2016, Sat, Apr 09

What the Animals Say

With Cord Riechelmann and Frank D. Steinheimer

Dogs, cats, and birds may not beequipped with a language in the human sense, however, their forms of communication are so diverse that research into them invariably leads to reflections on human language.

The renowned crow connoisseur Cord Riechelmann and the ornithologist Frank D. Steinheimer discuss animal behavior, which, beyond courtship and territorial defense, provide fascinating insights: What do they do with each other? What do they do with us such that they view humans as part of their environment? And in turn, what do we do to them by describing them, systematically classifying them, and giving them names?

Cord Riechelmann is a publicist and author living in Berlin. His main interest is in the living conditions of nature in the culture of urban habitats. After studying biology and philosophy at the Freie Universität Berlin he was lecturer for the social behavior of primates and for the history of biological research. He also worked as a columnist and urban nature reporter for the Berlin pages of the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung. Recent publications include the monograph Krähen (2013) and the collection Zu einer Ästhetikdes Lebendigen (2015).

The biologist and ecologist Frank D. Steinheimer heads the Natural History University Museum project and the Central Magazine of Natural Science Collections of Martin Luther University in Halle-Wittenberg. He is a member of two nomenclature committees. He worked in the ornithological departments of the Natural History Museum in London/Tring, the Berlin Museum of Natural History and the American Museum of Natural History in New York, worked for Bird Life International in Myanmar and for Lynx Edicions Barcelona for the Handbook of the Birds of the World. In 2005 he received his doctorate from the University of Rostock.

Sa, 09. April 2016

Was die Tiere dazu sagen

Mit Cord Riechelmann und Frank D. Steinheimer

Zwar mögen Hund, Katze, Vogel nicht über eine Sprache im menschlichen Sinne verfügen. Ihre Kommunikationsformen sind jedoch so vielfältig, dass deren Erforschung unweigerlich zur Reflexion menschlicher Sprache führt.

Der ausgewiesene Krähenkenner Cord Riechelmann spricht mit dem Ornithologen Frank D. Steinheimer über das Verhalten von Tieren, das auch jenseits von Paarungsanbahnung und Revierverteidigung interessante Einblicke bietet: Was tun sie miteinander? Was tun sie mit uns, da sie den Menschen als Teil ihrer Umwelt auffassen? Und was tun wiederum wir mit ihnen, indem wir sie beschreiben, systematisch erfassen und ihnen Namen geben?

Cord Riechelmann lebt als Publizist und Autor in Berlin. Sein Hauptinteresse gilt den Lebensbedingungen von Natur in der Kultur städtischer Lebensräume. Nach seinem Studium der Biologie und Philosophie an der Freien Universität Berlin war er Lehrbeauftragter für das Sozialverhalten von Primaten und für die Geschichte biologischer Forschung. Außerdem arbeitete er als Kolumnist und Stadtnaturreporter für die Berliner Seiten der Frankfurter Allgemeinen Zeitung. Zuletzt erschienen sind eine Monografie zu Krähen (2013) und eine Sammlung Zu einer Ästhetik des Lebendigen (2015).

Der Biologie und Ökologe Frank D. Steinheimer leitet das Projekt Naturkundliches Universitätsmuseum und das Zentralmagazin Naturwissenschaftlicher Sammlungen der Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg. Er ist Mitglied in zwei Nomenklatur-Kommissionen. Er arbeitete u. a. in den ornithologischen Abteilungen des Natural History Museum in London/Tring, des Berliner Museums für Naturkunde und am American Museum of Natural History New York, war für Bird Life International in Myanmar tätig und bei Lynx Edicions Barcelona für das Handbook of the Birds of the World. 2005 promovierte er an der Universität Rostock.