2016, Sat, Apr 02

Solidarity in Question

With Kader Attia and Doreen Mende, introduction and moderation: Paz Guevara

What if the internationalist project of “solidarity” continued the global Cold War by way of images, exhibitions and architectures? What if solidarity itself was a particular form of political paradox? The conversation addresses questions of solidarity constituted around 1980 between East-Germany, Palestine, Algeria and Chile. A moment in which the act of “showing solidarity”, in the words of East German filmmaker Iris Gusner, became a “bureaucratic act.” A moment in which solidarity as a declaration of socialist internationalism overlaps with the United Nations discourse of human rights that aimed to supersede it. The question of solidarity thus emerges in the tensions within and the torsions between state-sponsored programs and informal alliances, socialist friendships and emancipatory camaraderie, between protocols, policies and pathos.

Kader Attia grew up in both Algeria and the suburbs of Paris, and uses this experience of living as a part of two cultures as a starting point to develop a dynamic practice that reflects on aesthetics and ethics of different cultures. He takes a poetic and symbolic approach to exploring the wide-ranging repercussions of Western modern cultural hegemony and colonialism on non-Western cultures, investigating identity politics of historical and colonial eras, from Tradition to Modernity, in the light of our globalized world, of which he creates a genealogy. For several years, his research focuses on the concept of Repair, as a constant in Human Nature, of which the modern Western Mind and the traditional extra-Occidental Thought have always had an opposite vision. From Culture to Nature, from gender to architecture, from science to philosophy, any system of life is an infinite process of repair. Recent exhibitions include solo shows at the Musée Cantonal des Beaux Arts de Lausanne, Middelheim Museum, Antwerp, Beirut Art Center, Whitechapel Gallery, London, KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin, Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, participations at the Biennale of Dakar and dOCUMENTA(13) in Kassel, and group shows at MoMA, New York and Tate Modern, London.

Doreen Mende is a curator and theorist. Recent research projects include KP Brehmer Real Capital – Production (2014, Raven Row, London); Travelling Communiqué (2014/13, Museum of Yugoslav History in Belgrade, Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin), Double Bound Economies (2013/12, Halle 14 in Leipzig, centre de la photographie in Geneva, ETH in Zurich, Thomas Fischer Galerie in Berlin), KP Brehmer: A Test Extending Beyond the Action (2011, CAAC, Sevilla). Project-based collaborations in Ramallah, Beirut, Addis Ababa and Tehran. Mende is co-editor of e-flux journal 59 on Harun Farocki (2014), resident of the blog for Manifesta Journal (2013/14) and editor-in-chief of the publication series Displayer at University of Arts and Design/ ZKM Karlsruhe (2006–09). PhD in Curatorial/Knowledge, Goldsmiths, University of London. Associate faculty member of the Dutch Art Institute. Since September 2015, responsible professor for the Research-based Master-Program CCC on the practice and theory of curatorial questions in geopolitics at HEAD Genève. Mende lives in Berlin and Geneva.

Sa, 02. April 2016

Die Frage der Solidarität

Mit Kader Attia und Doreen Mende, Einführung und Moderation: Paz Guevara

Was wäre, wenn das internationalistische Projekt der „Solidarität“ nichts anderes war als eine Fortführung des globalen Kalten Kriegs mittels Bilder, Ausstellungen und Architekturen? Was, wenn Solidarität selbst eine besondere Form des politischen Paradoxons wäre? Kader Attia und Doreen Mende besprechen Fragen der Solidarität zwischen der DDR, Palästina, Algerien und Chile um 1980, zu einem Zeitpunkt, an dem – in den Worten der ostdeutschen Filmemacherin Iris Gusner: „Solidarität zeigen“ zum „bürokratischen Akt“ verkam. Ein Zeitpunkt, in dem Solidarität als Verkündung eines sozialistischen Internationalismus sich überlagert mit dem Menschenrechtsdiskurs der Vereinten Nationen, das ersteren ersetzen sollte. Die Frage der Solidarität entsteht also im Spannungsfeld zwischen staatlich geförderten Programmen und informellen Allianzen, sozialistischer Freundschaft und emanzipatorischer Genossenschaft, zwischen Protokollen, Politik und Pathos.

Kader Attia wuchs zwischen Algerien und Pariser Vororten auf. Diese Erfahrung, Teil von zwei Kulturen zu sein, ist Ausgangspunkt seiner dynamischen künstlerischen Praxis, die Ästhetik und Ethik verschiedener Kulturen reflektiert. Mit einem poetischen und symbolischen Ansatz untersucht er die weitreichende Wirkung von westlicher moderner kultureller Hegemonie und Kolonialismus auf nichtwestliche Kulturen. Dabei nimmt er historische und koloniale Identitätspolitiken in Tradition und Moderne in den Blick und entwirft dabei eine Genealogie unserer globalisierten Welt. Im Zentrum seiner Arbeit steht das Konzept der „Reparatur“, als eine Konstante der menschlichen Natur, von der das moderne westliche Denken und das traditionelle extra-okzidentale Denken immer ein gegensätzliches Verständnis hatten. Von Kultur zu Natur, von Gender zu Architektur, von Wissenschaft zu Philosophie – jedes System des Lebens ist ein unendlicher Prozess der Reparatur. Zuletzt hatte Attia Soloausstellungen im Musée Cantonal des Beaux Arts de Lausanne, Middelheim Museum, Antwerp, Beirut Art Center, Whitechapel Gallery, London, KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin, Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, er nahm an der Biennale of Dakar und der dOCUMENTA(13) in Kassel teil und an Ausstellungen im MoMA, New York und Tate Modern, London.

Doreen Mende ist Kuratorin und Theoretikerin. Unter ihren letzten Forschungsprojekten sind KP Brehmer Real Capital – Production (2014, Raven Row, London), Travelling Communiqué (2014/13, Museum für Jugoslawische Geschichte in Belgrad, Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin), Double Bound Economies (2013/12, Halle 14 in Leipzig, centre de la photographie in Geneva, ETH in Zurich, Thomas Fischer Galerie in Berlin), KP Brehmer: A Test Extending Beyond the Action (2011, CAAC, Sevilla). Projektbezogene Kollaborationen in Ramallah, Beirut, Addis Ababa und Tehran. Mende ist Mitherausgeberin des e-flux Journals 59 über Harun Farocki (2014), schreibt regelmäßig für den Blog des Manifesta Journals (2013/14) und war Chefredakteurin der Publikationsreihe Displayer an der Staatliche Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe / ZKM Karlsruhe (2006–09). PhD in Curatorial/Knowledge am Goldsmiths, University of London. Dozentin am Dutch Art Institute. Seit September 2015 leitet sie das forschungsbasierte Master-Program CCC über Praxis und Theorie kuratorischer Fragen in der Geopolitik am HEAD Genève. Mende lebt in Berlin und Genf.