2016, Sat, May 07

Antifascist Art Brigades and Solidarity Movement in the 1970s

With Gerald Warnke, Franz Lehmkuhl and Paz Guevara

Conversation with Gerald Warnke

Gerald Warnke is an activist, cultural policymaker and networker. He was active in various collectives in the cities of Marburg and Kassel during the 1970s anti-imperialist solidarity movement, in particular for Chile, Vietnam and Palestine. During that time, he ran the Marburg Students’ Film Club, organizing theme-based film series such as a week of proletarian, revolutionary films, an antifascist and a Soviet film week, films for the anti-imperialist struggle and third world films. In 1973, immediately following the military coup in Chile, he organized a Chilean film week. On the fringes of documenta 6 in Kassel in 1977, with support from the Jugendbrigade Salvador Allende and German art students, Warnke organized the production of a mural on the forecourt of the theatre in Kassel painted by the Pablo Neruda antifascist painting brigade of Chilean artists in Parisian exile, including José Balmes, Gracia Barrios and Guillermo Nuñez.

Screening: Chilenische Wandmalerei, directed by Franz Lehmkuhl, D 1977, 30 min, followed by a conversation with Franz Lehmkuhl and Paz Guevara

The film director and photographer Franz Lehmkuhl completed his studies at the Hochschule für Bildende Künste in Kassel with the film Rashidiiya, which was awarded the first prize at the film festival Liberation of Palestine is Cornerstone for Worldpeace in Baghdad in 1978. He shot further films in the Middle East, some commissioned by UNESCO. As a filmmaker and camera correspondent, Lehmkuhl documented the so-called “Kurdish problem” for international press and film agencies in Iraq, the Islamic Revolution in Iran (1979 – 1980) as well as matters related to apartheid in South Africa and Namibia (1987). His film Chilenische Wandmalerei (1980) was shown in Leipzig at the festival Filme der Welt für den Frieden der Welt. In 1980, he and Christian Fuchs founded IKARUS-Film- und Fernsehproduktion GmbH, which made films, for example, for the ZDF Kleine Fernsehspiel, for ARD, SR and WDR.

Paz Guevara is a curator, researcher and author based in Berlin. Currently, she is collaborating in the long-term project Kanon-Fragen at HKW and is lecturer of history of exhibitions and collections at Heidelberg University. She contributed to Past Disquiet at HKW with research on Latin American artists and museums involved in the solidarity movement. Among others, Guevara has been co-curator of In Other Words: The Black Market of Translations—Negotiating Contemporary Cultures at NGBK (Berlin, 2012); the Latin American Pavilion at the 55th and 54th Venice Biennale (2013 and 2011) and Comunidad Ficticia in Matucana 100 (Santiago, Chile, 2009). For the 7th Berlin Biennale in 2012, she conceived the workshop for young curators Curating in Times of Need.

Sa, 07. Mai 2016

Antifaschistische Künstlerbrigaden und die Solidaritätsbewegung der 1970er

Mit Gerald Warnke, Franz Lehmkuhl und Paz Guevara

Chilenische Wandmalerei (Filmstill) | José Balmes (2.v.l.), Gracia Barrios (2.v.r.), Guillermo Nunez (rechts außen), u.a. | © Franz Lehmkuhl

Chilenische Wandmalerei (Filmstill) | José Balmes (2.v.l.), Gracia Barrios (2.v.r.), Guillermo Nunez (rechts außen), u.a. | © Franz Lehmkuhl

Gespräch mit Gerald Warnke

Gerald Warnke ist Aktivist, Kulturpolitiker und Netzwerker. Im Rahmen der Antiimperialistischen Solidaritätsbewegung der 1970er Jahre, besonders zu Chile, Vietnam und Palästina, war er in verschiedenen Kollektiven in den Städten Marburg und Kassel aktiv. In dieser Zeit leitete er den Studentischen Filmclub Marburg und realisierte thematische Filmreihen wie eine Woche proletarisch-revolutionärer Filme, eine Antifaschistische und eine Sowjetischen Filmwoche, Filme im antiimperialistischen Kampf und Filme aus der 3. Welt. Unmittelbar nach dem Militärputsch in Chile 1973 organisierte er eine Chilenische Filmwoche. Am Rande der documenta 6 in Kassel im Jahr 1977 organisierte er mit Unterstützung der Jugendbrigade Salvador Allende und deutschen Kunststudent*innen die Produktion eines Murales auf dem Theatervorplatz in Kassel, gemalt von der antifaschistischen Malerbrigade Pablo Neruda aus chilenischen Künstler*innen im Pariser Exil, darunter José Balmes, Gracia Barrios, Guillermo Nuñez.

Filmscreening: Chilenische Wandmalerei, R: Franz Lehmkuhl, D 1977, 30 min, anschließendes Gespräch mit Franz Lehmkuhl und Paz Guevara

Der Filmregisseur und Fotograf Franz Lehmkuhl beendete sein Studium an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste in Kassel mit dem Examensfilm Rashidiiya, der 1978 mit dem 1. Preis auf dem Filmfestival Liberation of Palestine is Cornerstone for Worldpeace in Bagdad ausgezeichnet wurde. Es folgten Dreharbeiten im Nahen Osten u. a. im Auftrag der UNESCO. Als Filmemacher und Kamerakorrespondent dokumentierte Lehmkuhl für internationale Presse- und Filmagenturen im Irak das sogenannte „Kurdenproblem“, im Iran die Islamische Revolution (1979 –1980) sowie Themen der Apartheid in Südafrika und Namibia (1987). Sein Film Chilenische Wandmalerei (1980) wurde in Leipzig beim Festival Filme der Welt für den Frieden der Welt gezeigt. 1980 gründete er mit Christian Fuchs die IKARUS-Film-und Fernsehproduktion GmbH. Es entstanden Filme u. a. für das Kleine Fernsehspiel im ZDF, für ARD, SR und WDR.

Die Kuratorin und Autorin Paz Guevara lebt und forscht in Berlin. Aktuell wirkt sie an dem HKW-Langzeitprojekt Kanon-Fragen mit und ist Dozentin für Ausstellungsgeschichte und Sammlungen an der Universität Heidelberg. Zur Ausstellung Zeit der Unruhe trug sie Recherchen über lateinamerikanische Künstler*innen und Museen bei, die sich in der Soldaritätsbewegung engagierten. Guevara war Ko-Kuratorin von Ausstellungen wie In Other Words: The Black Market of Translations – Negotiating Contemporary Cultures in der NGBK (Berlin, 2012); des Lateinamerikanischen Pavillons der 55. und 54. Venedig-Biennale (2013 und 2011) und Comunidad Ficticia in Matucana 100 (Santiago de Chile, 2009). Bei der 7. Berlin-Biennale 2012 hielt sie einen Workshop für junge Kurator*innen mit dem Titel Curating in Times of Need.