Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

2017, Sat, Apr 08

Egyptian Females Experimental Music Session, Olaf Karnik, El Ombligo, Lautari, Conlon Nancarrow

Egyptian Females Experimental Music Session | © Mahmoud Refat

Egyptian Females Experimental Music Session | © Mahmoud Refat

6 pm: Conlon Nancarrows Player Piano | Vortragssaal
7 pm: Lautari | Hirschfeld Bar
8 pm: El Ombligo | Hirschfeld Bar
9 pm: Egyptian Females Experimental Music Session | Hirschfeld Bar
10 pm: Free! Lounge: Olaf Karnik Library Music | Hirschfeld Bar

Conlon Nancarrow’s Player Piano
Conlon Nancarrow’s rhythmically complex, polyvocal compositions go beyond the bounds of what is playable for the human individual. In 1947, disappointed by the limited possibilities of ten fingers, he turned to writing exclusively for the player piano, stamping his compositions single-handedly into punch cards. Dominic Murcott has adapted such a piano for Nancarrow’s compositions. At the HKW he will be performing Studies for Player Piano – completely without a pianist. With an introduction to the work from Dominic Murcott and José Wolffer

Lautari
With fiddle, accordion and contrabass, Lautari are optimally equipped for every village festival. And as it transpires, they have learnt a great deal from Polish village musicians. However, their avant-garde take on traditional compositions also finds favor in Jazz clubs and classical concert halls.

El Ombligo
The navel, El Ombligo, of Colombia’s music scene with its love of experiment is the capital city, Bogotá, birthplace of the psychotropic sounds of the band around contrabassist Santiago Botero. Circulating around Cumbia and Vallenato they continually break into Jazz and free improvisations.

Egyptian Females Experimental Music Session
Asmaa Azzouz, Jacqueline George, Hagar Masoud und Yara Mekawi work with scintillating layers of sound composed of electronics, field recordings, Jazz structures, and concrete sounds. The four women on laptops and mixers invoke the media and sound artist Ahmed Basiony who died in 2011.

Free! Lounge: Olaf Karnik Library Music
Music “for free”: The authors of Library Music, designed for use on TV, in adverts, or computer games, are generally unknown musicians, but also greats such as Ennio Morricone. DJ Olaf Karnik dives in search of these pearls of the parallel world of pop.

Do 14.06. – Di 17.07. Verkehrseinschränkungen rund um das HKW. Mehr

Sa, 08. April 2017

Egyptian Females Experimental Music Session, Olaf Karnik, El Ombligo, Lautari, Conlon Nancarrow

Egyptian Females Experimental Music Session | © Mahmoud Refat

Egyptian Females Experimental Music Session | © Mahmoud Refat

18h: Conlon Nancarrows Player Piano | Vortragssaal
19h: Lautari | Hirschfeld Bar
20h: El Ombligo | Hirschfeld Bar
21h: Egyptian Females Experimental Music Session | Hirschfeld Bar
22h: Free! Lounge: Olaf Karnik Library Music | Hirschfeld Bar

Conlon Nancarrows Player Piano
Tonkaskaden von der Klavierwalze: Conlon Nancarrows rhythmisch komplexe, vielstimmige Kompositionen sprengen die Grenzen dessen, was für Menschen spielbar ist. Von den beschränkten Möglichkeiten der zehn Finger enttäuscht, schrieb er ab 1947 nur noch für mechanisches Klavier und stanzte dafür seine Kompositionen eigenhändig in Lochkarten. Der Komponist Dominic Murcott, der bei der Art-Pop Band The High Llamas Vibraphon spielt, hat ein solches Klavier für Nancarrows Kompositionen adaptiert. Im HKW führt es die Studies for Player Piano auf – ganz ohne Pianist*in. Mit Werkeinführung von Dominic Murcott und dem Musiker und Kurator José Wolffer

Lautari
Mit Fiddle, Akkordeon und Kontrabass sind Lautari bestens gerüstet für jedes Dorffest. Doch trifft ihre avantgardistische Sicht auf traditionelle Stücke auch in Jazzclubs und Philharmonien auf Gefallen. Tatsächlich haben sie viel von polnischen Dorfmusiker*innen gelernt – nachzuhören zum Beispiel auf ihrem Album Vol. 67: Hier bürsten sie polnische Volkslieder gegen den Strich, die der Ethnograf Oskar Kolberg im 19. Jahrhundert gesammelt hat.

El Ombligo
Den Nabel, El Ombligo, von Kolumbiens experimentierfreudiger Musikszene bildet die Hauptstadt Bogotá. Hier entstehen die psychotropen Sounds der Truppe von Kontrabassist Santiago Botero. Mit Gitarre, Bass, Schlagzeug und Tasteninstrumenten von Fender Rhodes bis Melodica kreisen sie um Cumbia und Vallenato und brechen dabei immer wieder in Jazz und freie Improvisation aus.

Egyptian Females Experimental Music Session
Mit flirrenden Klangschichten aus Elektronik, Jazzstrukturen und konkretem Geräusch arbeiten Egyptian Female Experimental Music Session. Asmaa Azzouz, Jacqueline George, Hagar Masoud und Yara Mekawi berufen sich auf den Medien- und Soundkünstler Ahmed Basiony, der 2011 bei der ägyptischen Revolution ums Leben kam. Von ihren Laptops und Mischpulten aus öffnen sie Landschaften aus elektronischen Beats und Field Recordings der Klangwelt von Kairo.

Free! Lounge: Olaf Karnik Library Music
Musik „for free“: Library-Musik ist zur Vertonung von Medienproduktionen, zum Einsatz in TV, Werbung oder Computerspielen gedacht. Ihre Urheber*innen sind meist unbekannte Musiker und Produzentinnen aus der zweiten Reihe, aber auch Größen wie Ennio Morricone. DJ Olaf Karnik taucht nach den Perlen dieser Parallelwelt des Pop.