HKW will be closed from June 11 to 16. Tickets for Wassermusik are available online. More…

2017, Fri, Apr 21

Yongwoo Lee: Taxidermy of Time: Tigers as Chronotope of Continual Coloniality in Korea

The portrayal of animals and the concept of “animality” has been reflected in the various stages of collective memories in the formation of Korean modernity, throughout the history of Japanese colonialism, the Korean war, anti-communism and Americanism, and Korea’s Vietnam War in the Cold War era.

In this sense, the representational problem of nonhuman and animistic subjectivities in postcolonial Korea casts several seminal questions on the formation of colonial modernity. These can be traced back to the time of the Japanese occupation and postwar dictatorial governmentality through biopolitics by highly racialized tropes and ethicized cultural discourses. Yet, the epistemological dichotomy itself is still embedded in the collective memory of Koreans as a form of racism and xenophobia. Through overviewing theoretical and practical analyses on the subject of human‒animal, discourses of animality, and the images of tigers questioning the relationship between the concept of present-past as the primordial, and animal as chronotope of colonial modernity, Lee will discuss the imaginary mono-ethnic nationalism, symptomatic tropes within the formation of Korean modernity, and its collective unconscious in the postcolonial era through the representation of tigers.

Yongwoo Lee is a media historian and cultural studies scholar based in New York and Seoul. He teaches media and cultural studies of modern Korea, film theory and popular culture in East Asia, intellectual history of wartime Japan and postwar Korea, Korean contemporary art and post/colonial historiography in the Department of East Asian Studies at New York University, New York City.

Fr, 21. April 2017

Yongwoo Lee: Taxidermy of Time: Tigers as Chronotope of Continual Coloniality in Korea

Die Darstellung von Tieren und der Begriff des "Tierischen" folgte den Stadien des kollektiven Gedächtnisses im Zuge der koreanischen Modernisierung von der Zeit der japanischen Kolonialisierung über den Koreakrieg bis zum Antikommunismus und Proamerikanismus und dem koreanischen Vietnamkrieg in der Ära des Kalten Krieges.

So gesehen wirft das Problem der Darstellung nichtmenschlicher und animistischer Wesenheiten im postkolonialen Korea wichtige Fragen zur Ausbildung der kolonialen Moderne auf. Das lässt sich bis auf die Phase der japanischen Besatzung zurückführen und setzte sich während der Diktatur nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg in einer Biopolitik, in aggressiven Rassenklischees und ethnisierten Kulturdiskursen fort. Und doch ist diese epistemologische Dichotomie auch heute noch tief als Rassismus und Fremdenfeindlichkeit in das kollektive Gedächtnis der Koreaner eingebettet. Ausgehend von einer Übersicht der theoretischen und praktischen Analysen zum Thema Mensch-Tier, zu Diskursen des Tierhaften, zum Bild des Tigers als Infragestellung des Verhältnisses zwischen dem Begriff der Gegenwart-Vergangenheit als Ursprung und dem Tier als Chronotopos der kolonialen Moderne erörtert Lee den imaginären Ein-Volk-Nationalismus, symptomatische Tropen des koreanischen Modernisierungsprozesses und das kollektive Unbewusste, wie es sich nach dem Ende der Kolonisation im Bild des Tigers äußerte.

Yongwoo Lee ist Medienhistoriker und Kulturwissenschaftler in New York und Seoul. Er unterrichtet am Department of East Asian Studies der New York University Medien- und Kulturlandschaften des modernen Korea, Filmtheorie und Populärkultur in Ostasien, Geistesgeschichte Japans im Zweiten Weltkrieg, koreanische Gegenwartskunst und postkoloniale Geschichtsschreibung.