2016, Fri, Apr 29

Miharu Koshi, Sam Lee & Friends, Mała Orkiestra Dancingowa, Stephan Mathieu & Peter Söderberg

Miharu Koshi | © Junji Hata

Miharu Koshi | © Junji Hata

10.45 pm: Mała Orkiestra Dancingowa

9.45 pm: Miharu Koshi

8.15 pm: Sam Lee & Friends, Barbara Morgenstern and the Chor der Kulturen der Welt

7.15 pm: Stephan Mathieu & Peter Söderberg

Mała Orkiestra Dancingowa

10.45 pm | Café Global

In cosmopolitan Warsaw between the world wars, Western European cabaret and operetta, American Swing, and Latin American dances met local Jewish musical traditions. The specifically Polish style which developed within the space of a decade is reconstructed by the “Small Dance Orchestra” directed by Noam Silberberg on the basis of historical recordings and piano scores.

Miharu Koshi

9.45 pm | Auditorium

Dreamwalking through time: following a classical training, the all-round musician Miharu Koshi advanced to become a star of Japanese Electro Pop. During the 1980s, Miharu was part of the Yellow Magic Orchestra family, where she developed her own and unique style and sound. In recent years, she has moved towards a sound which is both vintage and nostalgic, yet refreshingly new. In 2013 she released the album Madame Crooner focusing on her interpretations of the music of 1930s and 1940s Western Crooners. In 2015 she released Moonray. She performs live regularly presenting these works.

Miharu Koshi – S wonderful

Sam Lee | © Frederic Aranda

Sam Lee | © Frederic Aranda

Sam Lee & Friends with Barbara Morgenstern and the Chor der Kulturen der Welt

8.15 pm | Auditorium

Contemporary interpretations of British Folk songs: Sam Lee learnt his trade with the ballad singer Stanley Robertson, and found his own style through passionate research into the oral traditions of Romany and Irish travelers. For Pop 16 he extends his circle of friends with the addition of Berlin musician Barbara Morgenstern and the Chor der Kulturen der Welt.

Sam Lee & Friends – The Ballad of George Collins

Stephan Mathieu | © Mark Rietveld

Stephan Mathieu | © Mark Rietveld

Stephan Mathieu & Peter Söderberg: Alap for Record, Steel Needle and Theorbe

7.15 pm | Auditorium

Sound artist Stephan Mathieu operates the mechanical-acoustic gramophone and the keys of the virginal, lute player Peter Söderberg plays the long-necked theorbo. Their Electroacoustic composition is dedicated to the Early Music pioneer Arnold Dolmetsch, who in the 1920s recorded attempts to render authentic performances of Renaissance music.

Fr., 29. April 2016

Miharu Koshi, Sam Lee & Friends, Mała Orkiestra Dancingowa, Stephan Mathieu & Peter Söderberg

Miharu Koshi | © Junji Hata

Miharu Koshi | © Junji Hata

22.45h Mała Orkiestra Dancingowa
21.45h Miharu Koshi
20.15h Sam Lee & Friends, Barbara Morgenstern und der Chor der Kulturen der Welt
19.15h Stephan Mathieu & Peter Söderberg

Mała Orkiestra Dancingowa

22.45 h | Café Global

Im kosmopolitischen Warschau zwischen den Weltkriegen trafen westeuropäisches Cabaret und Operette, amerikanischer Swing und lateinamerikanische Tänze auf lokale jüdische Musiktraditionen. Den spezifisch polnischen Stil, der sich binnen eines Jahrzehnts daraus entwickelte, rekonstruiert das von Noam Silberberg geleitete »Kleine Tanzorchester« auf Basis historischer Aufnahmen und Klavierauszüge.

Miharu Koshi

21.45 h | Auditorium

Traumwandeln durch die Zeit: Nach einer klassischen Ausbildung avancierte die Allround-Musikerin Miharu Koshi zum Star des japanischen Elektropops. In den 1980ern wurde sie Teil der Szene um das Yellow Magic Orchestra und entwickelte ihren ganz eigenen Stil und Soundbild. In den letzten Jahren ging sie zunehmend zu einem Vintage-Sound über – nostalgisch und neu zugleich. 2013 veröffentlichte sie das Album Madame Crooner mit Interpretationen des westlichen Crooner-Stils aus den 1930er und 1940er Jahren, 2015 folgte das Album Moonray. Miharu Koshi performt regelmäßig live aus diesen Werken.

Miharu Koshi – S wonderful

Sam Lee | © Frederic Aranda

Sam Lee | © Frederic Aranda

Sam Lee & Friends mit Barbara Morgenstern und dem Chor der Kulturen der Welt

20.15 h | Auditorium

Zeitgenössische Interpretationen britischer Folksongs: Sein Handwerk lernte Sam Lee beim Balladensänger Stanley Robertson, seinen Stil fand er bei der passionierten Recherche von Überlieferungen der Roma und Irish Traveller. Für Pop 16 erweitert er seinen Freundeskreis um die Berliner Musikerin Barbara Morgenstern und den Chor der Kulturen der Welt.

Sam Lee & Friends – The Ballad of George Collins

Stephan Mathieu | © Mark Rietveld

Stephan Mathieu | © Mark Rietveld

Stephan Mathieu & Peter Söderberg: Alap for Record, Steel Needle and Theorbe

19.15 h | Theatersaal

Klangkünstler Stephan Mathieu bedient das mechanisch-akustische Grammophon und die Tasten des Virginals, der Lautespieler Peter Söderberg die langhalsige Theorbe. Ihre elektroakustische Komposition ist dem Alte-Musik-Pionier Arnold Dolmetsch gewidmet, der in den 1920ern Versuche von originalgetreuen Aufführungen der Renaissancemusik aufnahm.