre Bedeutung für das Lernen sprechen Heidi Sairanen und Sara Sintonen vom Playful Learning Center, Universität Helsinki. Der Theatermacher Gert-Jan Stam präsentiert den PlayGround-Toolkit, ein ko-kreatives Do-It-Together-Theaterspiel. Bei Onkar Kular und Martin Edwardes Night School on Anarres werden utopische Sprachen gelernt. Moderation: Katja Zeidler (Kunstvermittlerin Kunstwerke Berlin)
Auf Englisch

Workshop #9:
Demokratisierung des Wissens

Welche Wissensformen erkennt Schule an? Wie entsteht Wissen, das gesellschaftliches Handeln und Teilhaben ermächtigt? Wie kann Schule demokratisch gestaltet werden? Und welche Auswirkungen hat eine Demokratisierung des Wissens auf die Lernerfolge von Schüler*innen? Der Bildungssoziologe Luis Armando Gandin untersucht das Schulprojekt Escola da Cidadania in Porto Alegre, Brasilien. Dialog macht Schule erläutert seinen Ansatz, demokratische Handlungskompetenzen zu stärken. Aus der Schulpraxis berichten der Lehrer Malte Piecyk, Demokratische Schule X, und Virág Major, die in Budapest mit Freinet-Pädagogik arbeitet. Moderation: Ferdiansyah Thajib (Kunci School for Improper Education)
Auf Englisch

Workshop #10:
Post Internet Art Education

Von und mit den Künsten lernen heißt, Handlungs-, Kritik- und Gestaltungsfähigkeit auszubilden: Welchen Phänomenen muss sich Art Education im Kontext der digital vernetzten Weltgesellschaft stellen? Welche Bedeutung kommen partizipativer Intelligenz und kollektiver Kreativität zu? Wie kann Kunst im Schulalltag die tradierten Protokolle umprogrammieren? Durchgeführt wird der Workshop, der performatives Probehandeln beinhaltet, von den Kunstvermittlerinnen María Acaso, Mitglied des Kollektivs „Pedagogías Invisibles“ und Direktorin der „Escuela de Educación Disruptiva“, und Gila Kolb, Mitbegründerin des Interview-Blogs The Art Educator’s Talk und wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin im Institut für Kunst & Kunsttheorie der Universität Köln. Aus der Schul- und Vermittlungspraxis berichtet u. a. die (Sonder-)Pädagogin Mai-Anh Julia Boger von der Universität Bielefeld, Anna Chrusciel von der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste sowie Laura Hatfield und Maj Hasager von der Malmö Art Academy.
Auf Deutsch und Englisch mit Simultanübersetzung