2016, Sat, Apr 09

How does Knowledge Come into the World?

With Anke te Heesen and Klaus Sander

What does it take to be both a scientist and a narrator? How is it possible to convey highly complex knowledge without simplifying it?

And what scientific self-understanding is revealed when biologists, physicists, historians, and linguists speak about their ideas, research interests, working processes, and results? Anke te Heesen, who conducts research on scientific interviews, discusses narrative strategies with Klaus Sander, whose publishing company releases original sound recordings from scientists and writers.

Anke te Heesen is professor of the history of science and chair-holder at the Department of History at the Humboldt Universität zu Berlin. She was founding director of the MUT (Museum of the University of Tübingen) and professor of empirical cultural studies at the University of Tübingen, she has taught and conducted research at home and abroad. In addition to numerous other awards te Heesen received the prize of the Aby Warburg Foundation in Hamburg in 2008 and a translation grant from the Association of German Publishers and Booksellers in 2009. Her publications include The Newspaper Clipping. A modern paper object (2014) and Theorien des Museums. Zur Einführung (2012).

Klaus Sander studied literature and media sciences in Cologne and Bochum. Friedrich Kittler was one of his mentors. In 1992 and 1993 he set up the Vilém Flusser Archive in The Hague (later Munich and Cologne, now Berlin). Since 1996 he has devoted himself to developing and establishing an independent art and publication form for the spoken word and oral narrative with his publication supposé. He received numerous awards, including a German Audio Book Prize, a grant from the Kurt Wolff Foundation and Audio Book of the Year in 2008 and 2014. The magazine Cicero chose his one-man company as one of “the 20 most important publishers in Germany.”

Sa, 09. April 2016

Wie kommt das Wissen in die Welt?

Mit Anke te Heesen und Klaus Sander

Was braucht es, um nicht nur Wissenschaftler*in, sondern auch Erzähler*in zu sein? Wie gelingt es, über hochkomplexe Kenntnisse zu sprechen, ohne zu simplifizieren?

Und welches Selbstverständnis innerhalb der Wissenschaft zeigt sich, sprechen Biologinnen, Physiker, Historikerinnen und Linguisten über ihre Ideen, Erkenntnisinteressen, Arbeitsprozesse und Ergebnisse? Anke te Heesen, die derzeit Formen des Wissenschaftsinterviews untersucht, spricht über Erzählweisen mit Klaus Sander, der in seinem Verlag Originaltondokumente von Wissenschaftler*innen und Literat*innen veröffentlicht.

Anke te Heesen ist Professorin für Wissenschaftsgeschichte und Lehrstuhlinhaberin am Institut für Geschichtswissenschaften der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Sie war Gründungsdirektorin des MUT (Museum der Universität Tübingen) und Professorin für Empirische Kulturwissenschaft an der Universität Tübingen, lehrte und forschte im In- und Ausland. Neben zahlreichen weiteren Auszeichnungen erhielt te Heesen den Preis der Aby-Warburg-Stiftung Hamburg im Jahr 2008 und 2009 den Preis für Übersetzungsförderung des Börsenvereins des Deutschen Buchhandels. Zu ihren Publikationen zählen The Newspaper Clipping. A modern paper object (2014) und Theorien des Museums. Zur Einführung (2012).

Klaus Sander studierte Literatur und Medienwissenschaften in Köln und Bochum, u. a. bei Friedrich Kittler. 1992/93 baute er das Vilém-Flusser-Archiv in Den Haag auf (später München und Köln, heute Berlin). Seit 1996 widmet er sich mit seiner Edition supposé der Entwicklung und Etablierung einer eigenständigen Kunst- und Publikationsform für das gesprochene Wort und die mündliche Erzählung. Er erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, u. a. den Deutschen Hörbuchpreis, den Förderpreis der Kurt-Wolff-Stiftung, Hörbuch des Jahres 2008 und 2014. Das Magazin Cicero wählte sein Ein-Mann-Unternehmen unter „die 20 wichtigsten Verlage in Deutschland“.