2017, Sat, Apr 22

siren eun young jung: Gender Bender Fencers

Yeoseong gukgeuk is an art form similar to Korean traditional opera. It declined after its popularity peaked during the 1950s through 1960s. The tradition combines singing and dancing in order to depict stories of popular myths or novels based on Korean traditional music. All characters of Yeoseong gukgeuk—male or female—are played by women.

A highlight is the realistically fierce sword fight performances of male characters. In a lecture performance, siren eun young jung, emphasizes how performers’ transformations into men problematizes and violates gender normativity, how it is always known as “naturalized,” and journeys through the potential politics of gender through features of the particular theatrical genre of Yeoseong gukgeuk.

siren eun young jung is a visual artist based in Seoul. In her work she constantly attempts to expand the feminist artistic language. Since 2008, she has been working on Yeoseong Gukgeuk Project in which she follows a community of performers of the genre of Yeoseong gukgeuk, a traditional Korean female theater). The project won several prizes. Her works have been included in numerous group exhibitions such as: Taipei Biennial in Taiwan (2016), Gwangju Biennale inKorea (2016), Discordant Harmony, Hiroshima City Museum of Contemporary Art in Japan (2015), and Taipei Kuandu Museum of Fine Art in Taiwan(2016).

Sa, 22. April 2017

siren eun young jung: Gender Bender Fencers

Yeoseong Gukgeuk ist eine Kunstform, die der traditionellen koreanischen Oper ähnelt und seit dem Höhepunkt ihrer Beliebtheit in den Fünfziger - und Sechzigerjahren des vergangenen Jahrhunderts einen Niedergang erlebt.

Sie verbindet Gesang und Tanz zur anschaulichen Erzählung volkstümlicher Mythen und Romane aus dem Repertoire der traditionellen Musik Koreas. Alle Figuren des Yeoseong Gukgeuk werden, ob männlich oder weiblich, von Frauen gespielt. Ein Höhepunkt ist die realistische Schwertkampf-Darbietung zweier männlicher Figuren. In ihrer Vortrags-Performance erörtert siren eun young jung, wie die Verwandlung der Darstellerinnen in Männer beharrlich „naturalisierte“ Geschlechternormen problematisiert. Davon ausgehend steckt sie anhand der Eigenheiten dieser besonderen Theatergattung eine mögliche Politik der Geschlechter ab.

siren eun young jung ist bildende Künstlerin und lebt in Seoul. In ihrer Arbeit trachtet sie stets nach Erweiterung der feministischen Sprache der Kunst. Seit 2008 arbeitet sie am Yeoseong Gukgeuk Project, im Zuge dessen sie eine Truppe von Schauspielerinnen des traditionellen koreanischen Frauentheaters Yeoseong Gukgeuk begleitet. Das Projekt wurde mehrfach ausgezeichnet. Ihre Arbeit war in zahlreichen Gruppenausstellungen vertreten, etwa auf der Taipei Bienniale in Taiwan (2016), auf der Gwangju Biennale in Südkorea (2016), in der Ausstellung Discordant Harmony am Museum für Gegenwartskunst der Stadt Hiroshima in Japan (2015), sowie am Taipei Kuandu Museum of Fine Art in Taiwan (2016).