2016, Sat, Apr 23

Intimatta (Film)

D: Ramuntcho Matta, Chile 2011, 119 min

Intimatta (film still) | Photo: promo

Intimatta (film still) | Photo: promo

Followed by a talk with the curator Rasha Salti and the director Ramuntcho Matta

Intimatta is not a documentary but more an artist film about Roberto Matta, based on video recordings made by his son Ramuntcho Matta, director of this project and artist himself, and about interviews to contemporaries who knew Matta very well.

Transmission was always the centre of Matta’s philosophy. This is what allowed him to develop very privileged relationships with, among others, Garcia Lorca, Le Corbusier, Victor Brauner, Salvador Dali, André Breton, Marcel Duchamp... in order to be able to transmit later on these knowledge, a real principle of life and responsability to Matta: instead of hiding the secrets of creation, he opens his studio to other artists, creating a real “inspiring” breeze to Jackson Pollock, Willem de Kooning, Öyvind Fahlström, Asger Jorn…

Thanks to dozens of tapes with Roberto Matta painting, talking, walking and even sleeping, recorded between 1986 and 2000, through his working notebooks, his letters, his postcards and the gifts he sent to family and friends, Intimatta shows us a way of thinking.

With this unpublished material as a starting point, Intimatta immerses us into the artist’s creative and intimate world, stating some universal questions about transmission, fatherhood and how to share intimacy.

Ramuntcho Matta, born in Paris in 1960, is an interdisciplinary artist living in France. He is the son of the Chilean painter Roberto Matta and the brother of Gordon Matta-Clark, Federica Matta and Pablo Echaurren. After taking initial steps towards a career in music in the late 1970s, he made use of the visual arts beyond his work as a composer to lend the issues and topics of his works a more specific and complex form, occasionally also in combinations of sound, drawing, video, space and language.

Sa, 23. April 2016

Intimatta (Film)

R: Ramuntcho Matta, Chile 2011, 119 min

Intimatta (Filmstill) | Foto: promo

Intimatta (Filmstill) | Foto: promo

Anschließend Talk mit der Kuratorin Rasha Salti und dem Regisseur Ramuntcho Matta

Intimatta ist nicht so sehr ein Dokumentar- wie ein Künstlerfilm über Roberto Matta. Er beruht auf Archivaufnahmen von Robertos Sohn Ramuntcho, der wie dieser bildender Künstler ist, sowie auf Gesprächen mit Zeitgenossen und engen Bekannten Roberto Mattas.

Die Weitergabe von Wissen stand von Beginn an im Zentrum des Denkens von Roberto Matta. Sie war für ihn eine grundlegende Lebensaufgabe und ermöglichte ihm, ein besonders enges Verhältnis zu Garcia Lorca, Le Corbusier, Victor Brauner, Saladvor Dalí, André Breton, Marcel Duchamp und anderen aufzubauen. In der Folge wurde Matta zu einem gewissenhaften Überbringer der auch aus diesen Freundschaften gewonnenen Einsichten. Anstatt die Geheimnisse seines Schaffens zu hüten, öffnete er sein Atelier anderen Künstler und erwies sich als Quelle der Inspiration für Jackson Pollock, Willem de Kooning, Öyvind Fahlström, Asger Jorn...

Ausgehend von Dutzenden, zwischen 1986 und 2000 entstanden Videobändern mit Aufnahmen von Roberto Matta beim Malen, Reden, Spazierengehen und selbst beim Schlafen, unter Zuhilfenahme auch seiner Notizbücher, Briefe, Postkarten und Geschenke an Freunde und Angehörige, veranschaulicht Intimatta diese sehr besondere Denkweise und Lebenseinstellung.

Intimatta zeigt Bilder, die bisher noch nie zu sehen waren. Der Film führt uns in die Lebens- und Schaffenswelt des Künstlers ein und verhandelt universelle Fragen der Weitergabe, der Vaterschaft und der zwischenmenschlichen Nähe beim Teilen.

Ramuntcho Matta ist ein 1960 in Paris geborener und in Frankreich lebender, interdisziplinär arbeitender Künstler. Er ist der Sohn des chilenischen Malers Roberto Matta und Bruder von Gordon Matta-Clark, Federica Matta und Pablo Echaurren. Nach ersten Schritten in Richtung einer Musikerkarriere Ende der 1970er Jahre nutzte er über seine Arbeit als Komponist hinaus Mittel der bildenden Künste, um den Fragen und Themen seines Schaffens eine spezifischere und komplexere Form zu verleihen, gelegentlich auch in Kombinationen von Klang, Zeichnung, Video, Raum und Sprache.