2017, Fri, May 05

Schools of Tomorrow: Morning Workshops

Workshop #1:
Schools as Research Laboratories

Every person is born a researcher. This premise is at the heart of the Paris-based Savanturiers - École de la Recherche, which combines school practice with the training of teachers and the cutting-edge university research of the Centre de Recherches Interdisciplinaires. Co-founder Ange Ansour provides an introduction to its methodology: In cooperation with scientific mentors the classroom is transformed into a laboratory. In research projects scientific systematics, critical thinking, creativity, and cooperation are trained. Her case study revolves around a critical engagement with neurosciences and is complemented with reports from local practice, by Eiken Prinz from the Club of Rome School Network Network and Johannes Koska (Haus der Kleinen Forscher). Moderation: Karin Schneider (art educator, University of Applied Art Vienna)
In German and English with simultaneous translation

Workshop #2:
Alternatives from the Teaching Machine

Which teaching and learning cultures does a heterogeneous society need? How do schools become learning organizations – for children, young people, and adults? In discussion with Markus Schega, Director of the Nürtinger Elementary School in Berlin-Kreuzberg, and Stefan Wellgraf from the department of cultural and social anthropology of the Europa-Universität Viadrina, María do Mar Castro Varela, Professor of Education and Social Work, explores strategies for transforming schools into sites where education seems desirable. They examine, amongst others, the importance of art and media education, participation processes, and the challenges of malfunctioning “teaching machines.”
Moderation: Caroline Assad (educational researcher)
In German

Workshop #3:
The Challenge of Multilingualism

In many European cities, the classroom has become a linguistic contact zone, giving rise to new challenges for the teaching of language skills. How are multilingual students supported in the learning of German as a second or third language? Which structural preconditions promote the development of interpretation and production skills? Alisha M. B. Heinemann and Natascha Khakpour (Institute for German Philology, University of Vienna) examine the relation between multilingualism in the migration society and conceptual monolingualism in the class room. Jasmin Ibrahim (JugendTheaterBüro Berlin) and Michaela Schmitt-Reiners (Association of Bi-National Families and Partnerships) share their working experiences. Wilfried Stotzka reports from the praxis of the bilingual Staatliche Europa-Schule Berlin.
In German

Workshop #4:
Urban Pedagogy

How can the dynamic of cities, including their contradictions, be made legible for children and young people, what is “urban literacy” and how can it be promoted? How can the knowledge of the past be made productive for the future? The historian Håkan Forsell explains how the metropolitan pedagogy of the 1920s encouraged school children to appropriate the city. Jenn Anne Williams from the New York Center for Urban Pedagogy speaks on the role of art, collaborative research and design in promoting civil society engagement. The workshop is lead by the Zukunftsakademie NRW (Future Academy North-Rhine Westphalia), which with its urban learning program takes city space as the starting point for learning and teaching processes. Further participants include the artists SuperFuture, Wiebke Schlüter, Philine Velhagen, and Mirco Monshausen.
In German and English with simultaneous translation

Workshop #5:
Alliances, Agents, Actors

Which partners can help schools strengthen their social localization and develop new impulses? Alliances with partners from art and culture, as developed by the “Kulturagenten” program, have proved especially successful over recent years. The workshop with MUTIK, a nonprofit organization that networks players from culture and education nationally, will examine why artistic processes are especially suited to promoting change in heterogeneous school communities. Eva Randelzhofer and Ellen Nonnenmacher, freelance artists, present their experiences in a hands-on approach. Simone Twiehaus from the Hessian Ministry of Culture, David Borges from the project Schule:Kultur! in Lower Saxony, as well as Carolin Berendts from the program Kulturagenten für kreative Schulen in Berlin (Culture Agents for Creative Schools) provide field reports.
In German

Fr, 05. Mai 2017

Schools of Tomorrow: Workshops am Vormittag

Workshop #1:
Schulen als Forschungslabore

Jeder Mensch wird als Forscher*in geboren. Unter dieser Prämisse verbindet die Savanturiers - École de la Recherche in Paris Schulpraxis und Lehrer*innenweiterbildung mit der universitären Spitzenforschung des Centre de Recherches Interdisciplinaires. Mitbegründerin Ange Ansour führt in die Methodik ihrer Arbeit ein: In Zusammenarbeit mit wissenschaftlichen Mentor*innen wird das Klassenzimmer zum Labor. In Forschungsprojekten werden wissenschaftliche Systematik, kritisches Denken, Kreativität und Kooperation eingeübt. Im Fallbeispiel geht es um eine kritische Auseinandersetzung mit Neurowissenschaften. Aus der lokalen Praxis berichtet Eiken Prinz vom Club of Rome Schulnetzwerk und Johannes Koska (Haus der Kleinen Forscher).
Moderation: Karin Schneider (Kunstvermittlerin, Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien)
Auf Deutsch und Englisch mit Simultanübersetzung

