2016, Sat, Apr 09

Language Families and Artificial Languages

With Ernst Kausen, Dagmara Kraus and Marcel Beyer

The number of languages in the world is finite. But just how many are spoken exactly—and where? Is it possible that someone is discovering new languages, just as we are lamenting their extinction?

The linguist and mathematician Ernst Kausen set himself the mammoth task of gathering together in one volume the Language Families of the World. However, languages are not just collected, they are also invented: For example Esperanto, which is spoken to this day, or the long forgotten langue bleue which the poet Dagmara Kraus employs to write her poems of alien beauty. Together with Marcel Beyer they discuss: At what point does communicative usage become transformed into aesthetic magic?

Ernst Kausen worked as an IT manager then, from 1982 to 2014, as professor of mathematics and theoretical computer science at the THM. He has also worked as a linguist for many years. In addition to numerous works on mathematics, his most important contributions to linguistics include: Die indogermanischen Sprachen (2012) and the two-volume work Die Sprachfamilien der Welt (2013–15) on the relationships between all the world’s languages. Kausen studied mathematics, physics and computer science as well as Egyptology, ancient near eastern studies and comparative linguistics. He received his doctorate in mathematics.

The poet and translator Dagmara Kraus lives in Carpentras and Berlin. So far, she has published three volumes of poetry: kummerang (2012), kleine grammaturgie (2013) and das vogelmot schlich mit geknickter schnute (2016) and translations from Polish, for example Wir Seesterne (2012), Das geheime Tagebuch (2014) and Vom Eischlupf (2015) from the work of Miron Białoszewski. Kraus studied comparative literature and art history in Leipzig, Berlin and Paris and creative writing in Leipzig.

Sa, 09. April 2016

Sprachfamilien und Kunstsprachen

Mit Ernst Kausen, Dagmara Kraus and Marcel Beyer

Die Zahl der Sprachen auf der Welt ist endlich. Doch wie viele genau werden gesprochen – und wo? Entdeckt vielleicht just, während wir ihr Aussterben beklagen, jemand neue Sprachen?

Der Linguist und Mathematiker Ernst Kausen hat sich der Mammutaufgabe gestellt, die Sprachfamilien der Welt in einem Werk zusammenzuführen. Sprachen werden jedoch nicht nur gesammelt, sondern auch erfunden: Das bis heute gesprochene Esperanto zum Beispiel oder die längst vergessene langue bleue, derer sich die Dichterin Dagmara Kraus bedient, um Gedichte von fremder Schönheit zu schreiben. Gemeinsam mit Marcel Beyer überlegen sie: An welchem Punkt schlägt kommunikativer Gebrauch in ästhetischen Zauber um?

Ernst Kausen arbeitete als IT-Manager, bevor er von 1982 bis 2014 Professor für Mathematik und Theoretische Informatik an der TH Mittelhessen war. Darüber hinaus ist er seit vielen Jahren als Sprachwissenschaftler tätig. Neben zahlreichen Werken zur Mathematik gehören zu seinen wichtigsten Beiträgen zur Sprachwissenschaft: Die indogermanischen Sprachen (2012) sowie das zweibändige Werk Die Sprachfamilien der Welt (2013–15) über die Verwandtschaftsverhältnisse sämtlicher Sprachenkreise der Erde. Kausen studierte Mathematik, Physik und Informatik, außerdem Ägyptologie, Altorientalistik und Vergleichende Sprachwissenschaft. Er promovierte im Fachgebiet Mathematik.

Die Lyrikerin und Übersetzerin Dagmara Kraus lebt in Carpentras und Berlin. Bisher sind von ihr drei Lyrikbände erschienen: kummerang (2012), kleine grammaturgie (2013) und das vogelmot schlich mit geknickter schnute (2016) sowie Übersetzungen aus dem Polnischen, etwa aus dem Werk von Miron Białoszewski Wir Seesterne (2012), Das geheime Tagebuch (2014) und Vom Eischlupf (2015). Kraus studierte Komparatistik und Kunstgeschichte in Leipzig, Berlin und Paris sowie Literarisches Schreiben in Leipzig.