Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

2016, Sun, May 01

Dom Flemons, The Americans, Guido Möbius

Dom Flemons | © promo

Dom Flemons | © promo

10 pm: The Americans

9 pm: Dom Flemons

8.30 pm: Guido Möbius

The Americans | © Cody Edison

The Americans | © Cody Edison

The Americans

10 pm | Auditorium

Electric guitar meets banjo and contrabass: the four-piece band around singer Patrick Ferris combines Old Time Folk with influences from classic Rock and Roll, Country, and Blues. Their CD Home Recordings was recorded in a Los Angeles cellar in 2013. American Epic Sessions shows them on the big screen; at Pop 16 they will play short acoustic sets following each screening of the documentary series. In conclusion to the festival they will present their repertoire in a live concert.

Dom Flemons

9 pm | Auditorium

The black roots of banjo poetry: inspired by old records, Dom Flemons adapted the American Old-Time style on traditional string instruments. In Piedmont, North Carolina, the epicenter of the black string-band revival around master fiddler Joe Thompson, he founded the Carolina Chocolate Drops, who in 2011 received a Grammy for their album Genuine Negro Jig.

Dom Flemons – I Can't Do It Anymore

Guido Möbius | © Manuel Miethe

Guido Möbius | © Manuel Miethe

Guido Möbius: Pork & Beauty Old Time Jazz Solo

8.30 pm | Café Global

Old Time Jazz in the loop: before Jazz was known as Jazz it was called Ragtime — bordello music with jumping Oompah bass and rhythmical finesse shocking to white ears. When there was no pianist, the hits were played mechanically on the pianola. The loop-wizard Guido Möbius opens his circuits to the ragged grooves of the pre-Swing era.

Das HKW-Programm läuft digital weiter. Das Haus bleibt bis zum 28. Januar 2021 geschlossen. Mehr…

So, 01. Mai 2016

Dom Flemons, The Americans, Guido Möbius

Dom Flemons | © promo

Dom Flemons | © promo

22 h: The Americans

21 h: Dom Flemons

20.30 h: Guido Möbius

The Americans | © Cody Edison

The Americans | © Cody Edison

The Americans

22 h | Auditorium

E-Gitarre meets Banjo und Kontrabass: Die vierköpfige Band um Sänger Patrick Ferris verbindet Old-Time-Folk mit Einflüssen aus klassischem Rock’n’Roll, Country und Blues. Ihr Debüt Home Recordings nahmen sie 2013 in einem Keller in Los Angeles auf. American Epic Sessions zeigt sie auf der Leinwand, bei Pop 16 spielen sie nach den Screenings der Dokureihe kurze Akustik-Sets. Zum Abschluss des Festivals präsentieren sie ihr Repertoire im Konzert.

Dom Flemons

21 h | Auditorium

Die Black Roots der Banjo-Poesie: Inspiriert von alten Aufnahmen adaptierte Dom Flemons den amerikanischen Old-Time-Stil auf traditionellen Saiteninstrumenten. In Piedmont, North Carolina, dem Epizentrum des schwarzen Stringband-Revivals um Meister-Fiddler Joe Thompson, gründete er die Carolina Chocolate Drops, die 2011 für ihr Album Genuine Negro Jig einen Grammy erhielten.

Dom Flemons – I Can't Do It Anymore

Guido Möbius | © Manuel Miethe

Guido Möbius | © Manuel Miethe

Guido Möbius: Pork & Beauty Old Time Jazz Solo

20.30 h | Café Global

Old Time Jazz in der Schlaufe: Bevor Jazz so hieß, nannte man ihn Ragtime – Bordellmusik mit hüpfenden Umpah-Bässen und für Weiße unerhörten, rhythmischen Raffinessen. Saß niemand am Klavier, wurden die Hits mechanisch von Pianolas abgespielt. Der Loop-Tüftler Guido Möbius öffnet seine Schaltkreise für die zerrissenen Grooves der Prä-Swing-Ära.