Workshop #2:
Gegenentwürfe aus der Lehrmaschine

Welche Lern- und Lehrkulturen braucht die heterogene Gesellschaft? Wie werden Schulen zu lernenden Organisationen – für Kinder, Jugendliche und Erwachsene? María do Mar Castro Varela, Professorin für Pädagogik und Soziale Arbeit, erkundet im Gespräch mit Markus Schega, Schulleiter der Nürtinger-Grundschule in Berlin-Kreuzberg, und Stefan Wellgraf, Autor von Hauptschüler. Zur gesellschaftlichen Produktion von Verachtung, welche Strategien Schule in einen Ort verwandeln, in dem Bildung als begehrenswert erscheint. Sie untersuchen u. a. die Bedeutung von Kunst und Medienbildung, von Partizipationsprozessen und die Herausforderungen von nicht funktionierenden „Lehrmaschinen“.
Moderation: Caroline Assad (Erziehungswissenschaftlerin)
Auf Deutsch

Workshop #3:
Herausforderung Mehrsprachigkeit

Schulklassen sind in vielen europäischen Städten zu sprachlichen Kontaktzonen geworden. Für die Vermittlung von Sprachkompetenzen entstehen neue Herausforderungen. Wie werden multilinguale Schüler*innen in der Aneignung von Deutsch als Zweit- oder Drittsprache unterstützt? Welche strukturellen Bedingungen fördern die Entwicklung von Deutungs- und Produktionskompetenzen? Alisha M. B. Heinemann und Natascha Khakpour (Institut für Germanistik und LehrerInnenbildung, Universität Wien) untersuchen das Verhältnis von migrationsgesellschaftlicher Mehrsprachigkeit und konzeptioneller Einsprachigkeit der Schule. Jasmin Ibrahim (JugendTheaterBüro Berlin) und Michaela Schmitt-Reiners (Verband bi-nationaler Familien und Partnerschaften) bringen die Erfahrungen aus ihrer Arbeit ein. Wilfried Stotzka berichtet aus der Praxis der bilingualen Staatlichen Europa-Schule Berlin.
Auf Deutsch

Workshop #4:
Urbanes Lernen

Wie wird die Dynamik von Städten samt ihrer Widersprüche für Kinder und Jugendliche lesbar, was ist „urban literacy“ und wie kann sie gefördert werden? Wie kann das Wissen der Vergangenheit für die Zukunft produktiv gemacht werden? Der Historiker Håkan Forsell erläutert, wie die Großstadtpädagogik der 1920er Schulkinder zur Aneignung der Stadt ermutigte. Jenn Anne Williams vom New Yorker Center for Urban Pedagogy spricht über die Rolle von Kunst, kollaborativer Forschung und Design, um zivilgesellschaftliches Engagement zu fördern. Geleitet wird der Workshop von der Zukunftsakademie NRW, die mit ihrem Programm für Urbanes Lernen den städtischen Raum als Ausgangspunkt für Lern- und Bildungsprozesse nimmt. Weitere Teilnehmer*innen sind die Künstler*innen SuperFuture, Wiebke Schlüter, Philine Velhagen und Mirco Monshausen.
Auf Deutsch und Englisch mit Simultanübersetzung

Workshop #5:
Allianzen, Agent*innen, Akteur*innen

Mit welchen Partner*innen können Schulen ihre gesellschaftliche Verortung stärken und neue Impulse entwickeln? Allianzen mit Partner*innen aus Kunst und Kultur, wie sie das Kulturagenten-Programm aufbaut, haben sich in den letzten Jahren besonders bewährt. Weshalb sich künstlerische Prozesse besonders eignen, um den Wandel in heterogenen Schulgemeinschaften voranzutreiben, untersucht der Workshop mit MUTIK, einer gemeinnützigen Organisation, die bundesweit Akteur*innen aus Kultur und Bildung vernetzt. Eva Randelzhofer und Ellen Nonnenmacher freischaffende Künstlerinnen, zeigen praktisch künstlerische Ansätze auf. Aus der Praxis berichten Simone Twiehaus vom Hessischen Kultusministerium, David Borges vom Projekt Schule:Kultur! in Niedersachsen sowie Carolin Berendts vom Programm Kulturagenten für kreative Schulen Berlin.
Auf Deutsch