2017, Sat, Apr 22

The Life of Particles

D: Angela Melitopoulos & Maurizio Lazzarato, Germany 2013, 82 min, OV with English subtitles

Still from The Life of Particles

Still from The Life of Particles

The Life of Particles is the second part of visual research project by Angela Melitopoulos and Maurizio Lazzarato, which is along with the project Assemblages dedicated to the French psychotherapist, political activist, and philosopher Félix Guattari and his interest in Japan.

The Life of Particles enters into a dialogue with the contemporary situation of Japan and the relation between subjectivity, animist spirituality and modern technology in the aftermath of the 2011 earthquake and nuclear disaster. Fukushima compels Japan to look back on it’s history that links animist traditions and hyper-modernity. This catastrophe reveals all what was hidden on all levels of economy, politics and culture.

The Life of Particles is a journey that begins with actual form of colonization in Okinawa through the massive presence of the US military since WWII. The travelogue re-itinerates the “Atom for Peace” campaign in Hiroshima and the reconstruction of Japan as a country built on science within the ideology of the so-called “energy millenarism” as a nuclear dream project during the cold war. It actualizes the long lasting anti-nuclear struggles against the building of a new nuclear power plant on Iwaishi Island. The research ends in Tokyo and Kyoto with comments of the photographer and anthropologist Chihiro Minato and the Bhutto dancer Min Tanaka about Japan’s history of technology in that animist tradition are central for the development of Japanese craft and the relation between nature and culture.

“We cannot resolve the problem of radioactivity with this relation between nature and culture. In Japan after Fukushima geography is psychology. The atmosphere does not move geometrically. We adapt not only to our environment but also to our psychosis.”

Sa, 22. April 2017

The Life of Particles

R: Angela Melitopoulos & Maurizio Lazzarato, Deutschland 2013, 82 min, OmE

Filmstill aus The Life of Particles

Filmstill aus The Life of Particles

The Life of Particles ist der zweite Teil eines Film-Forschungsprojekts von Angela Melitopoulos und Maurizio Lazzarato. Diese Arbeit ist ebenso wie der Film Assemblages dem französischen Psychotherapeuten, politischen Aktivisten und Philosophen Félix Guattari und dessen großem Interesse an Japan gewidmet.

The Life of Particles verhandelt die gegenwärtige Situation in Japan und widmet sich besonders dem Verhältnis von Subjektivität, animistischer Spiritualität und moderner Technologie im Gefolge des Erdbebens und der Atomkatastrophe von 2011. Fukushima konfrontiert Japan mit seiner historischen Verknüpfung von Animismus und Hypermoderne. Diese Katastrophe offenbart alles, was auf den Ebenen der Wirtschaft, Politik und Kultur bislang im Verborgenen geblieben ist.

So beginnt The Life of Particles mit einer Form tatsächlicher Kolonisation, nämlich der Stationierung großer amerikanischer Truppenkontingente auf Okinawa seit Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs. Nach Art einer Reiseerzählung erinnert der Film an die Kampagne „Atom für Frieden“ in Hiroshima und an den Wiederaufbau Japans als Land des wissenschaftlich-technischen Fortschritts im Rahmen eines „Energie-Millenarismus“, eines nuklearen Traumprojekts aus dem Kalten Krieg. Der Film vergegenwärtigt den langjährigen Widerstand gegen den Bau eines Atomkraftwerks auf der Insel Iwaishi. Die Recherchen beginnen in Tokio und enden in Kyoto mit Äußerungen des Fotografen und Ethnologen Chihiro Minato und des Butoh-Tänzers Min Tanaka über Japans Technikgeschichte und die große Bedeutung der animistischen Tradition für diese, aber auch für die Entwicklung japanischer Handwerkstraditionen und den Bezug seiner Kultur zur Natur.

„Wir können das Problem der Radioaktivität mit diesem Verhältnis zwischen Kultur und Natur nicht lösen. Geografie ist in Japan seit Fukushima Psychologie. Die Atmosphäre bewegt sich nicht nach geometrischen Gesetzen. Wir passen uns nicht nur unserer Umwelt, sondern auch unseren Psychosen an.“