2016, Fri, Apr 08

Structure, Pattern, Interference

With Wolfgang Heiniger and Olaf Nicolai

Which “languages” do the arts employ, when, unlike literature, they are not bound to language? What does music “tell” us, what does an artistic intervention “speak” of? First and foremost, the sign system itself upon which they are based.

Nevertheless, an aesthetic experience does not require any knowledge of the respective notation system or the mathematical model that were applied. It is no secret that the sounds of a synthesizer are based on programming processes—but how can one program Land Art, for example? The artist Olaf Nicolai and the composer Wolfgang Heiniger explore the different grammars that bear on our experience of art.

Wolfgang Heiniger is a composer, musician, curator and professor of intermedia composition at the Hanns Eisler School of Music in Berlin. His work includes compositions for live electronic and instrumental music as well as for (dance) theater, performance and film. He is co-founder of the B.E.A.M (Basel Electric Art Messengers 1994–2006) and the European Powerbook Orchestra (1996–2001). All around the world, he presents his work as a sound director and performer of live electronic music. From 1991 to 1992 he was guest composer at the Center for Computer Research in Music and Acoustics at Stanford University and from 1995 to 2003 he headed the audio design course at the Basel Music Academy.

Olaf Nicolai has been a fixture in the international exhibition scene since the early 1990s. His projects address the elementary experiences of space, time and physicality, most recently with Escalier du Chant, Musée du Louvre, Paris (2013) and Le pigment de la lumière, the interior design for the new Gropius and Moholy-Nagy master houses, Bauhaus Dessau (2014). In 2015 he was invited to the Venice Biennale with his GIRO project. Since 2011 he has been professor of sculpture and the foundations of three-dimensional design at the Academy of Fine Arts, Munich. He received his doctorate in 1992 in comparative literature and linguistics at Karl Marx University in Leipzig.

Fr, 08. April 2016

Struktur, Muster, Störmoment

Mit Wolfgang Heiniger und Olaf Nicolai

Welcher „Sprachen“ bedienen sich die Künste, die nicht wie die Literatur an Sprache gebunden sind? Was „erzählt“ Musik, wovon „spricht“ eine künstlerische Intervention?

Wohl in erster Linie von den Zeichensystemen selbst, auf denen sie beruhen. Und trotzdem bedarf eine ästhetische Erfahrung keiner Kenntnisse der jeweils zugrundeliegenden formalen Sprache, des Notationssystems oder des mathematischen Modells. Dass die Klänge eines Synthesizers auf Programmierprozessen beruhen, ist kein Geheimnis – wie aber programmiert man zum Beispiel Land Art? Der Künstler Olaf Nicolai und der Komponist Wolfgang Heiniger erkunden, welche Grammatiken im Kunsterleben wirksam werden.

Wolfgang Heiniger ist Komponist, Musiker, Kurator und Professor für intermediale Komposition an der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler in Berlin. Sein Werk umfasst Kompositionen für Live-Elektronik und Instrumentalmusik ebenso wie für (Tanz-) Theater, Performance und Film. Er ist Mitbegründer von the B.E.A.M (Basel Electric Art Messengers 1994–2006) und des European Powerbook Orchestra (1996–2001). Weltweit tritt er als Klangregisseur und Interpret live-elektronischer Musik auf. Von 1991 bis 1992 war er Gastkomponist am Zentrum für Computermusik der Stanford University, von 1995 bis 2003 leitete er den Studiengang Audiodesign an der Musikhochschule Basel.

Olaf Nicolai ist seit Anfang der1990er Jahre im internationalen Ausstellungskontext präsent. Seine Projekte thematisieren die elementaren Erfahrungen von Raum, Zeit und Körperlichkeit, zuletzt u. a. Escalier du Chant, Musée du Louvre, Paris (2013), Le pigment de la lumière, Innengestaltung für die neuen Meisterhäuser Gropius und Moholy-Nagy, Bauhaus Dessau (2014). 2015 war er mit dem Projekt GIRO zur Biennale di Venezia eingeladen. Seit 2011 ist er Professor für Bildhauerei und Grund lagen des dreidimensionalen Gestaltens an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste, München. Er promovierte 1992 in Vergleichender Literatur- und Sprachwissenschaft an der Karl-Marx-Universität Leipzig.